Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Admirable women
I loved this book. The stories Virginia Nicholson has discovered of women who could never marry, or who did not want to marry, are inspiring and often moving. From the women whose fiancees or husbands were killed in WWI to the women who had never wanted to marry at all but had felt under pressure from society to do so, these women all had to create a life for themselves...
Published on 9 Oct 2007 by Lynette Baines

versus
22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and well researched
Narrates with touching compassion a story too little understood or remembered in the modern day.

It's only flawed in the end by its unrelentingly optimismic view of human nature and almost total faith in progress, which appears to have a religious basis. All lost fiancees, who died in the war here were Boys Own style stalwarts, fair and true for example; with...
Published on 17 Oct 2007 by Time Traveller


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My non-fiction book of the year, 20 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singled Out: How Two Million Women Survived without Men After the First World War (Hardcover)
A very moving read. Diverse, fascinating and incredibly worthwhile. Also inspiring. Virginia Nicholson has made an excellent job of bringing to light, and to life, some of the stories of the two million women in the book's title. I have already recommended it to lots of friends and will definitely be giving a few copies for Christmas. Anyone with an interest in C20th social history will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Out of what, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singled Out: (Paperback)
My wife liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intersting book - too long, 25 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Singled Out: (Paperback)
I found the book rather chatty. Some key messages/topics were repeated too often for my taste - I even got bored at times. For example the author kept stressing the fact that it was hard for a woman without a male provider to keep herself, especially in a time when women's job opportunities were rare. I felt as if this statement appeared on every page. If the author had shortened some chapters, and kept the writing more concise, it would have been a better book.
Altogether, I'd buy the book again. It makes an interesting reading, and reminds today's women that their rights have been hard fought for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is not a novel, and the typeface in the penguin edition is too small to read., 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singled Out: (Paperback)
I'm a couple of chapters in and find that this isn't a novel but a history book. The print is also tiny and difficult to read, and so I may not make it to the end. It is a powerful and important subject, and some of the points have stuck with me, but I was hoping for a story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nothing new, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
sadly there was nothing in this book that if you sat and thought you couldn't have worked out for yourself without paying for it. Mainly factual without bringing in much of the human touch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singled Out: (Paperback)
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barbara, 9 July 2008
By 
B. Flowerdew "Bookish" (Hertford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singled Out: (Paperback)
I was eagerly awaiting this ore-ordered book but found it largely disappointing. There was insufficient writing/analysis about anything other than the upper classes and it would have been much more fascinating to have learnt more about the women in this country in general and their ways of accepting their "...survival without men after WW1".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars women and fate, 25 Aug 2007
By 
L. Thomas (buckingham england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singled Out: How Two Million Women Survived without Men After the First World War (Hardcover)
This book is currently being read in an abridged form on Radio 4, this is where I first caught up with it. It has raised my awareness of the issues women faced during and after the Great War, and the loss of so many men in the country served its part in the creation of the emergent roles for women. Yes, I had heard of 'blue stockings' etc., but had not connected up with the lack of 'men to marry' problems, in an age when women felt this to be their only available role; wife and mother. Interesting to consider the changes this war brought for women against today's world where some women are still force fed to be suitably fat for marriage and imprisoned in shrines. What's good for the goose?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So boring, 21 Mar 2009
This review is from: Singled Out: (Paperback)
I read (or tried to read) this book for my book club. It was one of the most boring books I have ever read. Just one short piece of information after another. Some of the stories about some of the women went from one chapter to another in a really "bitty" style and it was difficult to remember who they were. The most disappointing feature of the book was that there was very little political or sociological comment or analysis by the author. She didn't seem to think it important to mention that the reason women were (and sometimes still are) treated in certain ways is about sexual politics. As a woman who was involved in feminism in the 70's and who spent a lot of energy finding out about women's 'place' and also reading in real depth about some of the wonderful women featured in this book, I was shocked at the trivial approach. I threw it away after reading one third of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'like new', 23 Feb 2011
By 
K. Fletcher - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singled Out: How Two Million Women Survived without Men After the First World War (Hardcover)
The book arrived very promptly, however, the seller said the book
was 'like new' and was highly priced for a second hand book. When the book arrived
it was VERY well read, I have several used books which are in a 100% better
condition than this book. I will never buy a sceond hand book again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singled Out: How Two Million Women Survived without Men After the First World War
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews