Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
Realy enjoyed this book, I have not read many WW1 books, this made me think about how we percieved the war then and now. Very moving as well when thinking about how many lost their lives. This is one of the few books that is able to informatively talk about statistics and facts whilst never loosing the sensitivity of the lives that were lost. Really moving and informative...
Published 6 months ago by Justine clack

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars PAXMANS TAKE ON first World war
A fast moving thoughtful account of the war. Anchored in personal history, this is a balanced account of the war and a penetrating analysis of its consequences.
Published 26 days ago by Austin Banner


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Avery enjoyable read., 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Britain's Great War (Hardcover)
A very readable overview of the Great War, and how the salad days of the Edwardian era were replaced by the horrors of War, which completely changed Great Britain, the Empire and Europe for the rest of the Century. It doesn't get too bogged down in the finer details of the battles. It is helpful if the reader has some background knowledge of the history of the Great War. An enjoyable read, and I look forward to the forthcoming TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The war is the greatest punctuation point in modern British history.", 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Britain's Great War (Hardcover)
I have just finished Jeremy Paxman's "Great Britain's Great War" and I have to say I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is a great shame that the history of WW1 isn't taught properly (even I was shown "Blackadder Goes Fourth" when I was at school), however, this book (and the upcoming TV series) should be taught to everyone to gain a greater understanding of why Britain went to war and how it completely changed Britain forever. This book is accessible to all and quite simply, is irresistible and you will find it very difficult to put down!
I also love the fact that the author uses lines from famous poets, such as Siegfried Sassoon ("Dulce et Decorum Est") , Rupert Brooke ("The Soldier" with the famous lines " If I should ever die, think only this of me...",) to Grenfall's "Into Battle" and even the worst poem of the war "Diana versus Mars" as well as using newspapers, periodicals, archives, articles and books. The author concludes "Of course the whole thing was a bloody tragedy. But the question is not, would they have done things differently? It is at the time what else could they have done at all?" I could not agree more with the author, after having read his book, that "The war is the greatest punctuation point in modern British history."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Britain's Great War (Hardcover)
It is always interesting to read about a new perspective of the Great War, and compare it with all the other books on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOR THOSE WHO DEVOUR FIRST WORLD WAR STATISTICS, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Britain's Great War (Hardcover)
This was bought for my husband who has numerous books on the First World War. I was disappointed there were not more pictures in the book but apparently that is not an issue and the content is fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gift, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Britain's Great War (Hardcover)
gave to my mum for Christmas. bit worried that it would be too heavy going for her. quick flick through suggests that its an accessible read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise present, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Britain's Great War (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a Stocking filler, it was very much appreciated although unread at the moment.Love the old fashioned sleeve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Great War- Jeremy Paxman., 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Britain's Great War (Hardcover)
I have read several books on the Great War. This book by Jeremy is a very good read.
It covers the events that were happening in the trenches and at home in the UK.
It gives the reader a good insight into what Britain went thru during the Great War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent overview of the war. I enjoyed this book very much. Would recommend this book to other readers who are doing A level literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paxman, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Britain's Great War (Hardcover)
I bought it as a present, and the reader found the book very interesting and he could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Britain's Great War (Hardcover)
This book arrived promptly and in one piece.
Very happy indeed, as my dad will be when he gets it from Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Britain's Great War
Great Britain's Great War by Jeremy Paxman (Hardcover - 3 Oct 2013)
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews