Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book for learning about bass fretboards and basslines knowledges, 9 Aug 2012
This review is from: Bass Guitar (Fretboard Roadmaps) (Paperback)
Well explained in a simple way, i understand it effortlessly without learning previously.
There's pratices and examples to let you know how thing varies in different genres.
It's good for both absolute beginners and advanced players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The easy way, 27 Jan 2009
By 
F.H (Brussels , Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bass Guitar (Fretboard Roadmaps) (Paperback)
This is one of the best books I have ever came across concerning learning bass guitar.
I have understood bass scales and how to use them.
The cd is very helpfull if you can't read rythms.
A great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far one of THE best books to help you to play bass I have ever come across!!!, 12 Jan 2014
This review is from: Bass Guitar (Fretboard Roadmaps) (Paperback)
This book to me is one of the best bass books ever written and thankfully comes with a CD. I had previously bought the guitar version for my daughter but recently saw this and decided to try learning from this. I have to say I had over the years purchased many type of 'how to play bass' the worst one was Laurence Canty's, 'How to bass,' which was confusing and really badly put together with no clear explanations of why certain theory aspects need to be learned, very poor. If you truly wish to learn the bass guitar and learn enough to play bass very well then this book/cd will help to get there as it is superbly put together in a simple, methodical way. For example it mentions why a scale is important and why you need to learn it with a review at the end of every chapter. I have learned about bass things I did not understand for years through other books. This book/CD explains the theory with diagrams and you then apply practically. I can not speak highly enough of this book. I am finally playing bass and coming up with baselines that my band is very happy with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent, easy way to start or extend your ability., 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bass Guitar (Fretboard Roadmaps) (Paperback)
I think this book is one of the best teaching aides i have purchased because it is very simple, very good value for the money. Very easy to follow and is ultra clear and foolproof. So easy to use and will have you smiling in under an hour (because your playing bass guitar and its so easy you will wonder why you didn't start earlier)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ..Great book...helpfull at all stages, 3 Jan 2008
By 
R. L. Mcclure - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bass Guitar (Fretboard Roadmaps) (Paperback)
This is one of the best books i've read on the bass guitar. The information is laid out in a easy to follow way, making it simple to understand the fretboard in a highly logical way, as well as educating you in all the important funtementals of how music is built up.

This is a must for players of all abilities
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book however maybe too thinly focused for some..., 27 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bass Guitar (Fretboard Roadmaps) (Paperback)
As a mini review let me just say the majority of book is on arpeggios (major arpeggios to be precise). This suited me down to a tee and has encouraged me to explore my playing a lot more. The bass lines included in the book are reinforced by cd recordings which helps the bass player to learn timings. You can get similar stuff about arpeggios online however it's good to have a book right there in front of you.

I don't think a beginner will be able to pick the book up and work the entire way through quickly, maybe one or two pages a day would be a limit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The jumpstart bass pack and the amp packs a punch ..., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bass Guitar (Fretboard Roadmaps) (Paperback)
The jumpstart bass pack and the amp packs a punch as for the fretboard roadmaps book it has helped me no end wot a buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Learn your fretboard., 5 Jun 2014
By 
D. Eccles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bass Guitar (Fretboard Roadmaps) (Paperback)
Bought to have scale mode patterns and chords on paper in an easy to get at form. For the price and considering it comes with a CD it is good value. However if you are a beginner this would need to be paired up with a book such as David Overthrows Bass Method Course. See my review.
I say this because there are too many pages were for instance you are shown in graphic form the notes on the fretboard. At the end of the chapter it then tells you what you have learned. Lo and behold you find out that you now know the notes on the fretboard. There is a little more to it than that. I could imagine a beginner pulling their hair out.
This book is fine as a reference for what you have already learned in a step by step manner from another book. Indeed it would be fine as an accompaniment to free YouTube videos you can watch. This is a thin book it does not have the pages to hold your hand and take you through in small steps. Fine for what I bought it for hence four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bass Guitar (Fretboard Roadmaps) (Paperback)
Good book for aspiring and playing bassists, have read more comprehenshive tutoring books but this one is nice and easy to pick up and do a bit of alternative practice with. Provides different ways to play, explains things nice and easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good..., 5 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bass Guitar (Fretboard Roadmaps) (Paperback)
lots of good info inside laid out in a somewhat easier way than many out there - just the way i like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bass Guitar (Fretboard Roadmaps)
Bass Guitar (Fretboard Roadmaps) by Tim Emmons (Paperback - 23 Mar 2006)
6.97
Usually dispatched within 10 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews