Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb.
If many more European start-up founders had read this book we might have more successful start-ups. That said, as of 2011 we ARE beginning to get a lot of more switched on, more product focused entrepreneurs starting companies. That can only be good.

I would recommend without question, reading this book. Many of the recommendations inside are ones I have...
Published on 12 Oct 2011 by Andrew

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Lean StartUp - Less is more sometimes...
I recently bought The Lean StartUp by Eric Ries shortly after reading The StartUp Owner's Manual by Steve Blank and Bob Dorf which was absolutely excellent. By comparison the Lean StartUp was very disappointing and too much emphasis on anecdotes and past successes / failures and not enough on the future. Reads like a novel and I could not recommend it unfortunately. His...
Published 23 months ago by Robert Edgar


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and essential but the title sucks., 13 Sep 2011
By 
M. Littlewood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lean Startup (Hardcover)
Eric Ries is an extraordinary entrepreneur. The innovative way in which he has launched The Lean Startup itself is testament to his incredible creativity and energy.

Anyone, whether they are in technology or any other sector, who is involved in product development, should read this book, make sure that everyone in their team has read this book and then argued over a beer about whether it applies to them. Not everyone will agree with everything he says, no doubt some people will think they know better, good luck to them.

Some people will rail against the use of terms like, 'Pivot', that Eric uses to describe the (entirely rational) process of discovering the market for a startup. Pivot runs the risk of being the most misunderstood and overused term in startup land as it has become a euphemisim for all sorts of things including, 'failed', 'given up' or 'lost interest'. It is hardly Eric's fault however that he has created and popularised a concept that powerful.

Having been involved in successful and unsuccessful startups, and unsuccessful projects in large corporations, Eric has invested an obscene amount of his time and effort into working out why there is so much wasted effort in product development. More importantly, he has come up with a very plausible hypothesis for a better way of doing things better. Measurably better.

I do have a big problem with this book and some of the language in it.

To quote Eric Ries, "So here's my definition of a startup. A human institution designed to create something new under conditions of extreme uncertainity. And, of course, the importance of disruptive innovation in creating something that is truly different than what came before."

For my money, that is not the definition of a startup. That is the definition of an inventor, an innovator, a startup, any business unit, product management team or organisation in the world.

Why not apply that definition to another entity?

"So here's my definition of Apple. A human institution designed to create something new under conditions of extreme uncertainity. And, of course, the importance of disruptive innovation in creating something that is truly different than what came before."

Apple is the largest corporation in the world. Doesn't the definition apply equally well?

And that is the essence of my problem with this book. It is keeping some extraordinary insights into how you can make things that people love in the world of startups. Grownups need to read this. They might sneer at the concept of a pivot, it is an overused term. I can't think of a single organisation that wouldn't benefit from the concept of minimum viable product though. The world would be a better place if big corporations understood this. They will waste less money making stuff people don't want.

Kindle version: The Lean Startup: How Today's Entrepreneurs Use Continuous Innovation to Create Radically Successful Businesses

Hard cover version: The Lean Startup: How Today's Entrepreneurs Use Continuous Innovation to Create Radically Successful Businesses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's just common sense really, 19 July 2013
By 
Jeremy Burns (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lean Startup: How Constant Innovation Creates Radically Successful Businesses (Paperback)
I was hopeful that this book might enlighten me in some way, but really it didn't. I'm sure it works for some people but most of it is common sense and it seems to have built up an infrastructure of seminars and the likes around the concept. I know that some people evangelise the messages and - whilst I definitely picked up a couple of big tips (like minimum viable product) - I really didn't get on with the book as a whole and din't complete it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's obvious, once you've read it!, 25 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lean Startup: How Constant Innovation Creates Radically Successful Businesses (Paperback)
I think this is a fantastic book, one of the best I've read. Its observations are obvious, but until I read it, I had never considered them. I am changing my business practice immediately.

Instead of burying yourself in product development, hidden from the world, assuming, hoping, believing you're on the right track, continually adding more and more features as you attempt to build the perfect realisation of your vision to release to an expectant audience, test each assumption right from the start.

Simple little experiments to find out if you're on the right track, split-testing, check what your customers are currently doing, and whether a new feature you add actually does improve their behaviour (more sign-ups, for example). This, he terms validated learning. You learn if your hypothesis is right or not. Obviously, the sooner you can learn this the better, so instead of making a full-blown product, put out an MVP, a minimum viable product, just good enough to get the feedback you require. With this new knowledge, you can decide whether to carry on, or pivot, change direction.

I read many books, but most don't compel me to write a review. This one did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lean Startup: How Constant Innovation Creates Radically Successful Businesses (Paperback)
Good product, does what it says, delivered on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fundamentally Better Way Of Doing Business, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Lean Startup: How Constant Innovation Creates Radically Successful Businesses (Paperback)
This book will fundamentally change the way you design software products. The book contains honest anecdotes about the good and bad attempts and provides great guidance on how to do more of the good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lean Startup: How Constant Innovation Creates Radically Successful Businesses (Paperback)
worth a read if you are thinking about doing an online company, lots of good advise to avoid pitfalls in startups
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for both entrepreneurs and intrapreneurs, 29 May 2014
By 
Antti Paananen (Jyväskylä, Finland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lean Startup: How Constant Innovation Creates Radically Successful Businesses (Paperback)
A must-read for all start-up entrepreneurs. Extremely recommended for all intrapreneurs (employees devoted in improving the company from inside out). Well written, concise, uncluttered, filled with real life examples, and easy and fun to read. Excellent stuff from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for entrepreneurs, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lean Startup: How Constant Innovation Creates Radically Successful Businesses (Paperback)
The idea that you must spend a huge amount of money before testing your idea on the market is not correct according to this book. Work in small batches, test, learn and modify. Full of great advice and case studies. An absolute must for anyone who has an idea and wants to start a business around it. Basically, don't go bankrupt building something nobody wants. You might think the world wants your product but you don't know until you actually make contact with the customers, do it early and inexpensively. Buy this book and find out how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 17 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this following a friends recommendation and have learnt so much from it.

All of the ideas outlined in the book, that form the Lean Startup method, are well described and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable resource for entrepreneurs, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this on a holiday, which included a visit to the Lladro porcelain factory in Valencia. I had just been reading about the lean manufacturing principles of 'small batches' and 'andon chord' as described in the book - then to my delight I recognised them in action on the Lladro production line. The book is packed full of good ideas and really helped to kick start my thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lean Startup: How Constant Innovation Creates Radically Successful Businesses
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews