Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifted My Heart
Having fallen in love with Africa 2 years on a trip to Tanzania, I was some what shy from reading another persons love story with the continent as thoughts of possible doubt would crept into my mind. But after reading this book I not only have fallen in love with Africa more, but now also Daphne herself. She is a beautiful writer and has a magnificent style, which I can...
Published on 30 Mar 2012 by EmilyPD

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat dull
The early part of this book is worthy but somewhat dull to read-perfect childhood, perfect schooling etc etc. Unfortunately that doesn't make for exciting "let's turn the page" stuff. As we get into the elephant rescue it perks up but overall this is a bit of a slog to get through which is a pity as Daphne Sheldrick is a wonderful person and has done amazing work...
Published 12 months ago by Eunice Gray


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars African dream, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An African Love Story: Love, Life and Elephants (Paperback)
I have just finished Daphne Sheldrick's "An African love story". What a wonderful biography, tears of sadness, joy and so many other emotions. What a fantastic job The The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust do. Our two visits there in July 2010 will forever remain a special memory and I will go back again when I can. Cannot recomend this book highly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for lovers of wildlife, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who has been involved with the rescue of British wildlife for the last 40 years, I can truly appreciate the loving care that Daphne Sheldrick has had to put into her life at Tsavo. She's crammed two lifetimes of work into just one life on this earth Her love for a her husband and all wildlife stands out like a beacon to all the readers of this book .One can only stand back
,admire and envy her commitment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book., 26 Jan 2013
By 
W. A. Seddon (Leigh, Lancs, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fascinating book that keeps you captivated from page one. Beautiful, thought provoking, something to treasure. I would recommend this without reservation to anyone who loves Africa and her wildlife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 24 Jan 2013
couldnt put it down,just had to keep reading. beautifully written and will touch your heart. Answered a lot of questions in my mind about Africa and Elephants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insight into Tsarvo, 20 Jan 2013
The book is very interesting describing everyday life in Africa and especially Tsarvo. It brings back vivid memories of the wildlife in the reserves. Most interesting are the detailed accounts of orphans who became family pets, with the naturalists eye for unusual or interesting behaviour. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing story, beautifully written., 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An African Love Story: Love, Life and Elephants (Paperback)
I read this book having just returned from Africa, where I visited the David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage. Daphne tells an amazing story, with plenty of heart warming tales of animal orphans. A must for anyone who loves animals and is interested in learning more about them. Daphne is an inspiration, having devoted so much time to African animals, so was great to read about her experiences ranging from humorous to sad to successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An African Love Story, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Knowing Daphne personally this book is very evocative of the story of her life in Africa and her struggle to keep the elephant babies alive. We have visitied the orphanage in Nairobi and adopted 2 elephant babies and I would recommend this book to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful story, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book very interesting but at times very sad. I love elephants and this was a wonderful book about someone that has given so much to the welfare of orphan elephants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw the author being interviewed on the tv and bought the book on a whim. Really pleased I did. Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We went to Kenya several years ago and saw some of the wildlife whilst on safari. Daphne's book tells of her family's history in the country & of her marriage and adventures with David Sheldrick who set up the Tsavo National Park. I was expecting to read more about her elephant sanctuary in Nairobi National Park, but sadly not. Still the book was a fascinating insight into her relationship with orphaned animals and very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An African Love Story: Love, Life and Elephants
An African Love Story: Love, Life and Elephants by Dame Daphne Sheldrick (Paperback - 3 Jan 2013)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews