Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great, well explained book which covers all the basics of music theory, but full of small and sloppy typo errors
This is a really good book and I have learnt a lot from it. It is exactly what is was looking for as it covers all the basics you will need to understand music theory and all though it does explain musical notation and incorporates it into quite a few of the exercises, it doesn't concentrate too much on this, which is good because quite frankly it's not really needed to...
Published on 2 Aug 2007 by A User

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version of the book - diagrams hard to read
I purchased the Kindle version and have found the diagrams, scales and ilustrations very hard to read, even when the font is enlarged. The text (as far as I have read) seems helpful and well written. But my advice is to stick with the paper version. I am relatively new to Kindle, so this is probably my own fault - it works best with text only.
Published on 28 Sep 2010 by Sly Cat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great, well explained book which covers all the basics of music theory, but full of small and sloppy typo errors, 2 Aug 2007
This review is from: HAL LEONARD GUITAR METHOD MUSIC THEORY GTR BOOK/CD (Paperback)
This is a really good book and I have learnt a lot from it. It is exactly what is was looking for as it covers all the basics you will need to understand music theory and all though it does explain musical notation and incorporates it into quite a few of the exercises, it doesn't concentrate too much on this, which is good because quite frankly it's not really needed to play the guitar (there's a difference between understanding music theory and being able to sight-read musical notation). The only complaint I have is that it is just full of small and annoying sloppy litle errors which could have easily been picked up if it had been properly proof-read. I'll list a few of the errors I've encountered (so far, that is, as I'm only half way through it):

Page 35, Fig. 1B = It states that the major scale harmonised in 3rds is Major-Minor-Minor-Major--MINOR--Minor-Minor-Major, when in fact it should be Major-Minor-Minor-Major--MAJOR--Minor-Minor-Major (don't worry you will learn what I am talking about from the book).

Page 51, just above Fig. 7 it explains that the formula for the minor scale harmonised in sevenths is i7-iim7b5-etc. when in fact it should be i7-ii7b5-etc. It may seem like I'm splitting hairs somewhat but it becomes confusing especially if you are learning and especially since in the section on harmonising the major scale the formula includes ii7b5 and you could fail to see that the major and minor scales harmonised in sevenths both contain ii7b5 as opposed to ii7b5 and iim7b5 as it actually states.

Page 59, Fig. 14 it states that Am7 is the iv7 chord of C major, which is wrong, it should have been vi7.

Like I said it may seem as though I'm splitting hairs a bit but when you're learning you need all the information contained in the study material to be 100% correct as you obviously aren't in a position (knowledge-wise) to judge whether or not it is. Discovering inconsistencies also undermines your belief that what you are reading is true.

However, it is still a good book. The publishers just need to get their act together, stop being so lazy and get someone to proof read it! Maybe for the next edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars seriously useful for intermediate guitarists, 15 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HAL LEONARD GUITAR METHOD MUSIC THEORY GTR BOOK/CD (Paperback)
This book is a really useful, comprehensive and easy way of learning music theory. It is based around guitar with all the theory and exercises specifically guitar based, so for a guitar player such as myself, it is a lot more useful than a standard theory guide. All basic and more complex aspects of theory are explained, including reading music, chord formations and scale theory. There are also useful quizzes at the end of each section to test your knowledge.

The book is ideal for anyone who wants to learn a bit of theory. Unlike some books, it doesn't assume you already know anything or use terms without explaining them. It can also be used by more experienced guitarists as it covers most common aspects of theory, so you can either learn from scratch or just improve your knowledge. It also comes with a CD which means you can check that you are playing the exercises (scales etc) correctly. My only one complaint is the diagrams that are supposed to "explain" major scales, as I really didn't understand them, although the explanation of how they are formed is useful. I would recommend this to most guitarists, although if you are a beginner you may want to learn the basics of playing first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, straightforward and informative read, 2 Aug 2006
By 
M. Bodonyi "Marty" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HAL LEONARD GUITAR METHOD MUSIC THEORY GTR BOOK/CD (Paperback)
This books focus is primarily on how music theory relates to guitar and does the job really well. As a starting guitarist I have been using tabs to learn songs for my first year of guitar and thought it would be nice to venture into that scary land of musical notation. This book took me from start to finish and taught me from the bare basics how musical notation works and how it can be applied to guitar.

If you've just started playing and have no musical theory knowledge watsoever, but are sick of tabs, then this book is a must as it explores the topic in a detailed but non-patronizing way. I don't think there is anything better on the market for this purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book on Guitar Theory - Explains Everything, 22 Aug 2009
By 
Stephanie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HAL LEONARD GUITAR METHOD MUSIC THEORY GTR BOOK/CD (Paperback)
Well - this is the first time I've reviewed anything on here. But I felt i really had to with this book. This is honestly the best Guitar Theory Book i've seen and the Royal College of Music, and Registry of Guitar Tutor exams should use this as a Core text. There are sloppy errors I do agree with the other reviews, however, the well explained, detailed and easy to use chapters make up for it. If you are like me and want to know what things mean ie scales, modes, intervals, triads - this explains everything you'll ever need to know. And it is the basic foundation to really understanding the guitar. I was so impressed - i actually wrote to the Author on MySpace congratulating him, because I know I would have been searching for years and spent a fortune on lessons trying to find out the answers to all my guitar questions. Happy Guitar Playing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Theory review, 5 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. C. P. Mills (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HAL LEONARD GUITAR METHOD MUSIC THEORY GTR BOOK/CD (Paperback)
This book is well worth the effort to read and practice. There are mistakes thought but in a way they test what the book has taught, so strangely they are a help. It is also good because it gives you an insight specific to the instrument - for example how to recognise intervals from hand shape. This is an introduction to music theory and will need some time to grasp. Iv had my copy for a few weeks and I don't have a great deal of time to read this but because the chapters are fairly short I can work through it over a few days and there are plenty of exercises to test you and further develop what you learn. Since starting this book I feel that I have started to think more about what im playing. My personal opinion is that you need to know this stuff to play different styles and it will help you develop your own style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for the beginner, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HAL LEONARD GUITAR METHOD MUSIC THEORY GTR BOOK/CD (Paperback)
a book more focused on the musical theory end of things specifally for the guitar, explains tonality, chord shapes, keys and scales a must have for the guitarist wanting to further the musical theory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Typo, 24 Jan 2008
By 
M. Hartley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HAL LEONARD GUITAR METHOD MUSIC THEORY GTR BOOK/CD (Paperback)
Page 25 under 'Compound Intervals', it says "octave + major 3rd = PERFECT 10th", but it should say "octave + major 3rd = MAJOR 10th"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everything you ever needed to know about......, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HAL LEONARD GUITAR METHOD MUSIC THEORY GTR BOOK/CD (Paperback)
Exactly what I was looking for - music theory for guitarists, clearly explained, great examples on CD and in the book.Made huge steps in my understanding of music in relation to guitar. Great book and great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good all round book, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HAL LEONARD GUITAR METHOD MUSIC THEORY GTR BOOK/CD (Paperback)
Lots of information targeted towards the guitar. I was a begginner when reading this and it was a little complex to start with especially without any prior musical knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Apparently a very good book, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HAL LEONARD GUITAR METHOD MUSIC THEORY GTR BOOK/CD (Paperback)
It was for my brother who is teaching himself to play the guitar. He says it is very useful and he is very pleased with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HAL LEONARD GUITAR METHOD MUSIC THEORY GTR BOOK/CD
HAL LEONARD GUITAR METHOD MUSIC THEORY GTR BOOK/CD by Various (Paperback - 26 Jun 2005)
9.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews