Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lively & interesting, if a little disjointed
I’ve been familiar with some of Adam’s work with the Guardian newspaper for a number of years, though this is the first book of his that I’ve actually read. It has to be noted that there are really two books here in one. The big trick the publishers pulled was to not put the two parts consecutively, but to flip one upside down and then putting them...
Published 8 months ago by S. Meadows

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Like othe reviewers I found it difficult to read and ...
Like othe reviewers I found it difficult to read and rather laboured. The content is very interesting but the wrting is not gripping, like Richard Dawking's books. Adam is a great talker but sadly the writing is not so good. Quite frankly I don't think I am going to finish reading the whole book.
Published 3 months ago by Pincroft Wizard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clever and understandable, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation: The Origin of Life / The Future of Life (Hardcover)
ALTHOUGH i have not completed reading this book it is fascinating to see the ideas written in an illuminating way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding popular science, 12 Jun. 2013
By 
Brian Clegg "Brian Clegg" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Creation: The Origin of Life / The Future of Life (Hardcover)
It is not often that a book jumps out at you as being fresh, original and excellent within minutes of starting to read it - but this was definitely the case with Adam Rutherford's Creation. It is about both the biological origins of life and how we are artificially changing the nature of life with synthetic biology.

I have read plenty of books on basic biology, but Rutherford triumphs uniquely by giving us a clear exploration of the nature of life, breaking it down to its simplest components and seeing how these could have come into being. This goes far beyond the old `organic soup plus lightning' concepts and takes us across that most difficult of jumps from a collection of organic compounds to something that has a living function.

To be honest, that would be enough on its own, but Rutherford also gives us an excellent and eye-opening look at how we are modifying and constructing life, from Craig Ventner's synthetic bacterium, through `programmed' bacteria to the practical applications of modified life. This synthetic biology is much more than the basics of genetic engineering and is totally fascinating, perhaps even more so than the `origin of life' part.

What's more, Rutherford has a breezy approachable writing style that never intimidates and manages to making information entertaining - no mean feat. Just occasionally he overdoes the bonhomie, particularly in his asides in footnotes. I was particularly unhappy with one about Fred Hoyle. Rutherford was rightly pointing out what a big mistake Hoyle made with his 747 from a scrapyard analogy, but Rutherford gets his history of science all wrong by demonstrating Hoyle's iconoclastic `vocally rejecting mainstream ideas' by saying `He disputed the universe's origin being the result of the Big Bang, which is the overwhelming scientific consensus view.'

The problem with this is that at the time Big Bang was a seriously flawed theory, and arguably Hoyle et al's alternative Steady State theory was better - Big Bang was certainly not the overwhelming consensus view. It was only later data, combined with a much hacked about and improved Big Bang theory that made it become that. To put it as Rutherford does totally misrepresents the significance of Hoyle's theory at the time.

The other moan I have is the way the book is put together (I don't think this applies to the US or Kindle versions). The two parts of the book, exploring the origins of life and looking at the synthetic future, are in two totally separate halves, begun at opposite ends of the book, one printed inverted to the other. This implies the two sections are independent and can be read in any order - but they aren't. This is obvious as the introduction of the forward looking section has several references to reading the other section for detail. It should, without doubt, be read `origin of life' first then `future of life.' The flip book format is a silly gimmick that detracts from the outstanding quality of this book.

Without doubt one of the most important popular science books of 2013 and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A gimmick too far, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There were a number of things that I didn't like about the book. Firstly, the book is split into two halves, the origin of life, and the future of life. I am a biology undergraduate, so the origin of life was just a repeat of things that I have already learnt, told in a more confusing way. If I did not study biology I'm sure I would have found it more interesting, but I still would have not enjoyed it massively. However, the future of life was fairly interesting, even if it did jump from point to point frivolously.

Secondly, I personally didn't like the writing style. The number of analogies was too high and the quality of them was too low. There were far too many footnotes, which just ruin the flow of the book and interrupt any sort of rhythm that you manage to generate while wading through the average descriptions. Also, the writing itself was just grating, half chatty, half formal, and a strange use of 'jargon' where it was removed in some cases (both correctly and incorrectly) and inexplicably left in the text in other cases.

All in all, I would have enjoyed it more if I didn't have a background in the topic, but whether it would have moved my rating up to a 3 is unlikely, as the writing itself was one of the major problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 20 Mar. 2014
Rarely have I been so moved by a book, but not in a good way. If Dr. Rutherford's work is for the informed layperson he has failed by a narrow margin: the content could have been made much clearer by the judicious use of a few line diagrams.
That aside I cannot understand why a scientist and professional communicator can see fit to use "bacteria" as the singular noun, something seen all to often in the newspapers, then he attempts to justify the choice by some unintelligible, pseudo-philosophicall gobbledygook! It beggars belief quite frankly. How does he explain the second "a" in haemoglobin then and the dreadful "Woelerr" for "Wohler"? Another concession to general ignorance? Hopefully the book is not read by Biology students for he will have set back the work of their teachers by several years. Science is defined by precision and rules, individuals cannot arbitrarily change them to suit themselves. As he writes several times, if the genetic code is written incorrectly the result is rubbish. I fear the book's value is diminished by poor editing and proof reading and a failure to abide by simple scientific values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing read and a real eye opener to what is possible in the future. Easy to understand and digest with beautiful descriptive grammar. I loved it, Science is cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creation, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation: The Origin of Life / The Future of Life (Hardcover)
Wonderfully written with an ease that will make its subject fascinating for both experts and layperson alike. And there are 17 movie references. Spot them all and there will be prizes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A misleading title, 22 April 2013
The book is well-written and engaging, especially for those new to genetics and evolution. It does not come close to expliainingthe origin of life because this is an area where there are many diverse theories but where we still lack any solid scientific explanation. Science has a good body of evidence for how life evolved from the first simple single-celled organisms, but not how abiogenesis of those first single-celled organisms occurred. For that reason I find the book to be a tad disingenuous with better books available covering the subjects discussed in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting history and future speculation., 30 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. D. Mccabe (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation: The Origin of Life / The Future of Life (Hardcover)
Why make a POINT of insisting that the word "bacilli" should no longer follow the Latin rule of "-us" singular and "-i" plural and then use it for both? If it's not Latin, then why does it not follow English rules and add "s" for the plural? End of rant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 24 April 2013
By 
Mrs. S. Harris (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation: The Origin of Life / The Future of Life (Hardcover)
bought this for my husband but he does not like the concept of 2 books in one and you have to turn it upsidedown. He thought it was a silly idea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars faulty eformat, 13 April 2013
The content seems fascinating - if only I could read it properly...
The formatting is awful. Many of the pages don't connect. There are repeat pages and other bits seem to be missing. Have to tilt the kindle up and down, stand on my head and keep flicking back and forth. I understand this may be a problem with Amazon/Kindle. However, it's in everyone's interests to resolve the matter soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creation: The Origin of Life / The Future of Life
Creation: The Origin of Life / The Future of Life by Adam Rutherford (Hardcover - 4 April 2013)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews