Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that makes its subject accessible is a rare thing and this one does that and more
I am a relative newcomer to the history of London in the Georgian period. My attempts to improve my knowledge of a city I love in that glorious period have constantly been dogged by the majority of books I've read no the subject. Certain histories have a tendency to get bogged down in detail that is so wedded to minutia that it loses the reader completely. This book has...
Published 11 months ago by willipmrpip

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars little known stufff from the 18th century
some fascinating pieces but irritatingly superficial in places.
a bit of a curate's egg. purchase as background vignettes for my novel
Published 8 months ago by S. Bloxham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that makes its subject accessible is a rare thing and this one does that and more, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a relative newcomer to the history of London in the Georgian period. My attempts to improve my knowledge of a city I love in that glorious period have constantly been dogged by the majority of books I've read no the subject. Certain histories have a tendency to get bogged down in detail that is so wedded to minutia that it loses the reader completely. This book has none of that. In what I consider to be an innovative approach, the author has finely drawn the narrative and almost compartmentalised London by area while telling full and comprehensive stories for each of them. It's almost like an almanac of local histories, all of which draw together to tell the full story. It's an engaging way of writing history and one that I've never before come across. The writing style too is a revelation. The author almost invites you in as a bystander to what she is seeing, and as each detail is revealed the depth of her research is plain and clear. If I have a criticism to make, it would be that each chapter seems too short and leaves you wishing she'd told you more. A wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really interesting, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really detailed, perhaps would have been improved by including maps, and a little more editing- occasionally felt as though I was being bombarded with facts. A must read, however, for anyone who loves London and is interested in the formation of the modern metropolis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely spiffing, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Our first four King Georges were a rum old lot, and this is a wonderful and amusing look at their lives and foibles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Georgian - a mixed bag of need and plenty, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgian London: Into the Streets (Hardcover)
Gives a picture of the cruelty of the difference between the social classes, with so much waste by some and so much need by others. All areas of London brought vividly to life portraying changes taking place in work and home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eighteenth Century London comes alive, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book really makes one see and imagine what life was like in London in the eighteenth century with great vividness. Fascinating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed every chapter!, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgian London: Into the Streets (Hardcover)
A fascinating and humorous insight into the everyday lives of the rich, the poor and the burgeoning middle classes that helped make our capital city what it is today. Not being a Londoner I sometimes did have difficulty with the geography but comparing the old maps in the book with Google maps soon solved that! The thread that runs through it is that human behaviour does not change and what was considered good or bad for you then is no different in the 21sr century. The number of successful business women was quite a revelation as was the fact that Coleridge was an opium addict. Maybe explains why the Ancient Mariner was so long!

Thoroughly recommend to everyone and a booked to be dipped into time and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Georgian London comes alive!, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgian London: Into the Streets (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully written book which thrusts the reader in amongst the ordinary people of Georgian London.Be they deranged,eccentric,licentious ,artistic or plain poverty stricken,all human life is here. The fascination is in the detail which abounds,from quaggas to sedan chairmen via Beau Brummel and brown bread ice cream.Thoughtfully illustrated without the usual cliches( H'garth's Gin lane for example) this is a must have.
This is an intelligent well researched and accessible book that doesn't resort to dumbing down but moves effortlessly through the various areas of London leaving you smelling the streets and rookeries .
As a bonus I now know what a "madge" is .Do you?Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The kind of history that makes you want to go to London and walk it, 6 Jun 2014
By 
4.5 stars. Excellent stuff. London, district by district, with lots of lovely anecdotes and funny stories ad interesting facts. Exactly my kind of book, and what's more, the kind of book that works on loads of levels, whether you're a history buff or not. It's nicely written, it's witty, and it's cohesive, working its way from the innards of the city out. It's the kind of book you can dip in and out of, or you can read in a big gulp (I did a mixture of both). It's great research, it's fab for pointing you in the right direction if you want to know more, and it's full of interesting little snippets that stick with you. Really enjoyed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Georgian London, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is well written and has a real flow. The passion for London's past comes through from the author as she takes you on the journey. I've worked in London for over 30 years and have always been fascinated with its history. Oh for a time machine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 Sep 2013
This review is from: Georgian London: Into the Streets (Hardcover)
I love this book. I found so many new things out about London which will now make me think twice when walking through the streets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Georgian London: Into the Streets
Georgian London: Into the Streets by Lucy Inglis (Hardcover - 5 Sep 2013)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews