Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (134)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifted My Heart
Having fallen in love with Africa 2 years on a trip to Tanzania, I was some what shy from reading another persons love story with the continent as thoughts of possible doubt would crept into my mind. But after reading this book I not only have fallen in love with Africa more, but now also Daphne herself. She is a beautiful writer and has a magnificent style, which I can...
Published on 30 Mar. 2012 by EmilyPD

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat dull
The early part of this book is worthy but somewhat dull to read-perfect childhood, perfect schooling etc etc. Unfortunately that doesn't make for exciting "let's turn the page" stuff. As we get into the elephant rescue it perks up but overall this is a bit of a slog to get through which is a pity as Daphne Sheldrick is a wonderful person and has done amazing work...
Published 19 months ago by Eunice Gray


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing story which shows what it was like moving to ..., 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing story which shows what it was like moving to Africa from Britain many years ago when wildlife was in abundance before humans showed their evil side. A very emotional, funny and enjoyable read which any animal lover will adore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such an in site into the life of a true conservationist in the wild and an amazing book to read. By far the best book I have ever read. Easy to read and emotional it grips you from the very start until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
absolutely awe inspiring, if you love africa you'll love this and if you've never been to africa it will leave you wanting to. the best book i've read for many years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A truely inspiring love story which will move you to tears, 1 Jan. 2015
A truely inspiring love story which will move you to tears, the dedication show to helping these animals is so moving. Once you start redaing its hard to stop!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly remarkable book, a roller coaster of emotions, the amazing and fascinating story of Daphne Sheldrick. The loves and the losses.... Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous read!, 16 April 2012
This review is from: An African Love Story: Love, Life and Elephants (Hardcover)
I adored this book. I was already familiar with the work of David and Daphne Sheldrick having been a huge fan of the Elephant Diaries and having adopted two of their orphans previously. So when I saw this book, I just had to have it!

Wow, has this lady lived! I cried through most of this book. It is the most heart warming and heart breaking book I have ever read! Daphne is an amazing story teller and the reader is transported into her world to such an extent that my heart was racing as she described the sound of the lions tongues licking the outside of her tent, just the flimsy fabric seperating her and sister from certain death!

You can't help but care deeply about Daphne, her friends and family, and each an every one of the orphans. I was actually sobbing on the train station when I reached the part about Samson, although I already knew the outcome awaiting him!

A fabulous read and one that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will definitely read again I loved it so much., 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolutely great read - whether you love Africa, wildlife, biographies - or just want a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mother's Day present, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An African Love Story: Love, Life and Elephants (Hardcover)
My Mum is loving this book. She is an avid supporter of Daphne Sheldrick's orphan elephant sanctuary and has visited the sanctuary in Kenya many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Uplifting Story, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book and found it very moving. Having lived in Kenya some years ago I knew a lot of the history but not much about Daphne herself or her early life. It was fascinating to read about her early family and their journey from South Africa to Kenya - true pioneers in their day. Having recently visited the Nairobi Elephant Orphanage, I saw for myself the good the David Sheldrick Foundation does in rescuing the orphans and then releasing them back into the wild. With poaching on the increase again, it is wonderful work that they do. The book itself gives an insight as to life in the early days of white settlement and also her love of wildlife shines through on every page. Liz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gosh..., 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good read. You know sometimes you come across stories that just capture your heart... this is one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An African Love Story: Love, Life and Elephants
An African Love Story: Love, Life and Elephants by Dame Daphne Sheldrick (Hardcover - 1 Mar. 2012)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews