Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ulms and Uhms.
Like everyone around him, Paul O'Rourke is totally dependent on his 'me-machine' - his phone - yet he professes to despise technology, refusing even to have a website for his successful Park Avenue dental practice. When an unknown person launches a site for his business, Paul is deeply disturbed and this is further exacerbated when his alter-ego starts tweeting bizarre...
Published 7 months ago by Sue Kichenside

versus
28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could do better....
Paul O’Rourke runs a successful New York dental practice, where he makes plenty of money but finds himself alone and without meaning in his life. An atheist, he still yearns for a religious community to be part of. Single and still in love with his ex-girlfriend, he longs to connect with other people but finds himself adrift. Searching for something larger and...
Published 7 months ago by Amanda Jenkinson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ulms and Uhms., 23 Jun. 2014
By 
Sue Kichenside - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: To Rise Again at a Decent Hour (Hardcover)
Like everyone around him, Paul O'Rourke is totally dependent on his 'me-machine' - his phone - yet he professes to despise technology, refusing even to have a website for his successful Park Avenue dental practice. When an unknown person launches a site for his business, Paul is deeply disturbed and this is further exacerbated when his alter-ego starts tweeting bizarre religious messages in his name. Identity theft or schizophrenia? And which is the more scary?

Joshua Ferris is a fine writer and I loved his debut about office life: And Then We Came to the End. Here, Ferris seems to be wanting to say something deeply significant about God, religion and atheism but he goes about it in a rather weird way. He invents (I assume invents) a heretofore unknown religious group called the Ulms who believe in doubt. (Perhaps he should have called them the Uhms.)

This is an intriguing proposition but unfortunately Ferris proceeds in a manner that rather reminded me of Howard Jacobson at his most long-winded, particularly the over-rated Booker-winning 'The Finkler Question' and the narrative seems to lose focus and purpose. There is much talk of cantonments and Cantaveticles, Amalekites and sundry lost biblical tribes. Rather a shame as the initial premise had been so promising but Ferris treats the reader to some rather wonderful jokes along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could do better...., 19 Jun. 2014
By 
Amanda Jenkinson "MandyJ" (Cheltenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Paul O’Rourke runs a successful New York dental practice, where he makes plenty of money but finds himself alone and without meaning in his life. An atheist, he still yearns for a religious community to be part of. Single and still in love with his ex-girlfriend, he longs to connect with other people but finds himself adrift. Searching for something larger and beyond his day-to-day existence, he soon tires of everything he tries.
Then one day his life is turned upside down when he discovers that he has an online stalker, a mysterious figure who sets up a web site for the practice and opens a Facebook page and a Twitter account in Pauls’ name, and starts to use Paul’s identity to proselytise for an obscure religious sect called the Ulms, the secret descendants of the Amalekites, a lost biblical tribe. Paul is desperate to find out who is doing this to him, and why. What happens next is both unexpected and intriguing.
This original and very funny novel is immensely engaging and thought-provoking. Paul is a wonderful character, and his frustrations with the modern world will strike a chord with many readers. Ferris has an acute ear for the way real people talk, and there are some wonderful passages of dialogue. The descriptions of Paul and his dentistry and the parade of wonderfully sketched in patients who come to consult him are a real joy. And Paul’s own existential quest to find meaning in his life makes him understandable and empathetic. There’s so much that is very good indeed about this quirky and unconventional novel and at first I really loved it.
Unfortunately, it weakens the further on it goes. The biblical part about the Ulms becomes tedious after a while, and some of Paul’s adventures become less believable. There are some sub-plots that don’t integrate well into the novel as a whole, and the inevitable baseball passages (can an American novel get by without referencing baseball?) seem out of place. So by the end I was beginning to skip bits and just wanting to finish. This is a shame, as the book started with so much promise.
However, overall Ferris is a really talented writer and the good just about outweighs the bad in this funny and very different novel of our troubled times. For all my reservations, I heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts so well but then loses its way, 14 Oct. 2014
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I am struggling to write a review of this book. I am struggling to even summarise the plot. It's about Paul O'Rourke, a misanthropic dentist in his late 30s. His childhood was traumatic and his three serious relationships have all ended in disaster. He has a fascination with religion and a yearning for the sense of belonging that it represents, but he is also a devout atheist.

One day Paul discovers that someone has set up a website for his dentistry practice. Whoever has done it knows things about him that he has never shared with anyone. Gradually, "Paul O'Rourke" builds an online presence, mostly talking about a long ago people called the Amalekites who appeared in Genesis as arch enemies of the Jewish people. He is also contacted by someone who insists that he is in fact a descendant of the Amalekites himself.

This is a very uneven book in tone. It starts out being quite light-hearted, even laugh out loud funny. Paul is prone to very long rants about what he sees as being the problems in the world. At times paragraphs can go for five pages in length. I kept skipping through these and then realising that a revelation was buried in the middle and having to go back and re-read sections. I really enjoyed the first third of the book.

However then it gets bogged down with the history of the Amalekites and Paul's thoughts on religion. I read a review online where the reviewer said that they gave up on it around page 175, and there were several moments after that when I thought wistfully how much time they had saved. The parts I liked the most were the impact of everything that was happening on the people that Paul works with, but this was only a small part of the story.

I didn't hate this book, but I am baffled by a world in which this makes the Booker Prize shortlist and The Goldfinch doesn't even get nominated. For me, this book was entirely forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great protagonist, funny writing, but I didn't like the direction the story took, 29 May 2014
By 
K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A quarter through, I'd have given this 5 stars. At the end, I'd have said 3. So I've compromised and it's really a 3.5 star read for me.

So much promise - Dr Paul O'Rourke is a wonderful creation. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the world of the dentist through his self-absorbed eyes. He's a bundle of contradictions - hating technology but can't live without his 'me-machine' (phone), avowed atheist but willing to consider religion for a woman. A complex character, Paul is a successful dentist but not a success with women, who he gets obsessed with and then can't live without when the relationship fails. He observes strict rituals for each Red Sox game he watches.

This techno-hater is affronted one day to discover that someone has created (without permission) a website for his dental practice. And is starting to spout opinions under the name of Dr Paul O'Rourke. These opinions seem to have a religious bent and Paul drives himself mad searching for the culprit. Why is someone doing this to him? And what are these Ulms they talk about?

This is where it started losing its interest for me. I was quite happy to follow Paul in his quirky little world. I wasn't interested in some quasi-religious plot. Paul kept me reading but I didn't enjoy it as much after that.

I just didn't quite understand what Ferris was trying to do with Paul. Religious conspiracies aren't my cup of tea and I didn't like how the author pushed Paul through the story.

There is lots throughout to enjoy. Paul's past entanglements with women are fun. His scenes in the surgery are hilarious. He frequently forgets what he's doing and says unusual things to staff and customers. I love it when he finds himself unsure what he's meant to be doing to one mouth and tries to guess based on the instruments he has out.

The writing is good, I've not read any Joshua Ferris before and would consider trying more, if the stories interested me. But I didn't like the ending, not where I would have wanted to take the character.

Unusual story, setting and characters. Quirky and lots of fun to be had but the direction of the story won't interest everyone.

Review of a Netgalley advance copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor writing, clunky structure, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How this ever got shortlisted for the Mann Booker is beyond me. Poor writing, clunky structure, cardboard characters, preposterous storyline and vacuous philosophising. I often thought of abandoning it but kept thinking that there had to be some redeeming twist or resolution at the end. Imagine my disappointment ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than a trip to the dentist but doesn't merit a crown, 4 Jan. 2015
Boston Red Sox fan Dr Paul C O’Rourke is a Manhattan dentist, aided by his god-fearing hygienist Betsy, bohemian dental nurse Abby and jaded receptionist (and ex-girlfriend) Connie, for whom he carries a complicated cocktail of unresolved feelings. His fragile relationship with life is defined by his desire for acceptance on both personal and professional levels, his obsessive-compulsive adherence to superstition (despite watching every single Red Sox game, he always avoids the sixth inning) and his unwavering conviction about the importance of healthy teeth and gums.

Paul’s world is shaken when an unknown person sets up a professional website in his name, using it as a vehicle for the promotion of religious ramblings entirely at odds with Paul’s efforts to integrate himself with the Catholic and Jewish communities whose structures and belief systems he envies, despite his own lack of faith. The trail leads, via some uppity in-laws and a billionaire with a spiritual identity crisis, to the reclusive leader of a cult with claims of biblical origin. Paul’s outrage at the sentiments proffered online in his name is driven more by concern over his public image rather than any explicit incompatibility with his own views; indeed, they ultimately serve to question his reasons for his beliefs and the way he chooses to live his life.

This book presents several challenges to the reader, and your response to reading it may depend to a large extent on your desire to overcome them. For one, the lead character, through whom the tale is related, is often distant and curiously unlikeable despite any sympathy you may feel for his plight. For another, it’s never quite clear what the author intends this book to be – what starts as a light-hearted study of unlikely companions and their judgemental families yields to a personal sermon about religious values and societal acceptance, with its identity theft hook at times feeling like an irrelevant subplot. The author’s intellectual voice can occasionally feel a little contemptuous of its audience on account of its slightly smug educational tone, most keenly observed in the latter stages where the exploration of Jewish tradition and culture causes the story to stall. More positively, the author’s honesty in the recollection of his characters’ interactions and the fulfilment of their relationships is refreshing, although the weak conclusion means that the central theme of courage in one’s own beliefs fails to convince.

As with so many other works lauded by prize committees, this is beautifully observed yet not always a joy to read; to borrow some of the author’s own metaphors, it’s less a day at the ball park than an expensive artwork in need of expert appreciation. Pithy, yes, and there are some amusing moments even if the promises of hilarity from some excitable reviewers may be exaggerated. Without denying its virtues, the story somehow lacks a heart - and its characters have all the warmth of a winter’s evening in the Manhattan streets surrounding Paul C. O’Rourke’s dental practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I think you might like this read, 25 Oct. 2014
By 
K. M. Newitt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want to delve into atheism, judaism, catholicism and baseball, I think you might like this read. But that is not my scene so I was disappointed with this book. I couldn't really see where the plot was going. It rambled a bit too much for me. I wasn't sympathetic to the (well defined) characters, especially the dentist. But I did enjoy the style of writing when set in the dentist office. The conversations with Betsy were very entertaining, not so much content but style - she asked me ... I told her. reader gets his answers in detail via her responses - that was fun. However, I wouldn't recommend the book because I'm still not quite sure of its point of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great beginning to this, the protagonist is hilarious and really well written...I must say the book sags a little in the middle when pages of religious scripture are brought in, these were hard to read and difficult to link to the rest of the book. A few people have said they didn't like the direction the book takes which I can semi agree with..I felt like I was missing something by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Becoming more like God, 19 Aug. 2014
By 
MisterHobgoblin (Melbourne) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dr Paul C O'Rourke DDS is a New York dentist. He's brash, he's arrogant and he's got a view on pretty much everything. He has a failed relationship with his practice manager Connie and an unhealthy obsession with the Boston Red Sox.

In this comic novel, O'Rourke initially comes across as a 50 something dinosaur, taking pride in his technophobia, eschewing the internet and popular culture. As the narrative goes on, however, it seems that O'Rourke is more likely to be in his 30s and not quite as ruddy ruddy as he makes out. Nevertheless, it is a surprise to him when he finds his dental practice has developed a website that focuses as much on some obscure religious tracts as on the dentistry. What follows is a bizarre and comic take of finding out who is posting the material and why.

This all provides a great backdrop for analysing O'Rourke's own hollow, lonely existence and his failed relationships. Despite his atheism, O'Rourke seems to have flirted with Judaism in an effort to get closer to Connie and her family. Hence, he has a conflicted reaction to the religious content of his hacked website: on the one hand he is appalled, whilst on the other hand he is intrigued. There's quite a lot of philosophy, a lot of metaphysics, most of it spurious but interspersed with dental anecdotes and meetings with one of America's richest men. The dental anecdotes are hilarious and I especially loved the one about the disgruntled customer and the cave dwellers.

It's difficult to categorise Decent Hour. It's not so much about the story as about the voice. Whether you get on with it depends totally on whether or not you get on with O'Rourke's narration. In this sense, it's a bit like James Kelman. Fortunately I loved the voice, even though O'Rourke is a supercilious, snivelling wretch who would not be fit to polish my shoes, let alone polish my teeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some excellent stand-up, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ferris is a very good comic writer. I loved much of the stuff around the dental practice and his relationship with his co-workers and the Red Sox. At its best, it's like fast-paced stand-up, but it's glib too - for instance, he talks about New York being the cultural capital of the world, including "all the best theatres". Come on! In reality, all O'Rourke does culturally is work flat out on Park Avenue so that he can barge his way into expensive restaurants. Let's not confuse fancy food with culture! What kills the book though is the dead weight of religious investigation. The captured identity on internet and twitter is potentially interesting but not the Ulms! They don't fit O'Rourke's lightweight sensibility
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To Rise Again at a Decent Hour
To Rise Again at a Decent Hour by Joshua Ferris (Hardcover - 29 May 2014)
£14.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews