Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars39
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 22 November 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A really brilliant book, written in an easy and entertaining way without being flippant or below the level of the target audience. Hugh Aldersey-Williams has tackled this at just the right level. The Amazon blurb says the book is a splendidly entertaining journey through the art, science, literature and history of the human body and this is an accurate description.

I loved it and I'd certainly recommend it to anyone else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is an accessible, clearly presented book that takes you on a tour of the human body and points out some fascinating facts along the way.

Not too basic but not too focussed either on the biology side of things, the emphasis is refreshingly on the historical and social aspects of the various parts of our bodies as much as anything else, and this makes for an interesting, often illuminating and entertaining book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I got this as it piqued my interest as a medical student, however it's really aimed at a much wider market. The book has lots of interesting facts about the body, rather than being focussed solely on the medicine. There are lots of pictures throughout the book, and it's very easy to dip in and out of. Good for a general interest book if you have an interest in the human body, without wanting anything too technical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I quite enjoyed reading this. It is probably best to see this as a book to dip into. It is well written and informative.
It could be criticises as lacking depth or rigour but that would probably miss the point of the book.

If possible I would have rated this as three and a half stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Writing in essay form, the author covers all areas of the body, delving into the cultural and social history as well as the scientific viewpoint - across the centuries. Not a book to read at one sitting, but definitely one to savour, chapter by chapter. It is a fascinating read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Not quite as good as his Periodic Table book, perhaps because it feels a little overwritten at times. It's hard to keep the same detachment when writing about people. Nevertheless, an excellent book, because Aldersey-Williams is such a consummater storyteller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
An interesting look at the discovery, exploration and quirks of the human body. Written in an interesting and jocular way, this book details the advent of modern medicine right through to some of the complex chemical reactions that take place in our bodies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
This book more discusses social reactions to part of the body and the theory of how these were constructed over time. This is not quite what I expected but I enjoyed it never the less.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
An interesting perspective. The writer combines history and art in to his explanations of the anatomical parts in a away that captures ones interest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
Brilliant, lucid, clever with a surprising piece of information on every other page. Scientific detail is matched to a pleasing cultural sweep.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)