Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Left me wanting more..., 25 May 2010
By 
James Carter (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Audacity to Win, The (Hardcover)
Without doubt an insightful and interesting account of the 2008 Obama campaign right from the beginning and who better to hear it from but the campaign manager himself. Plouffe isn't shy about recounting the mistakes he and the team made and also touches on some of the strategy and reasoning for the some of the brilliant decisions made during the run up to November 2008.

However after reading this book I do feel slightly under-fulfilled... Plouffe talks in great detail about the importance of money and the power it played in the campaign but in other areas he does seem to skip and that left me wanting me. Obviously a minute by minute account would fill volumes but I'm hoping Plouffe will come back and write some more once Obama's out of office in 2017!

Anyone interested in American Presidential campaigns and Obama's journey should make sure they read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive diary on the Obama campaign, 1 Mar 2010
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Audacity to Win, The (Hardcover)
President Barack Obama's historic political campaign deserves to be studied for its innovative organization, volunteer effort, fundraising and use of technology. But it is also a compelling story about an unlikely candidate and the highly motivated expert team that pulled off one of the greatest game-changing upsets in U.S. political history. Obama campaign manager David Plouffe (rhymes with "bluff") has written a diary-like firsthand account that delivers insights and perspectives previously known only to insiders. While he tells his story chronologically, the suspense builds as internal and external opponents battle and fall by the wayside. getAbstract recommends this engrossing David-and-Goliath story to leaders, political aficionados, technology and media buffs, and anyone interested in overcoming huge odds to become a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Audacity to Win, 10 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Audacity to Win, The (Hardcover)
An amazing book, a surprisingly intimate and honest discription of the Obama '08 campaign. Easy to read (even if English is not your first language)and by no means boring.
Read it! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and detailed, 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: Audacity to Win, The (Hardcover)
This book is all that it claims to be and then some. It is really detailed (but not in a heavy kind of way), and really gives a good look into the world of campaigning. This will surely be the blueprint for American politicians in future campaigns.

There is also just enough private moments with Obama to make this interesting and also give a glimpse of his great work ethic, high standard morals and powerful but pragmatic personality.

Very good book and surprisingly easy to read for the subject matter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who better!, 11 Feb 2010
By 
LouLou (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audacity to Win, The (Hardcover)
Who better to write a book about the 2008 Presidential campaign than Barack Obama's campaign manager, David Plouffe!

I do love all things Obama, and have read a number of books about the campaign, but this has definitely been the best. It provides an intimate, insiders view of what really went on in the campaign. Plouffe not only describes how he thinks they won both the democratic candidacy and subsequently the presidential election, but is also honest enough to scrutinise the mistakes and mishaps that they had as well. He doesn't just stick to talking about the campaign either but additionally talks about the impact that it had on his personal life- this was something that i think was a good twist and definitely humanizes the book (beware the dog story if you're feeling emotional!!)

David Plouffe ran an amazing and historic campaign, building up an extraordinary amount of volunteers and utilising this grassroots idea to full effectivness. As David Axelrod states, 'Plouffe is the unsung hero... (He has) an unparalleled understanding of the (campaign) process, which proved absolutely critical.'

So if you are as big an Obama anorak/ supporter as i am, then this is a must read- i very much recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 3 Jan 2010
By 
Ali Baba (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Audacity to Win, The (Hardcover)
A very good read that gives behind the scene occurences before,during and after Obama's election. I'm sure the Republican party will research it thoroughly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good view of campaign politics, 14 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audacity to Win, The (Hardcover)
Like most of the other reviews, this book is a good account of the Obama election machine. The main downside of the book is the fact that Plouffe doesn't have a very charismatic personality.

At some points in the book he sounds very cold towards his own staff and the 'fist bump' moments between him and Obama are cringe worthy.

If you love american politics, this is a great read. Just don't expect to love the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant - must read account, 29 Dec 2009
By 
M. Finnegan (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Audacity to Win, The (Hardcover)
Probably the best inside account of the Obama campaign. Superlative read - and very funny at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Audacity to Win, 25 Jan 2010
By 
Darcly (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Audacity to Win, The (Hardcover)
Couldn't find this in any book store in the UK. It was a gift and I've been informed a v good read! Arrived v promptly as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Audacity to Win, The
Audacity to Win, The by David Plouffe (Hardcover - 3 Dec 2009)
Used & New from: 0.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews