Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep your six-year old enthralled time after time...
A small italian boy is kidnapped by brigands. His only hope of dealing with The Mighty Chief and his motley gang is to keep them entertained with his storytelling. The various characters are built up beautifully and the illustrations are first rate. You can practice your corny Italian English to your hearts content and I don't think you or your child will tire of it - a...
Published on 3 July 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE: Not the right edition!
My two boys (now over 25) remember this as THE BEST EVER childrens' book, so I wanted to buy one to await my grandson's arrival.
BUT I was really disappointed to find it was only a normal sized paperback. (I brought Burglar Bill and Cops'n'Robbers at the same time - they were both the proper 10" x 8" versions).
Don't get me wrong - it's a wonderful story -...
Published 21 months ago by JonM


Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep your six-year old enthralled time after time..., 3 July 2001
By A Customer
A small italian boy is kidnapped by brigands. His only hope of dealing with The Mighty Chief and his motley gang is to keep them entertained with his storytelling. The various characters are built up beautifully and the illustrations are first rate. You can practice your corny Italian English to your hearts content and I don't think you or your child will tire of it - a favourite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem, 28 Jan 2009
What an absolute gem! A narrative that weaves story making and story telling together. A tale of a small, lost boy, trying to entertain 'fierce' brigands with a story that will both entertain and boost the ego of a posturing pirate chief. Great fun, and such an opportunity for 'in-role' reading. The listeners,(brigands)of the tale respond to how the lost boy includes them in the story. They listen with increasing discomfort as their story alter-egos challenge the pirate chief - something they would not do in 'real-life'. He, in turn, reacts as if they had really challenged his authority. The story unfolds as the brigands actions are reflected simultaneously in the lost boy's narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE: Not the right edition!, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My two boys (now over 25) remember this as THE BEST EVER childrens' book, so I wanted to buy one to await my grandson's arrival.
BUT I was really disappointed to find it was only a normal sized paperback. (I brought Burglar Bill and Cops'n'Robbers at the same time - they were both the proper 10" x 8" versions).
Don't get me wrong - it's a wonderful story - actually all about telling stories - but this is NOT the edition you want!!
Hunt around and get your kids a copy of the original Picture Puffin - much bigger, much better illustations - and then enjoy that: by comparison, this version is really weedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely funny book, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, lovely angle on an old story... funny, unexpected and great to read to children. Mine loved it and keep asking me to read it to them. I recommend it for any occasion especially bedtime reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read aloud, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought to replace family favourite copy which has long disappeared, great story to read aloud and do differnt characters' voices, not sure if it is the adults or the children who enjoy it most! An enduring favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Was a Dark and Stormy Night (Picture Puffin) - Allan Ahlberg, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gift for grand-daughter. Loves the Ahlberg books and thought this was 'scary but very funny'. Has read it that often than she can now repeat it, word for word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice story with good illustrations, 25 Oct 2014
It was a dark and stormy night....
Very nice story with good illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Aug 2014
Just what I expected from Janet Ahlberg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fun stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It Was a Dark and Stormy Night (Viking Kestrel picture books)
It Was a Dark and Stormy Night (Viking Kestrel picture books) by Allan Ahlberg (Hardcover - 7 Oct 1993)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews