Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PF's early experience in the US is as IN-credible
Much has been said about how fake her China stories are. Here is a copy of what I wrote about her early US experience in Amazon.com.

*************(For your amusement, 2/13/2013) This will be the latest and hopefully last addition. Some of the stories in this "memoir" are too entertaining and too comical not to share.

----
TITLE: My First Days,...
Published 20 months ago by Joe Y

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of contraditory fabrications mixed with a lot of high-minded talking
If I could give 0 star to this book, I would. A memoir is supposed to tell what really happened, and occasional inaccuracies are OK. But this one is full of fabrications. When I read the first half of this book, I found most of the pages are either big direct lies or small things against common sense. The second half is more focused on business but it is just plain...
Published 12 months ago by American Citizen


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bend not Break by Ping Fu, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was was a very good read and an amazing story of how a young girl was treated during Mao's revolution and how she came through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 26 Mar 2013
Much has been written about this book. Ping Fu even responded to critics in the Huffington Post and corrected some of the mistakes in the book. Whatever people critique this book is a fantastic read. It covers Fu's life-story from her childhood in China to become a major entrepreneur and innovator in the USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written, informative, interesting/sometimes shocking, thought provoking and inspiring.
I have recommended it to several people.
An outstanding example of the human spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A moving story., 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book. Ping Fu an inspiration and has done so much with her life, against all odds. Watched her on t.v. and this instigated the purchase of this book. Was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone,mum's book clubs, students, young or experienced business professionals will all find something in this amazing book. Cleverly written and a joy to read. Incredible lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting - Educational - Heartbreaking - Inspiring, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am still reading this book but so far have found it to be so very interesting. I do have vague memories of reading about the cultural revolution but it was not unti reading this that I had some insight into how 'real people' were affected. The story of Ping Fu was both heartbreaking & inspiring. She is obviously one very strong lady. the fact that she has made such a success of her life, achieved so very much, is awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bend, Not Break: A Life in Two Worlds, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A moving, yet inspirational account, of human resilience, tenacity and compassion. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found it hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring story, 2 Feb 2013
I have no historical credentials to judge the veracity of the story and in any case, China has evolved tremendously since.

However, I found the story extremely inspiring and full of life lessons:
- The power of learning: often in her book, she comes across an obstacle or she fails. But then, she reads a book or asks advice, study that advice, apply it and move forward adding a new arrow in her quiver.
- Resilience: she obviously went through extreme ups and downs. She mentions that life looks like a mountainous landscape with peaks and valleys. Often, one cannot reach the next peak without going through the valley.
- Introspection: I understand that she has written a personal journal (sometimes described as her only confident) for a long time. It seems that it has helped her to step back, analyse situations, keep faith and move forward.
- Authenticity: she comes across as very humane. At several occasions in the book, she solves issues through direct contact with the people she can be in conflict with. She presses on the importance of forgiveness and finding the good part within people. Nobody is a "nobody".

I highly recommend the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read up to a point, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading Ping Fu's account of her childhood years and I admired her courage and tenacity in the face of so much adversity. You can't begin to imagine what people had to endure and at such a young age, incredible story. Although I was interested to read about her life in the US and how she built up her company but it was far too much of that part of her life, I must have skipped most of those pages towards the end. Still, a book worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bend, Not Break: From Mao's China to the White House
Bend, Not Break: From Mao's China to the White House by Ping Fu (Paperback - 2 Jan 2014)
£7.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews