Customer Reviews


73 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 58 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is amazing that anyone would have been able to have endured the extreme hardships that Reg Twigg did during his captivity in Burma. I think everyone should read this book to make sure no more world wars happen in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Believe, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what a generation,came back from a living Hell. no stress counciling for them or thanks from a grateful Govment Shameful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surviving against the odds, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has to be the finest book I've read about the Thai-Burma railway, to read about Reg Twiggs ordeal for 4yrs!!! Is unbelievable. When reading the book I found I was transfixed by his account and the daily loss of life and how he just survived is truly amazing and most definitely worth reading!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I have ever read, 6 May 2014
By 
Mr. Br Gibbs "jazzbooksearcher" (berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book I literally could not put down, it is very well written and gives a graphic, if not harrowing, in-sight into the way a human being needed to adapt in order to exist under such harsh conditions and savage treatment by the enemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loves being taken on the journey with such well written tales I feel like I got to know Reg. Thank you for teaching me so much and reminding me how grateful we should be to all those forgotten soldiers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The will to survive, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed reading this book. It's impossible to really know what these brave men went through or understand how they managed to survive through years of mental and physical torture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing first hand account of life on the railway of death., 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book I just couldn't put down. Day to day trials and suffering of unimaginable proportions. Story told from first hand accounts of a brave man who survived against the odds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unnerving story when read in the comfort of your home knowing that this really happened and you ask yourself the question "Would l have been strong enough to survive?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is extremely readable and is one of the best of the many books that I have read on ..., 22 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fascinating account of Reg Twigg's war. It is extremely readable and is one of the best of the many books that I have read on this subject. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars everyone should read this book RIP Reg., 21 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a very informative book written by a man who survived against all odds the cruel and inhuman treatment of the Japanese soldiers during the building of the Burma railway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 58 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Survivor on the River Kwai: The Incredible Story of Life on the Burma Railway
Used & New from: £9.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews