Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
Realy enjoyed this book, I have not read many WW1 books, this made me think about how we percieved the war then and now. Very moving as well when thinking about how many lost their lives. This is one of the few books that is able to informatively talk about statistics and facts whilst never loosing the sensitivity of the lives that were lost. Really moving and informative...
Published 12 months ago by Justine clack

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars PAXMANS TAKE ON first World war
A fast moving thoughtful account of the war. Anchored in personal history, this is a balanced account of the war and a penetrating analysis of its consequences.
Published 6 months ago by Austin Banner


‹ Previous | 17 8 917 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good quick and interesting holiday read., 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Difficult issues dealt with in witty but sympathetic manner. Idiotic behaviour rightly identified and besmirched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WW1, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Britain's Great War (Hardcover)
An excellent account that gives an objective view of the culture within political circles which contributed to the most mismanaged event of the twentieth century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Dad!, 26 Nov 2013
By 
F. Brewer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Britain's Great War (Hardcover)
Paxman is a great author, my dad read a review for this book in one of the Sunday papers, it was a glowing appraisal of a well written, factually accurate and enjoyable journey back to a time that my dad still remembers as a young boy, he loves this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into Britain's reaction and actions during the war, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellently written. Great insight into Britain's reaction and actions during the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BRITAIN'S GREAT WAR., 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another book packed with detail but remaining interesting and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this. Just the right mixture of International politics ..., 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this. Just the right mixture of International politics and human interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good, one of the best that I have read, and I have read quite a few on WW1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly recommended., 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very readable, masses of detail I never appreciated. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We'll worth reading makes what a. Lovely war in a proper perspective
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Revealed some interesting facts not covered in other sources on WW1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 917 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Britain's Great War
Great Britain's Great War by Jeremy Paxman (Hardcover - 3 Oct 2013)
£5.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews