Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace!
Classic reference book and supposedly up there with the Bible and Complete Works of Shakespeare in terms of sales, though somewhat more useful. Handy tool to relieve writers block once you have mastered the way it works. Prefer this edition to the more modern ones.
Published on 19 Dec 2009 by J. V. Schofield

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars better service
it is older version than I expected at doesn't halve the words that I am looking for. the one I had before was a 1oo% better
Published 11 months ago by patricia felloni


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace!, 19 Dec 2009
By 
Classic reference book and supposedly up there with the Bible and Complete Works of Shakespeare in terms of sales, though somewhat more useful. Handy tool to relieve writers block once you have mastered the way it works. Prefer this edition to the more modern ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brother over the moon!, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was purchased for an elderly brother to replace one he had had for years. He was not only pleased with the excellent condition but delighted that the type is larger making it easier to use!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars better service, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it is older version than I expected at doesn't halve the words that I am looking for. the one I had before was a 1oo% better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roget, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. D. L. Day (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Roget's Thesaurus is an essential addition to ones library when looking for a nuance on a meaning. I bought this for an Italian cousin who is involved in translating from Italian into English. I hope it doesn't confuse her more than help her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest books ever in the english language, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not simply a thesaurus, Roget's system is a map of the human mind. You can release what you already know with this book, it is a source of power - and that is no hyperbole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases, 1 Aug 2011
I like the format as it helps you to extend your thoughts on a subject, whether writing a book or just doing your homework!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases (Viking Longman Reference)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews