Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Few Very Good Guitar Books out there
This book does exactly what is says on the cover. It provides a clear, well thought out and simple to follow approach to learning how to create solo's or melodys over chord progressions. The skills which can be learnt from working through this book apply to any style of music which has more than one chord in it (so practically everything). The examples are superb and the...
Published on 18 Feb 2009 by Mac

versus
0 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ??
Still stands on my shelf. Changed form guitar to bass.

But looking it through it seems to be OK :-)
Published 21 months ago by soren sonne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Few Very Good Guitar Books out there, 18 Feb 2009
This review is from: Chord Tone Soloing: A Guitarist's Guide to Melodic Improvising in Any Style (Musicians Institute: Private Lessons) (Paperback)
This book does exactly what is says on the cover. It provides a clear, well thought out and simple to follow approach to learning how to create solo's or melodys over chord progressions. The skills which can be learnt from working through this book apply to any style of music which has more than one chord in it (so practically everything). The examples are superb and the backing tracks provide a good stage to practice the exercises against. All in all an excellent book. It would be great to see a further addition which goes in the details of the melodic minor modes, however from the knowledge contained within this book one could easiy apply these ideas to melodic minor.

Thanks for writting such an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book for Understanding Chord Tone Soloing, 6 Oct 2009
By 
Chris Downing "Chris Downing" (Chippenham, Wilts England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chord Tone Soloing: A Guitarist's Guide to Melodic Improvising in Any Style (Musicians Institute: Private Lessons) (Paperback)
It's said that decades ago, most jazz players would build their solos on chords and the tones within them. That nowadays plpayers take a scale note approach and build solos from playing the 'right' scales over the chord harmony. In fact either way works well and as a teacher I get all my students to apporach soloing both ways becuaes they seem to get different results and sounds.

This is the best book I've found for concentrating on chord tones and building solos around them. You'll end up with very musical, smooth solos that your audience will appreciate. If you're a rock and blues player, you'll end up with solos that sound like Mark Knopfler or Gary Moore and you'll find yourself getting away from running up and down penatonic and blues scales and discovering a whole new world of soloing out there.

Everyone taking this approach needs to know their scales and chors so here's a couple of suggestions. the best scales book I know is Jimmy Brunos and he has a DVD and a book that goes through his approach.

Jimmy Bruno, No Nonsense Jazz Guitar [DVD]
Six Essential Fingerings for the Jazz Guitarist (Jimmy Bruno Jazz Guitar)

There's a nice support book from Hal Leonard - not work a book but more reference material for soloing

Scale-chord Connection

And the scales approach to soloing is best covered with two books from Gibert and Marlis from The Musicians Institute in Los Angeles. Don't bother with their DVD as it skips through the work and doesn't really give you anything more than a summary of what's in the first book. You'll only need the first book of this pair at this stage. (Buying both will give you at least a year's work to really absorb it all and apply well.)

Guitar Soloing: The Contemporary Guide to Improvisation [With CD]
Advanced Guitar Soloing: The Professional Guide to Improvisation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best!, 10 April 2008
By 
Francis Sellors "Hybridpicker" (Merseyside, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chord Tone Soloing: A Guitarist's Guide to Melodic Improvising in Any Style (Musicians Institute: Private Lessons) (Paperback)
This is the best book I've ever read on improvising. Follow this book to the letter and you'll be able to zip through the changes. I would say that it will be of more value to a jazz player than heavy metal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written - this book puts things in context and gets you using and internalising the concepts, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Chord Tone Soloing: A Guitarist's Guide to Melodic Improvising in Any Style (Musicians Institute: Private Lessons) (Paperback)
he thing that really frustrates me about many guitar tuition books, but which this book certainly does not do, is that they are fine and dandy as references (they contain useful, factual information that you can read and try to remember) but they leave it to the reader to find ways of applying that information: there is no context or assistance given to internalising the concepts. Not so with Barrett Tagliarino's book.

Everything is presented clearly and then quickly put in some musical context, usually with exercises and backing tracks to work with. Short of coming round to your house with coffee and a spare guitar for you to use there's not much more that the author of a book-and-CD format can do to make things genuinely learnable: the rest is up to us. I'm not sure if it's to the author's credit that he does this so well, or a slight on many others that they don't, but either way you'd be hard pressed to find a reference on this subject that's more readable or usable.

Section II of the book covers in some detail the groundwork of basic theory and scales that are then applied in section III, but a good job is done of making it clear that this is necessary stuff, and it is well covered. I'm off to spend a little more time on section II now ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I was looking for, 13 Jan 2011
This review is from: Chord Tone Soloing: A Guitarist's Guide to Melodic Improvising in Any Style (Musicians Institute: Private Lessons) (Paperback)
This book is exactly what I needed, because it teaches amateur players how to improve their skills while improvising, to learn how to play the appropiate notes during chord changes, instead of playing endless scales.
For me this is the difference between an amateur player and a pro.
It also it focuses on the mental and physical way of practising correctly, to improve your rhythm skills.
After many years of practising, this is the approach I need to improve my improvising with the guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars recommended, 14 Feb 2010
This review is from: Chord Tone Soloing: A Guitarist's Guide to Melodic Improvising in Any Style (Musicians Institute: Private Lessons) (Paperback)
clear introduction of useful techniques that will help every guitarist. Probably a good couple of years study here. Time well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 24 Jan 2010
This review is from: Chord Tone Soloing: A Guitarist's Guide to Melodic Improvising in Any Style (Musicians Institute: Private Lessons) (Paperback)
I like this guy's laid back style.

Many, many wise words about the whole process of learning to solo - the tips on practising are worth the price on their own.

Covers all the foundations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book for soloing, 26 Feb 2012
By 
T. Horvath (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chord Tone Soloing: A Guitarist's Guide to Melodic Improvising in Any Style (Musicians Institute: Private Lessons) (Paperback)
Very clear, very good. I could not even imagine any better. I practice almost every day a rough 2 hours and after a month I realised a big improvement. I am very satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book!, 16 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chord Tone Soloing: A Guitarist's Guide to Melodic Improvising in Any Style (Musicians Institute: Private Lessons) (Paperback)
This is a great book for improving your soloing skills. Some of the books I'd tried to work through weren't terribly helpful, they ended up being too dry and I often couldn't see how the exercises would translate into actual solos. With this book, the chapters are short and concise, making it well structured and keeping you motivated. The material presented is really helpful in improving your solos, and gave me a different perspective on soloing. Everything is really well explained and there's a very helpful section on making up your own personalized practice schedule and how best to go about practicing.

The music theory used is explained pretty much from scratch, so even if you don't really have an extensive knowledge of music theory, this book is for you and will really help you develop that knowledge and apply it to you guitar playing.

If a friend of mine asked me what I would recommend if they wanted to buy a book on guitar, this would be the one. I have quite a few different ones, but this is still one of my all time favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chord Tone Soloing: A Guitarist's Guide to Melodic Improvising in Any Style (Musicians Institute: Private Lessons) (Paperback)
This is an amazing book, all guitarists learning on their own should have this. It is a MUST!!

1.Everything is explained in details, clearly and easy to understand
2.There are hundreds of exercises and backtracks on the CD provided
3.If you follow the practising guidelines given you will eventually learn to play amazing guitar

Well done Musicians Institute
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews