Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is life one long loaf?
As a breadaholic I rather wish this book had sailed by under my radar but perhaps it was meant to be?

It is easy to read, even for a non-scientist (like myself), and contains all the latest research findings of diet and nutrition which may well prompt even a casual reader to adopt a radical change to their daily food habits.

The authors explain the...
Published on 16 Nov 2010 by Angus Mac

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit technical and long winded but very informative
A useful book but I found it a bit too scientific and technical for my personal liking but it is informative and tells it how it is. Low carb diets make great sense and this is a good read for anyone thinking of following a healthier lifestyle - just not one of the best ones I have read but worth considering..
Published 8 months ago by goin2improve


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is life one long loaf?, 16 Nov 2010
This review is from: Life Without Bread: How a Low-Carbohydrate Diet Can Save Your Life (Paperback)
As a breadaholic I rather wish this book had sailed by under my radar but perhaps it was meant to be?

It is easy to read, even for a non-scientist (like myself), and contains all the latest research findings of diet and nutrition which may well prompt even a casual reader to adopt a radical change to their daily food habits.

The authors explain the dangers of the Western diet in which refined carbohydrates have disproportionally supplanted our protein and vegetable intake to a frightening degree over the past century, prompting the explosion in obesity and Type 2 diabetes which the medical profession is now struggling to reverse.

Following the tips contained in this excellent book, I lowered my carbohydrate intake to 10% and upped my protein over six days and lost 8 pounds without starving or getting off my couch!

So there's food for thought...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 72 grams vs becoming ill..., 2 Jun 2012
By 
Mark Stipanovsky (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Without Bread: How a Low-Carbohydrate Diet Can Save Your Life (Paperback)
Life without bread is one of the best, most comprehensive books on changing the way we eat I have come across...

Limit your carbohydrate intake is becoming more and more "normal" to hear because it is helpful advice that actually works on many different levels...

What isn't "normal" advice is the reality of carbohydrate as a food group. All carbohydrate is seen and processed by the body as sugar including the "5 a day" healthy fruit and vegetable advice...

Also what isn't normal advice is the reality that you can eat anything and become better and weight loss is normally a side effect of better principles around eating behaviour.

72 grammes per day is the cut off point before carbohydrate becomes a problem for the body and it begins to store the excess as fat.

Fat = fat seems simple and is wrong...

We use grains to "fatten" animals and yet most people cannot make the connection in their own life. Maybe this is due in part to unhelpful official advice, ongoing food company marketing and maybe even due to the "addictiveness" of genetically modified wheat... And to be honest, the average person just needs some helpful advice and doesn't want to believe that such a "staple food" such as bread has become so problematic...

And that most pre-packaged food contain carbohydrate - take out the fat for so-called health reasons and replace with... Sugar aka carbohydrate...

There is more sugar in your "healthy jacket potato" than in a mars bar...

"Give us today our daily bread".... And limit my intake to 72 grammes or less...

This book would benefit from a different title as life without bread is actually about "life limiting bread" rather than "cutting it out completely" and it has really helpful advice scattered throughout the book.

If you are currently struggling with health issues of any kind then I would set aside 3 or 4 hours and see if you can devour this book in one session. Buy it as a reference book and use a highlighter pen and this will definitely help you on your wellness journey because it has so many reasons "why" 72 grammes is helpful - and 72 rather than 62 or 82 is where we come unstuck - just pretend 72 is the magic number and see what happens... (This number isn't a guess - it's based on clinical results from measuring the blood glucose curves in patients who were insulin resistant.)

PS. I bought this book because of a skin complaint my 14 year old has - Wheat Belly is another book I have bought - and limiting my son's carb intake has helped when I was told that nothing would help... It's hormonal... It's his age... The medication may take a while to kick in... Maybe we need a different medication... Bullcrap... It's really as simple as certain people's body find our current diet more toxic than others... My son's skin complaint is already 90% better and this is part of an ongoing learning curve...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Low Down On Low Carb, 22 Aug 2004
By 
Peri Urban "periurban" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Without Bread: How a Low-Carbohydrate Diet Can Save Your Life (Paperback)
This book covers a lot of ground that other books have already covered, and makes a persuasive case for low carb dieting. But there are two areas where it sheds new insight that isn't available elsewhere, as far as I know.
Lutz himself has been treating a number of ailments with low carb diets for forty years or so, and has a vast reservoir of experience and data, much of which is shared here.
Furthermore, the book is candid about the fact that low carb dieting is not for everyone. Those over 45 and/or female may not benefit so much from the diet.
The arguments for low carb dieting are well made and realistically put.
It's the best book on low carb I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


113 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eating plan to keep you fit for life!, 7 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Life Without Bread: How a Low-Carbohydrate Diet Can Save Your Life (Paperback)
This is a high level analysis of the health benefits of low carbohydrate eating. It is not primarily a diet plan to lose weight, but an explanation of all the benefits of sticking to a maximum of 72 grams of carbohydrate a day. Though Drs Allan and Lutz have written for the non specialist reader, the book is complicated to follow in all its detail. However, those who stick at it may well find it persuasive, as I did, in the arguments and research to which it appeals. Low Carbohydrate appears to have remarkable health benefits for avoiding or improving Diabetes, Heart Disease, Gastro Intestinal Disorders and even Cancer. There is an easy to follow everyday plan for units of 12 grams of carbohydrate which the authors term "Bread Units". Six of these a day and you have your carbohydrate maximum. There is a chart as an appendix which is a whole lot easier than the average carb counter booklet. This is an ideal book for those completing a low carb diet who want to understand its medical benefits and carry on cutting the sugars for life. A handy book also to give your doctor, should your physician have any doubts about the science involved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars covers wider ground than most low-carb books, 17 April 2010
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Life Without Bread: How a Low-Carbohydrate Diet Can Save Your Life (Paperback)
The authors are clearly highly knowledgeable about low carbohydrate lifestyles. They cover the usual ground plus much more, since this is not a book about weightloss but about health. They prove that carbs play the major role in diseases and that the widely promoted high-carb, low-fat diet is a killer.

Although there doesn't seem to be a logical progression in the book, the ground covered is wide-ranging and their claims are backed by research. Among the fascinating bits of information provided:

* The recommendation to eat large quantities of fruits and vegetables to get your vitamins is wrong - not only do we really get most of them from animal foods but there are many vitamins and important cofactors we ONLY get from animal foods.

* High homocysteine levels are now acknowledged as a reliable marker for poor health and correlate with low levels of vitamins B6, B12 and folic acid: all three vitamins are mainly found in animal foods and green leafy vegetables - that is, only in low-carb foods.

* The dreaded cholesterol is actually a very small risk factor for heart disease and certainly not the causative factor. (How come no one tells us that cholesterol is needed to make most of the hormones in our bodies?!) In fact, a high carb and/or high sugar (including from fruits) intake appears to be directly related to both heart disorders and strokes as well as to diabetes and digestive problems, even bleeding gums.

* A high fat diet does NOT promote cancer, quite the opposite. Eskimos, who ate only fat and protein, never had any cancer until a Western, high-carb, diet was introduced. Dietary-related cancer is a sugar metabolism disease, just like all the others (& ALL carbs become sugar in the body).

* The only hope of keeping up a low-carb nutritional programme is to replace the missing carbs with fat. Yes fat - the good kinds, which have all received suspiciously bad reviews over the last few decades - such as saturated fats like animal fat (including butter and cream), coconut oil and palm kernel oil. The heart primarily uses fat for energy. A high protein but low fat diet will kill you quite quickly. Although this is clearly stated in the book, surprisingly little space is given to fats and this is the main reason I have docked one star: "Trick and Treat" is recommended for a much better coverage of this VERY important area.

Where this book differs from any other on this subject is (at last!) an honest attention to problems that can be created by a low-carb lifestyle and why some people fail to benefit (although I would have liked more information on possible problems, it's refreshing to see anything at all):
* "...reducing carbohydrates is somewhat like eliminating an addictive drug. In the end, there will be great benefit, but the transition may be difficult."
* Cutting out most carbs is much more difficult for an adult or elderly person because of various reactions they are more likely to suffer, and the obese should also start gently; there will always be benefits but there is less likelihood of reversing their diseases.
* Some obese people, particularly women, don't lose any weight at all on a low-carb diet. [a huge proportion are almost certainly suffering from low thyroid - 4+ women to every man.]

[Later note: I turned out to have serious adrenal fatigue and serious low thyroid issues. The thyroid issue had been getting worse for 2 decades, whilst "standard" medicine denied I had either, repeatedly assuring me all their tests "proved" this. If most dieting, including the low carb + HIGH FAT diet doesn't work for you (read "The Art and Science of Low Carbohydrate Living" about what our bodies really need) then you probably need to read `Hypothyroidism Type 2' by Mark Starr which explains how all chronic pain is linked to low thyroid, including those involved with diabetes, heart problems, both bleeding & blood clots (including strokes) and some cancers.

If you have any kind of chronic pain and/or trouble losing weight when seriously trying to (one usually goes with the other), you need to know 1. some are calling low thyroid the silent epidemic (silent because officially denied) and 2. that ALL the standard lab tests are WRONG. The FREE basal (at rest) temperature self-test is THE gold standard for low thyroid problems and - with your symptoms - means more than any lab test (although most conventional doctors won't agree). It will pick up conditions that current lab tests don't, such as thyroid resistance - since there are no lab tests for most causes of low thyroid but your doctor only treats lab tests, not you. The stopthethyroidmadness website has excellent instructions for this self-test, as well as several for adrenal fatigue, which often goes hand-in-hand with low thyroid.

Also check out the UK-centric websites:
thyroiduk[dot]org[dot]uk and tpauk[dot]com

That doesn't mean low-thyroid people should eat lots of carbs, however: carbs are the enemy of low-thyroid people.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Already started the diet!, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Without Bread: How a Low-Carbohydrate Diet Can Save Your Life (Paperback)
I bought this book as i suffer from IBS and had already read reviews on the book from another person who has IBS who is now symptom free after 6 months into the diet! After reading the book, which is incredibly informative on gastrointestinal disorders, diabetes, heart disease and weight...it can be slightly complicated at times but is fully explained with easy graphs and explanations, i started the diet and reduced my carbs to 72g a day. I am currently a month into it and already feel amazing, have lost half a stone and have no bloating, pain, diarrhea, although at the moment i am constipated due to the intestines still waiting to get moving properly again, but this is fully explained in the book how this is normal and will heal in time. So i really do recommend this book, at the moment it is a god send and i am hopeful that within the next few months my symptoms will disappear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low Carb Diet book review, 24 Sep 2009
This review is from: Life Without Bread: How a Low-Carbohydrate Diet Can Save Your Life (Paperback)
This book is a good read. It has a lot of great information about why some people should eat a low carb diet and to do so. I have read metabolic typing and this book really helped me understand why some people need less carbs and more fat/protein in their diets. I recently read another book called "Sugar busters!" - A dumbed down version of Life without Bread. Life Without bread is a fantastic book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a go, 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Without Bread: How a Low-Carbohydrate Diet Can Save Your Life (Paperback)
This is a must have book for anyone with type 2 diabetes that is currently on tablets. a friend put me onto this and it really does work after 3 years on 8 tablest a day I am now down to 2 tablets and hopefully wont need any soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars life without bread, 27 Mar 2009
This review is from: Life Without Bread: How a Low-Carbohydrate Diet Can Save Your Life (Paperback)
So the big question about life without bread is does it work,dieting is a multi-million pound business, can the answer to slimming be that simple!
well yes it is! and its not that hard to achieve.
An interesting read backed up by lots of sound science and pretty well covers all the health issues associated with carbos and sugars, yes worth the money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second hand but, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Without Bread: How a Low-Carbohydrate Diet Can Save Your Life (Paperback)
I bought it second hand, after a recommendation from my colleague. Arrived like new. Very interesting, everyone should read it. Since I read it i started eating low carbs (at least i try) and since then I feel much better....until I ate (and I should not) eat carbs again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life Without Bread: How a Low-Carbohydrate Diet Can Save Your Life
£9.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews