Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars will recommend
If you like military history you will like this book,an ant's eye view of the battle of britain and the experience of living through world war 2 on the kent coast through the eyes of col. rodney foster. Lots of interesting information on air raid times,troop movements,public opinion,and such like.most military history books say about the same on the different wars or...
Published on 12 Dec. 2011 by penfold

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Of limited Interest?
I found this book fascinating because immediately post WW2 I lived in a house (near the author's) which features in the text and on a detailed map; also some of the people mentioned were familiar to me. As an account of day to day events during the war in Hythe and Folkestone and to a lesser extent Dover it is of historical interest but it has little literary merit being...
Published 22 months ago by Navo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well received, 3 Jan. 2012
This was a gift for my father who himself was in the homeguard at the beginning of the war as he was too young to enlist when the war started,he has told me that he finds it a very interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting read about the thoughts of a retired officer and his life in the local defence volunteers.
I enjoyed reading of his experiences and frustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 3 Dec. 2011
By 
L. Bell (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this for my father. The diaries were found in an antique shop by family members of the writer. The diary provides a lovely insight into the war years in SE England. It really is fascinating I may need to buy a copy for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like history and are interested in the war you will enjoy this book especially if you live or know the Kent area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars down to earth and true, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my father was in the home guard and after reading it he told me thats how it was could not put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Dad's Army, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real 'Dad's Army': The War Diaries of Col. Rodney Foster (Paperback)
It is an excellent book, I bought it for a present and it was well received. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful diary!, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From the first page I was involved with this book; so well written and I did not realise how being living on south coast was such a worrying time with the thought of invasion. I liked Rodney Foster and I do wish there was another diary coming from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What it Was Really Like, 2 July 2014
By 
T. E. Bletso (Bath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Real 'Dad's Army': The War Diaries of Col. Rodney Foster (Paperback)
Excellent. Particularly interesting as it was written at the time and not a retrospective opinion. It helped understand what it was really like at the time and what the public were allowed to know and not to know. Much better than a post war analysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The real Dad's Army., 14 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tremendously interesting insight into the reality behind the legend of "Dad's Army"written in an extremely conscise and readable way. I enjoyed it tremendously especially as my late Dad was a Home Guard NCO. Very enjoyable reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting accounts of the Home Guard during WW11, 9 Feb. 2013
Interesting accounts of the Home Guard during WW11 but not a book that holds the readers attention. Written by a diarist in a rather perfunctory way and therefore suffers from a lack of descriptive passages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Real 'Dad's Army': The War Diaries of Col. Rodney Foster
The Real 'Dad's Army': The War Diaries of Col. Rodney Foster by Rodney Foster (Paperback - 10 May 2012)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews