Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring.
I've never read non-fiction. Not really. And I never read memoirs or bigraphies. But when I heard that Natascha Kampusch had written a book about her abduction and life in captivity I had to read it. I remember hearing all about her story on the news. I didn't know what to expect from this book. But it blew me away. Natascha Kampusch is a wonderful story teller, although...
Published on 3 Jan. 2012 by Claire Frances Lloyd

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great
I bought this book (along with others I suppose) hoping that it was going to be the truth about what happened but in fact it was nothing of the sort, Ms Kampusch was rather evasive and it was filled with what I thought was half truths and felt that she was still being loyal to her kidnapper and I was disappointed with this book.
Published 20 months ago by Barbara M


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You cannot ever understand how she lived this way, 20 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3,096 Days (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book, it was easier to read and not as detailed (with the horrific details ) as other I have read. A lot of the book tells the story about her family life at home. I think this did need explaining to understand her as the book goes on. The human spirit really is something that I am in awe of at times like these. People critisise this poor girl because she doesnt act like she should now she is free from her abducter.How people can know WHAT THEY WOULD DO is a mystery to me. I think she comes accross as a very sassy girl who wouldnt entirely go along with everything her kidnapper requseted. Yes she suffered for that, but she kept some control of her own mind to the small extent she could! i think the girl needs to be left to get on with her life and the critics should go far away. Good read, dont think she tells ALL that happened but if thats the way she wants it, she is free to do what she want now and doesnt have to do anything that she doesnt want!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unimaginable story, 19 Aug. 2011
This review is from: 3,096 Days (Kindle Edition)
i read this book in two sittings and am still in shock with this girls story. natascha is an inspiration and at times i just couldnt mentally relate to her situation it seems so hard to believe that one human could do this to another yet a number of cases keep appearing in the news. enjoy the freedom you fought so hard for natascha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 4 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3,096 Days (Paperback)
I bought this book (along with others I suppose) hoping that it was going to be the truth about what happened but in fact it was nothing of the sort, Ms Kampusch was rather evasive and it was filled with what I thought was half truths and felt that she was still being loyal to her kidnapper and I was disappointed with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling read, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3,096 Days (Paperback)
I bought this book through my recommendations on Amazon. It arrived days later and I couldn't wait to read Natascha's story as I could see many praising reviews on this book. I wasn't disappointed. This chilling, yet true story tells you detail for detail of the horrific nightmare Natascha faced at such a young age.
In some points of the story you could feel the psychologists views and thoughts coming through in Natascha's words. Even though she tells the encounter in terrific detail, she still keeps every bit of dignity and respect for herself.
A truly brave, and remarkable young woman who has witnessed first hand what it feels like to be thrown into a nightmare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable story, 23 Jan. 2011
This review is from: 3,096 Days (Paperback)
Good book, liked the fact she didn`t go into the sexual abuse but on her daily struggle to cope.
What a remarkable young woman I wish her well. Would recommend this book to anyone who needs courage
and strength to live with impossible situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Apt Take on the Dark Matter., 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3,096 Days (Paperback)
Well, it was a summer of enlightenment for me. In terms of violence against women.

Women who find themselves in these circumstances are different personalities and of different backgrounds. Natasha is a bright young woman with a strong character, who educated herself not only within the period of abuse but also after. So, her book is not a simple account of "this monster did this and this to me" but an attempt to explain to the world how much more she is than a victim, the predisposing conditions in the society and how these things are at all possible in our times and an attempt to advise on how to stop them. She obviously read on the subject, as there are some statistics on various aspects.

At the beginning of the book she gives the readers references to various electronic means of contacting her (QR codes for SMS, web etc.), which spells that she is young, intelligent, very much abreast with the times, awe-inspiringly BRAVE and strong enough to engage with the "uninitiated", who are lame enough to offer her help by inviting her to live with them and... do the cleaning.

Dear Natasha, Priklopil was a few years at the beginning of your life. Am afraid, the rest of it may bring more of the subtler versions of him but you won't let them bring you down. It may leave a bad taste but the expression "What doesn't break you makes you stronger" seems particularly apt.

Natasha, you are a bright beacon to all who went trough similar experiences that there IS LIFE after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As brave as Anne Frank, 5 Dec. 2012
This review is from: 3,096 Days (Paperback)
This riveting, harrowing and yet inspiring book tells the true story of how a chubby little bespectacled ten-year-old girl handled inimaginable horror with unsurpassed courage and hope.

I don't normally read real-life crime or anything that may be too upsetting, but I just had to find out how Natascha Kampusch could possibly have endured and survived eight years of false imprisonment and slavery, and have emerged more or less intact. I could barely put this book down and read it in a little over a day.

It is an astonishing story of rationalism and determination, revealing Natascha to have a strength of character which must be on a par with that of Anne Frank. Kidnapped by a psychopath and placed in a situation destined to create feelings of total anguish - panic, fear, anger, isolation, grief, hatred, despair - Natascha quickly realised the debilitating effect that these emotions, if unbridled, would have upon her sanity. Without denying or losing her genuine feelings, she taught herself to control and dispel them with more rational responses - acceptance (but not total submission), understanding (but not condonement), forgiveness (but not hopelessness), cooperation (for pragmatic reasons) and most importantly, positive visualisation, reinforcing her sense of identity and self worth by focusing on beloved aspects of her past life and bringing them, through discipline of thought and action, into her present.

By applying her intelligence and objectivity to the situation, she analysed it and in doing so - through immense courage and patience - both kept herself sane and was able to tolerate, and even gain concessions from, her oppressor. Her account also throws into uncomfortable focus the shallowness of society with regard to abuse and violence: the ready willingness to buy into the kind of peep-show horror story portrayed by the media, with simplified extremes of evil, and victims perceived as helpless pawns with no escape, while only slightly lesser wrongs such as domestic violence are allowed to continue beneath a veneer of calm order. By opening her mind to the psychological complexity of wrongdoing, and adapting to it, Natascha saved her own life and remained not only sane, but unbroken in spirit.

There are many tears in reading this book, but it is an inspiration, teaching us that with determination we can overcome more than we could ever imagine. I don't think anyone having read this book could seriously justify giving way to self-pity ever again. And if you have children it will remind you how very dearly you love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive and disappointing, 24 April 2014
This review is from: 3,096 Days (Kindle Edition)
I was eager to read this book after seeing the reviews but honestly think it could have been put into one chapter! Very repetitive and somewhat boring at times. Everything that this poor girl went through was truly horrific. Considering she was locked away for over 8 years, beaten, starved and brought to the brink of death, this book is very well written, articulate and doesn't seem to come from someone who was denied an education at the time in Your life when it mattered the most. I'm on the fence with this one. I read it, it was ok but doubt I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miss Kampusch in captivity, 31 Aug. 2013
By 
Sam (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3,096 Days (Paperback)
Although the book didn't really grip me, I still give it a 4 star rating because I do feel it to be really lucid and well written. I also find it amazing that, given what this young woman went through, she still managed to come out of it such a, seemingly, mature and confident individual. The book is an insightful and highly intelligent account of the traumatic events leading up to and encompassing 3,096 days in captivity in an Austrian cellar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humanity exposed, 21 Jan. 2011
This review is from: 3,096 Days (Paperback)
I was breathless at times as I read this. It stetches crudulity to the limits to conceive that someone can suffer what Natascha Kampusch did and still be sane at the end of it. There is so much in such a short book - insight into the mind of her captor who believed he was saving her from the world, into the strange mutual dependance which arose and then her immense courage and fortitude. Utterly absorbing and, in the end, uplifting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

3,096 Days
3,096 Days by Natascha Kampusch (Paperback - 16 Sept. 2010)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews