Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you know the way to San Jose.
I bought this at Heathrow before travelling to California for a holiday. Perfect. A great perspective on the commercialism of the American dream as seen from the world's biggest used car lot in San Jose, CA. A story about ordinary sales folk that should be filmed with Robert Carlyle playing the lead. It would make a latterday chrome fendered Glengarry Glenross.
Published on 29 Nov 2002 by Not Swiss Tony

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly entertaining
This sat on my shelf for over a year before, having run out of reading material, I finally gave it a go. What a delayed pleasure! Nothing much happens - the author sells cars; other people sell cars; we learn a little about pretensions in Silicon Valley - but the book is written with an entertaining turn of phrase which makes the last chapter's phoney epiphany pretty much...
Published on 17 Feb 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you know the way to San Jose., 29 Nov 2002
I bought this at Heathrow before travelling to California for a holiday. Perfect. A great perspective on the commercialism of the American dream as seen from the world's biggest used car lot in San Jose, CA. A story about ordinary sales folk that should be filmed with Robert Carlyle playing the lead. It would make a latterday chrome fendered Glengarry Glenross.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you've ever worked in sales you'll know!, 26 Sep 2002
By 
M. A. Carp "Tony Carp" (Merry Olde England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very funny tale of a bass player turned journalist fulfilling a dream to move to America, after a chance meeting with an old friend from university, who had started his own company in silicon valley.
On meeting his prospective colleagues, he decides he does not want the relatively easy life and decides to try out as used car salesman at the same place he bought a car, a couple of days earlier.
This is a tale of one man trying to grasp the American dream and the salesman of the month award and those who would have it for themselves.
This book is extremely well written and in my opinion it's only drawback is that I wish there had been a hundred pages more of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly entertaining, 17 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This sat on my shelf for over a year before, having run out of reading material, I finally gave it a go. What a delayed pleasure! Nothing much happens - the author sells cars; other people sell cars; we learn a little about pretensions in Silicon Valley - but the book is written with an entertaining turn of phrase which makes the last chapter's phoney epiphany pretty much forgiveable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, good read., 31 Mar 2014
By 
M. D. Budd (Buxton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: California Dreaming: A Smooth-running, Low-mileage, Cut-price American Adventure (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this, Lawrence has an easy flowing writing style and, !joy! he writes great dialogue. The book is a very interesting take on aspects of the american dream, and the knife edge life that so many people seem to live on over there. I appreciated his take on the almost evangelical fervour the sales staff bring to the seemingly mundane job of selling cars, this is beautifully counter-balanced by the last few pages. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An easy read, 29 May 2013
By 
traveller (stirling, scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: California Dreaming: A Smooth-running, Low-mileage, Cut-price American Adventure (Paperback)
Having read other chronicles of Lawrence Donegan's various (mis)adventures, I was looking forward to this but it left me a bit dissatisfied. While it was easy to read, and generated some smiles and a few laughs, overall I found it a bit disappointing and a bit 'superficial'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little gem, 26 Oct 2009
This review is from: California Dreaming: A Smooth-running, Low-mileage, Cut-price American Adventure (Paperback)
A book about selling second hand cars in California, which you may well have come across in second hand bookshop somewhere. Mr Donegan has written a couple of quirky, autobiographical books now and generally they're worth a look. This is a light, readable account of his experiences in the unforgiving world of the used car salesman. It's amusing rather than laugh-out-loud but an enjoyable look at this slice of America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book from Scotty Scott, the Scotsman from Scotland, 22 May 2002
By 
Gareth Brown (Istanbul, Istanbul Turkey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: California Dreaming: A Smooth-running, Low-mileage, Cut-price American Adventure (Paperback)
Better than Bryson. One edition of this book is listed under Travel/Holiday whilst another is catalogued as Biography. That is the difference. Bryson is a traveller - who is on holiday. This is Donegan's life. And because he spends more time with people you get a better insight into the places he visits. Europe from a caddy's bag, rural Ireland from a local newspaper & California from a second hand (pre-owned)car lot. Come on Bill, tour Britain as a bass player with the Bluebells & write Notes from a small mini-Van?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 11 Oct 2001
By 
Mark D Taylor (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: California Dreaming: A Smooth-running, Low-mileage, Cut-price American Adventure (Paperback)
I picked this up in Newcastle airport and found it hard to put down. Everyone should be a used car salesman at some stage in their life. I was and enjoyed the book, it's a very easy read which brings out a few chuckles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

California Dreaming: A Smooth-running, Low-mileage, Cut-price American Adventure
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews