Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The End of the Party - The Blair Brown Feud dissected and unmasked
Andrew Rawnsley has toured the TV studios for weeks making numerous robust defences of his latest book not least of the thesis underpinning the "Gordon is a bully" scandal. He has in turn been subject to the full wrath of the current government spin meisters and elected politicians such as John Prescott(oh the irony) who could barely contain his anger on a recent...
Published on 14 Mar. 2010 by Red on Black

versus
39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book is unfinished - wait for the paperback!
This is a decent, enjoyable read. Rawnsley writes very well and as a politics student I actually got a fair amount out of his account of the New Labour years.

However my big criticism of this book is that it is incomplete. The story ends abruptly in the months leading up to the 2010 general election, and this is no place to finish. I can only assume that this...
Published on 24 Aug. 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The end of the party, 3 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The End of the Party (Paperback)
Was in very good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE END OF THE PARTY, 14 April 2010
By 
James D. Clegg (Halifax England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The End of the Party: The Rise and Fall of New Labour (Hardcover)
Not a polemic but gets right to the rotten core of New Labour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad Truth, 2 Jun. 2010
By 
M. Evans (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The End of the Party: The Rise and Fall of New Labour (Hardcover)
Shocking truth about the foul-mouthed incompetence of the late unlamented Labour government. But they still stacked up a huge vote: truly frightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Hangover, 22 April 2012
This review is from: The End of the Party (Paperback)
One of the very best books I have ever read - partly because the writing is consistently of the very highest standard. Equally admirable is the comprehensiveness of the information - we probably knew most of the componentry of this sorry saga through the various strands of contemporaneous media coverage, but it is presented here in a totally coherent form, like the plot of a superlative novel.

The other major satisfaction is in knowing that these ridiculous New Labourites will eventually be kicked out - but not, regrettably, before their liberal fascism had done untold damage to our traditional British culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Political Soap Opera, 9 May 2010
By 
Scott (Edinburgh, Scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The End of the Party: The Rise and Fall of New Labour (Hardcover)
This is a highly detailed account of the Labour government from 2001 to 2010. It is well served by a thorough index which enables you to focus on key events etc. However, I was slightly disappointed by the gossipy nature of most of the writing. No doubt, he did interview hundreds of witnesses to these years but many of the key players are not interviewed so the book has a element of hearsay about it at times. Discussion of policy is thin and I do feel that there is more than a touch of hyperbole in the writing; good for hype but ultimately as hollow as some of New Labour'a own spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy it, but judge for yourself, 23 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The End of the Party: The Rise and Fall of New Labour (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book, as I did "Servants of the People". It's a big, entertaining work which I am glad to have on my shelves. However, I soon found myself pencilling disagreement in the margins.

We now live in a world in which propaganda, mendacity and malfeasance are rife. Many of the actors in the events narrated have contributed to this sea change. Consequently, a book based on their utterances has to surmount that barrier of scepticism with which all must now protect themselves.

Enjoy the book, but make your own judgements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very readable for the average person, 20 Jan. 2013
By 
Robert (Uxbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The positive reviews emphasise the political content of this book and that is probably fair. However this is more of a textbook with an agenda than a true journalistic account of the Blair years. The result is endless long emotionless paragraphs. If I did not already know some of the characters I would be hard pressed to differentiate them from each other. I appreciate the authors did not seem to like New Labour, but surely they could have made the book readable. It was like some school text of the history of the Kings of England. Long on names and dates but short on character and motivation. It just did not bring anything to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Narrow, Depressive Reading and Misrepresentation of Our Politics!, 2 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. G. Hassan "The Bungo Boy" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The End of the Party: The Rise and Fall of New Labour (Hardcover)
Rawnsley can write, but I believe having read him for years in 'The Observer' and with his first book on New Labour, 'Servants of the People', that he does not really understand fully politics and politicians. To Rawnsley, politics and what motivates people is all about gossip, backbiting, access to and exclusion from power. Never, ever is it about ideas and interests.

'The End of the Party' is an 800 page tome about politics as gossip, which does not stop once to recognise the role of ideas in New Labour and the current political dispension. Given New Labour were influenced by ideas - and I am not arguing they are the right ideas - but influenced nonetheless by them - this is a partial, very partial and unsatisifying account of the last decade.

Rawnsley's account of politics cannot really explain satisfactorily how Blair and Brown created New Labour - which was to accept the legacy and ideas of Thatcherism and moderate and humanise them and add an agenda of social justice (however incomplete). In Rawnsley's account, the only explanation plausible is that they wanted power, they wanted to be the ruling caste, and were prepared to do anything to get it.

Given the journey New Labour have taken this country, our politics and democracy on this is an inadequate book to explain and explore the multiple crises the UK faces. Instead, it is a book in tune, with the hollowed out, spaced out, alienated democracy, accentuating and amplifying all of these and more, without addressing the causes.

A very poor and very overlong book - which means we must wait a while for a more nuanced book which attempts to offer the definitive account of New Labour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the end of party.A truely excellent insite, 28 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: The End of the Party: The Rise and Fall of New Labour (Hardcover)
This book shows exactly why we need to kick these labour hopless people out of office. The expose of the finanacial cris is breathtaking showing how little the general public knew of the complex world of interactive finace and how easily it could have brought us all disater whic was only adverted by printing money which will keep us in debt for at least the next 25 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Living history, 30 Oct. 2010
By 
M. Fowle (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The End of the Party (Paperback)
Read casually and superficially, this is entertaining stuff. The accounts of Gordon Brown's abysmal behaviour certainly caught the headlines. When you look a little closer, however, the constant interposing of Mr Rawnsley appears both vain and raises questions about his independence - if leading Labour politicians were so ready to talk to him, was it because they knew he would be sympathetic? Whereas Labour always seems to have underlying principles, the impression is given that the Tories are completely amoral - just positioning themselves for electoral advantage. Just one example, they are said to support Blair over academies simply to embarrass the government. But in office they have pressed ahead with a reform they truly believe in. Overall it's worth reading but not worth keeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The End of the Party: The Rise and Fall of New Labour
The End of the Party: The Rise and Fall of New Labour by Andrew Rawnsley (Hardcover - 1 Mar. 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews