Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Admirable women
I loved this book. The stories Virginia Nicholson has discovered of women who could never marry, or who did not want to marry, are inspiring and often moving. From the women whose fiancees or husbands were killed in WWI to the women who had never wanted to marry at all but had felt under pressure from society to do so, these women all had to create a life for themselves...
Published on 9 Oct. 2007 by Lynette Baines

versus
22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and well researched
Narrates with touching compassion a story too little understood or remembered in the modern day.

It's only flawed in the end by its unrelentingly optimismic view of human nature and almost total faith in progress, which appears to have a religious basis. All lost fiancees, who died in the war here were Boys Own style stalwarts, fair and true for example; with...
Published on 17 Oct. 2007 by Time Traveller


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A very moving book..., 21 Sept. 2008
By 
C. Ball (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Singled Out: How Two Million Women Survived without Men After the First World War (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book - very moving and touching in places, very inspiring and admirable in others. It's about the generation born just before the turn of the century, who were raised to believe that being a wife and mother should be the sum total of their ambitions and then found after WWI that there simply weren't enough men to go around and most of them would never marry. It's about how they faced that, how some rose above the difficulty to become leaders of their sex, how many entered public life and fought against male prejudice, and how in the end it's likely that the war and the two million 'surplus women' actually hastened the equal rights movement and the equality of the sexes. A very very good book and one every woman should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books about the effects of the First World War, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singled Out: (Paperback)
One of the best books about the effects of the First World War.As a child these women played a big part in my life,all single and very caring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It seems if you were quite 'well off' you coped pretty well, but not so the 'not so well ..., 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was very interesting how the ordinary girl of that time & the quite well off girls managed their lives being single.
It seems if you were quite 'well off' you coped pretty well, but not so the 'not so well off' The normal working families who were what were called 'working class' were very judgemental towards these poor girls, even up to the 60's . It was a very interesting book & would be a good idea for school children to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 8 May 2010
This review is from: Singled Out: (Paperback)
I had high hopes of this book because it is such a fascinating topic so rarely touched on; the aftermath of WW1 is a rich subject usually looked at from the political and economic perspective. My problem with the book was that it was a little too much in the way of "popular history" without enough background to enrich it. I am being harsh and I have read much around post war history so maybe the problem is mine - I just think it needed more depth - i found it too superficial. It was oral history written up without the academic investigation - it would make wonderful tv or radio. Anyone inspired to read more on the aftermath of the war on society should seek out Arthur Marwick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So near, yet so far away from perfection..., 30 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Singled Out: (Paperback)
As Virginia Nicholson righly points out, many of the women left without men following WW1 were often forgotton about or viewed as a problem. Ms Nicholson has done a wonderful job of describing both the achievements of these women and the prejudices they faced. The book is extremely well-researched - the author has sought out survivors of this period, and reached into diaries, letters, news reports, literature, problem pages, etc.

However, the book feels like a missed opportunity. The women's stories are rarely accompanied by any critical analysis or historical background - the book often descends into hero worship. I would have also appreciated biographies of some of the key individuals in the book.

This book is certainly worth reading for anyone interested in the topic, but it left me wanting to know more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The easy writing style makes this book a really good read, 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singled Out: (Paperback)
I thought this book would be really depressing, but Virginia Nicholson describes how it wasn't all doom and gloom for the young women left behind after World War 1. This book charts how many women went on to have successful careers and how, without them, women today would probably not be quite so liberated. The easy writing style makes this book a really good read. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Singled Out - Birginia Nicholson, 21 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singled Out: (Paperback)
This I bought for myself - it is just the sort of book I read and look forward to doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 13 Jun. 2008
By 
Kim (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singled Out: (Paperback)
This is a fascinating book. I could not put it down. It is so beautifully and accessibly written with such intriguing and poignant real life stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read for all women., 18 Jan. 2015
By 
EMC (UK, Singapore, Chennai) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Singled Out: (Paperback)
Insight into the impact of war on the lives of women told through individual stories. A fascinating, if simplified, read for all women. One to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to follow and I would have liked more of s storyline, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Too many facts and figures. Difficult to follow and I would have liked more of s storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singled Out: How Two Million Women Survived without Men After the First World War
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews