Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring but too long and shallow
It's an easy book to read, more like a journal article rather than a comprehensive discussion you expect from a book. Though, I am still fascinated by Jeff's story and his creative long-term vision.
Published on 30 Aug 2012 by Shabnam

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad, if you're looking for business magazine's article on 200+ pages!
Not so bad, just a far better and updated version of Business the Amazon.Com Way: Secrets of the World's Most Astonishing Web Business (Big Shots Series). I had hoped for something like an interesting biography of the company's CEO, Jeff Bezos. Instead, I had received information, mostly known and was feeling like reading a long article about successful startups in some...
Published on 26 Oct 2011 by M. Lach


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad, if you're looking for business magazine's article on 200+ pages!, 26 Oct 2011
By 
M. Lach (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not so bad, just a far better and updated version of Business the Amazon.Com Way: Secrets of the World's Most Astonishing Web Business (Big Shots Series). I had hoped for something like an interesting biography of the company's CEO, Jeff Bezos. Instead, I had received information, mostly known and was feeling like reading a long article about successful startups in some business orientated newspaper. The book is little, nothing surprising. Interesting maybe for those who want to own every book about a successful internet businesses, but if you're looking for something with atmosphere, this isn't it. It isn't a book with a story to tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but not definitive., 13 Nov 2011
By 
Eddie-B (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book of only around 200 pages, I read it in a weekend. It's easy to pick up and read despite some little oddities of speech (in the text the author refers to something falling "like spit from a bridge").

I'm a big Amazon fan, the site is easy to navigate, prices are good and everything arrives in good time and as described. If I was rating Amazon the company I'd have to give it 5 stars. 3 stars only for this book, I'd recommend it for anyone that wants a taste of the Amazon story. It reads and feels more like an extended magazine article than an in-depth analysis of the rise of Amazon. I'd still like to read a deeper analysis of the development of Amazon and of Jeff Bezos who has steered it to its present pre-eminent position. Amazon's success has possibly lead to the closure of bookstores as it has attracted so much on-line business. On the plus side it has also provided cheaper books, I live in England and until recently book prices were effectively fixed. Amazon also makes it easy to find out-of-print books, again at reasonable prices. There's plenty to write about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was looking for, 6 Feb 2012
"One Click" by Brandt is not a great book on one of the biggest success stories of the internet age. I would imagine that building a company like Amazon must have been a exciting journey but this book reads like a badly researched article for a local newspaper. It becomes apparent quickly that he has not done a lot of interviews with the key people but is relying on secondary research. The book was edited recently and the updated numbers and figures are patched into the text amateur style.

An almost embarrassing aspect of the book is the way that he writes about Jeff Bezos. I am sure that he is an intelligent person and that he has a lot of drive - however, he is not a god like genius who never failed and always succeeded. I think if Jeff Bezos has read this book he will have flushed about some of the descriptions of himself.

If you are interested in an easy to read book that gives you an introduction about Amazon it might be the right thing for you. If I were Jeff Bezos I would call Walter Isaacson to write a proper book about the story of my business and myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so..., 25 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: One Click: Jeff Bezos and the Rise of Amazon.com (Paperback)
There seems to be a wave of the CEOs biographies started with several books on Jobs. This books starts like a CV of the young mr. Bezos. I was ready to put it down then. But then came the part on the IPO and the strategy that I found interesting. The end tries to summarise the role and personality but again there is just a handful of comments leading nowhere. Indeed, as said in other reviews, there isn't too much you cannot find elsewhere. One could easily make it a one pager with the same content. Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring but too long and shallow, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's an easy book to read, more like a journal article rather than a comprehensive discussion you expect from a book. Though, I am still fascinated by Jeff's story and his creative long-term vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Short and not very detailed, 18 Nov 2011
By 
This was a really short piece of work, to put it politely.

I felt like I was reading an article from the NYT while reading the book, and was amazed at how little detail was actually in the book regarding Jeff Bezos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Jeff Bezos - interesting mindset, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was most interesting to see how Jeff Bezos mind works and the setting up of Amazon. A bit repetitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars intriguing and insightful, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an ok account of Jeff if not brief in a fe places

I think there was space to expand but overall informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Solid but never really gets below the surface, 10 Aug 2013
A solid journalistic treatment of the growth of amazon. Covers all the main events, and some good personal insights into the young bezos's life. But doesn't really unpack the reasons why it's been such a phenomenal success with customers or what's next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Richard L. Brandt - One Click | Review, 15 July 2013
By 
This review is from: One Click: Jeff Bezos and the Rise of Amazon.com (Paperback)
Richard L. Brandt's investigation in to the workings of Amazon.com and the mind of Jeff Bezos, the man behind the company, offers a great insight in to the mind of the man whose simplistic approach to e-commerce changed the way that we shop online, creating an internet giant in the process.

Not only is it fascinating to read about the development of Amazon's One Click system, the approach that set them apart from their competitors, but also you get a great insight in to the workings and the culture of the company, as well as a good idea of what makes Bezos himself tick.

While not strictly a 'social media' book (i.e. - the type of book that I can kid myself I'm reading to advance my career), there's plenty in One Click to appease even the most lax internet addict, and though I started to read this for work, I ended up reading it for pleasure.

It's surprising how innovative Amazon were, too - founded in 1994 and launched in 1995, Amazon is one of few web companies that has successfully adapted with the times, survived the dot com boom and lived to celebrate its 25th birthday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Click: Jeff Bezos and the Rise of Amazon.com
One Click: Jeff Bezos and the Rise of Amazon.com by Richard L. Brandt (Paperback - 2 Aug 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews