Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book!, 27 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Stratocaster Chronicles: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Strat (Hardcover)
This book is a must for any Fender or electric guitar fans. It plots the history of the Stratocaster from it's origins in the Telecaster through to modern day. From Leo Fender's small outfit in California through the black periods of CBS ownership (in a very frank manner) to present day. The rise of the Custom Shop and foreign imports is given appropriate discussion and the included CD is an excellent addition to the text. The colour images throughout are well reproduced in excellent detail and quality and the book bindings exude class.
The only fault I can draw is the overly thorough CD holder. It took me 5 minutes, a pocket knife and a pair of scissors to get to the CD. After all that, the plastic holder was a bit of a mess. I understand trying to stop CD theft in stores, but there must be an easier way?
Don't let that deter you from this excellent book- thoroughly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Fender Strat book yet, 18 May 2004
This review is from: The Stratocaster Chronicles: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Strat (Hardcover)
Just finished reading the book , I have all the other fender books but this is the best by far.
Buy this book now and like old Fender guitars it will go up in value it will look good on any coffee table.
The book tells the story of the Fender Strat from the drawing board to 2004 in a interesting way with a free CD to play along to as you read.
It has a foreward by Eric Clapton and inside is lots more about him and Hendrix,Beck and all the over top players.
It takes you into the custom shop and shows lots of good photos.
At last i found out why the front of my 70s Strat peg board had gone a deep yellow but the rest of the neck had stopped the same.
The only bad point is it stopped me playing my strat a few days while i read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stratocaster Heaven *****, 19 Mar 2010
By 
Daniel Mcgivern (Glasgow Scotland, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stratocaster Chronicles: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Strat (Hardcover)
Anyone who is interested in the Stratocster Guitar should buy this book, it's packed with photos right back from the first days of production with Leo Fender himself. What a fantastic book, it comes with a CD inside of Strats played by Greg Koch who is a fantastic player demoing the sounds an styles achieved on the Stratocaster. And all of that before you start to read the story of the Fender company and Leo's stuborn streak !!!
Anywho if you like me are into your Stratocaster and want a book that tells it like it is then buy this book, you won't be disappointed. *****
The Stratocaster Chronicles: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Strat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 23 May 2013
By 
Gordon Sharpe (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stratocaster Chronicles: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Strat (Hardcover)
Sheer guitar porn. This book is just gorgeous - buy it and prepare to drool over the beautiful and curvy delights within!!!!

Be warned though - it will leave you wanting more Strats for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stratocaster Chronicles: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Strat (Hardcover)
I chose this rating because this was excellent and that's all I have to say about that so there. Poo!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars guitar book, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stratocaster Chronicles: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Strat (Hardcover)
my son is in a band and plays a strat so it will make a great xmas present thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., 19 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. M. Murphy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stratocaster Chronicles: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Strat (Hardcover)
A well written and beautifully illustraded book. The enclosed CD of styles is a nice bonus touch. Highly recommended tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One amazing book & very in depth about the Fender Strat, 1 May 2011
This review is from: The Stratocaster Chronicles: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Strat (Hardcover)
Great book about the Fender Stratocaster through from the Leo Fender years of the 50's and 60's all the way through CBS taking over the company to the present day. This book covers a wide range of topics such as artists, technical specs, builders such as George Fullerton, etc and changes to the Strat over the decades. If you love the Fender Strat like many of us do including those who don't play guitar and would like to know about its history and details then this is the book. Comes with great photos too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good choice, 5 Dec 2010
By 
M. E. Goncalves (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stratocaster Chronicles: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Strat (Hardcover)
I bought this book for a friend who loves guitars and music, he just love it, amazing book, a good present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read!, 28 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. P. Stead (Bucks, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stratocaster Chronicles: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Strat (Hardcover)
For those interested in the Fender Strat this is a must to read. Tom Wheeler has done an excellent job in the compilation of this book but if you want to know more about Fender generally then this book cannot be taken in isolation. Suggest you also look at: "Fender: The Sound Heard Round the World" by Richard Smith and "The Fender Electric Guitar Book, Complete History of Fender Guitars" by Tony Bacon. Both are very good and give different insights into the Fender company, and not just the Strat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa70ba3cc)

This product

The Stratocaster Chronicles: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Strat
20.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews