Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must to read for B2B complex sales
Three elements I like to share after reading this book:

Positive element:

B2B sales, complex sales, product selling versus solutions selling, and insights based selling...winning business even when there is a down market....and hard study data providing some very interesting insights on how you could improve your sales overall (study data: n=700...
Published on 15 April 2012 by Caufrier Frederic

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but long winded...
I liked the ideas in this book, but it took a long time to get to them!

The book could do with being separated into the science behind getting to the findings, and then putting the findings into practice...maybe even two separate books for different audiences. Worth the money but a long time to get to the nub of the issue!
Published 12 months ago by H. Spink


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must to read for B2B complex sales, 15 April 2012
By 
Caufrier Frederic (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Three elements I like to share after reading this book:

Positive element:

B2B sales, complex sales, product selling versus solutions selling, and insights based selling...winning business even when there is a down market....and hard study data providing some very interesting insights on how you could improve your sales overall (study data: n=700 first, later n=6000).

Myself I liked reading on the 5 types of sales reps (the hard worker, the challenger, the relationship builder, the lone wolf and the reactive problem solver) and on how successful each type of sales rep actually is. It is a nice to know that the challenger sales rep makes actually 54% of total high performers (at least in a complex sales environment), thus making the challenger profile very likely to succeed in a complex sales environment.

The book illustrates further the 6 attributes that these challengers have in common (44 attributes tested):
- offers the customer unique perspectives
- has strong 2-way communication skills
- knows the individual customer's value drivers
- can identify economic drivers of the customer's business
- is comfortable discussing money
- can pressure the customer.

The book builds also on elements what contribute to customer loyalty -> the purchase experience:
- offers unique valuable perspectives on the market
- helps me navigate alternatives
- provides ongoing advice or consultation
- helps me avoid potential land mines
- educates me on new issues and outcomes
- supplier is easy to buy from
- supplier has widespread support across my organization.

And the book builds on how to provide those insights as sales rep, on how to tailor your message, on how to take control of the sale (and negotiate the sale), on how to manage your sales reps and on how to implement these challenger sale changes in your organization.

The book delivers very nicely on providing hard data, the importance of these data, and changes needed to excel in a complex sales.

Negative element:

A classic problem with sales books is that all claim to give you the most advanced and most unique sale system on the planet. The authors do give a data solid case for their method, still it has to withstand the test of time. On the other hand, the book is complete from A to Z. And the data gives some really nice (and yes perhaps even unexpected) insights on how complex sale could improve.

Interesting element:

The authors here made a great effort not only to give you the data but also to "respectfully" teach the reader how to implement these insights (as obtained from the study). Therefore they actually sell the reader these insights just according to the principles uncovered by the study. The book itself is really a complete "product". I could not find unnecessary chapters or paragraphs for example.

Well written, great editing and excellent structure: combined this makes this book a very nice read on how complex sales could improve - for yourself, for your client, for you as manager or coach and organization.

Really nice done!

Contents:
Introduction: a surprising look into the future
1. The evolving journey of solution selling
2. The Challenger - Part 1: A new model for high performance
3. The Challenger - Part 2: Exporting the model to the core
4. Teaching for differentiation - Part 1: Why insights matters
5. Teaching for differentiation - Part 2: How to build insight-led conversations
6. Tailoring for resonance
7. Taking control of the sale
8. The manager and the Challenger selling model
9. Implementation lessons from the early adopters
Afterword: Challenging beyond sales
Acknowledgements
Appendix A: Challenger coaching guide
Appendix B: Selling style self-diagnostic
Appendix C: Challenger hiring guide: Key questions to ask in the interview
Index
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Challenger sale, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting set of principles, although like most of these types of books they are geared around big corporations, not really geared to the SME market in the UK. It is for sales people with a captive audience already. Once you are of a certain size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The Challenger sale' my thoughts, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is suitable for anyone or group whose job it is to get others to act in their favor. For sales people it stresses why being assertive is the key. Too many are passive relationship builders.
Jim Healy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but long winded..., 14 April 2013
By 
H. Spink (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Challenger Sale: Taking Control of the Customer Conversation (Paperback)
I liked the ideas in this book, but it took a long time to get to them!

The book could do with being separated into the science behind getting to the findings, and then putting the findings into practice...maybe even two separate books for different audiences. Worth the money but a long time to get to the nub of the issue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Selling Excellence, 28 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: The Challenger Sale: Taking Control of the Customer Conversation (Paperback)
In these challenging times, every sales person would benefit from revisiting how they engage their customers in conversation...... I was already aware of the original research and found it a thought provoking back-ground read.
However, I do not believe it to be a 'self-study' book! You would need a lot of help to put everything into practice! ...As an experienced sales training manager and coach, I found it a useful tool when designing a selling workshop with supporting role plays and coaching case studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Generally good content but unfocussed.., 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Challenger Sale: Taking Control of the Customer Conversation (Paperback)
The general message in this book is spot on and as a solutions sales person you will definitely be successful if you are able to enhance the challenger sales approach.

However, the book itself doesn't know whether it is a sales coaching book for sales people or sales managers. It flips from advice for sales people to advice for people managing sales people without any real indication that it's doing so.

It wouldn't be so bad if it was split into two sections but it doesn't really ever specialise in either for any period of time making it harder to take value from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As some one who has only recently been involved in business to business sales I found this book very interesting. My role now has an element of solutions selling and I have found this book to be a useful insight. I felt the book was well structured and easy to read and I can see myself referring back to the book over time. I would certainly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars eye opening, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great introduction into the world of sales. If you're uncertain of what's involved in the world of sales or how you can improve in that world, read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for my licences, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Challenger Sale: Taking Control of the Customer Conversation (Paperback)
I own a Franchise business and The Challenger Sale has become required reading for my licenses, it fits well with our B2B business and provides a structure to hang our sales process from.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Up to date sales book, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Challenger Sale: Taking Control of the Customer Conversation (Paperback)
We all love Brian Tracy, Zig Ziglar, Neil Rackman etc etc but this book is a real 201x sales book and the Challenger model make so much sense.

More for a business than an individual, if you are looking for new ideas for your business on how to increase sales through real value differentiation this is a great concept and if everyone works together can make a massive difference.

Also good for an individual, I am trying to use the tactics in my solution selling process. Must read for ANY sales professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3494edc)

This product

The Challenger Sale: Taking Control of the Customer Conversation
10.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews