Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the $$$!!!
This is by far the most helpful book I've come across so far on this subject.

Being an artist first... opening my studio & being responsible for its continued income & success was a daunting prospect.

I didn't really know anything about running the business & money side of things with regards to a studio.

This book is easy to read with...
Published on 19 July 2006 by Killertwin

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars OK, BUT QUITE A FEW BITS OF WEIRD ADVICE...
I found this book to be pretty average. Some of the advice was a little weird.. like advising people AGAINST buying an expensive piece of gear and instead to buy two pieces of cheap gear in case one of them breaks down is one of the pieces of advice that i have seen opposed in other books I've read where it advises to always go for the highest quality you can afford.2 I...
Published on 17 Mar 2009 by I. D. Macpherson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the $$$!!!, 19 July 2006
This review is from: Make Money with Your Studio: Setting Up and Operating a Successful Recording Studio (Paperback)
This is by far the most helpful book I've come across so far on this subject.

Being an artist first... opening my studio & being responsible for its continued income & success was a daunting prospect.

I didn't really know anything about running the business & money side of things with regards to a studio.

This book is easy to read with lots of practical advice, tips & examples on studio organization & chasing clients.

To the author - if you read this... thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terriffffic, 18 July 2004
This review is from: Make Money with Your Studio: Setting Up and Operating a Successful Recording Studio (Paperback)
This book does exactly what it promises. It helps you turn your studio into a thriving business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terriffic, 18 July 2004
This review is from: Make Money with Your Studio: Setting Up and Operating a Successful Recording Studio (Paperback)
This book does EXACTLY what it promises. It helps you turn your love of recording into a money making career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the book, 20 July 2004
This review is from: Make Money with Your Studio: Setting Up and Operating a Successful Recording Studio (Paperback)
Performing Songwriter magazine (July 2004) called this book "a thorough and enjoyable read from cover to cover". I couldn't agree more. I have been in the studio business for 7 years and picked up some great ideas for improving my profits. 5 stars all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars can't live without, 31 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Make Money with Your Studio: Setting Up and Operating a Successful Recording Studio (Paperback)
This book is a great read and offers some fantastic insight into the world of recording... from studio set-up to how to talk to clients, creating profile sheets and how to make them feel comfortable!!!

It is full of advice and as-well as the above and being a good book for running a studio it also doubles as almost a self help book in teaching how to make attainable targets and sticking to them, teaching you in self control, how to be realistic in the size of projects and much much more.

The book is fantastic and will stick with me throughout life and my recording career!!!

A must have read for all those wanting to get into recording either their own music or going more commercial, highly recommend...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars OK, BUT QUITE A FEW BITS OF WEIRD ADVICE..., 17 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Make Money with Your Studio: Setting Up and Operating a Successful Recording Studio (Paperback)
I found this book to be pretty average. Some of the advice was a little weird.. like advising people AGAINST buying an expensive piece of gear and instead to buy two pieces of cheap gear in case one of them breaks down is one of the pieces of advice that i have seen opposed in other books I've read where it advises to always go for the highest quality you can afford.2 I also have an issue with the part of the book where he states "we've all heard the story about the producer that mixed grammy winning songs on yamaha NS10 monitors .." actually i would say we've all heard "A MILLION" stories about these monitors.. they aren't industry standard for nothing!
All in all an overinflated effort... chapters 1 - 4 is info you can readily get from any other generic business book and the parts where the author does try and go into detail, he lets himself down with poor information.. i.e. Why would a professional sound engineer actually recommend you go out and buy Behringer gear?
I'd recommend you go and buy one business book and one book about recording and don't make do with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Make Money with Your Studio: Setting Up and Operating a Successful Recording Studio
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews