Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars16
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£26.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 February 2009
I also own the Stratocaster 50th anniversary tome by Tom Wheeler so I had a feeling this would be good. However, it is much more than good, it is superb. It fact, it is rated so highly that Fender USA have now renamed the reissue amp section of their website The Soul Of Tone with a reference to the book shown alongside the classic models they sell.

If you play guitar and have ever wonderered why virtually every recorded guitar sounds the way it does, this gives you the history of how Leo Fender invented the classics and then the likes of Marshall, Mesa Boogie and others started with Leo's designs and modified them to their own requirements.

You also get two CD's of sound-bites of classic amps matched with Tele's, Strat's and Lesters so if you've ever wonderered how a Tele through a blackface Vibrolux sounds, and how different it is to a Tele through a blackface Deluxe Reverb, then it's all here.

An absolutely stunning book for any guitar player!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2007
this is an expensive book but good value for money since it is a big volume packed with fabulous photos, together with loads of detailed content on the history of Fender amps. No sane person could really ask for much more on this subject. the book is accompanied by an audio CD containing examples of the sounds that the amps make.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2008
This definitive although rather over-expensive guide is nevertheless essential reading for the owner, collector and fan of those of you able to afford a Fender amp, vintage or new. The illustrations in this book neatly underscore the text with subtle and fascinating illucidation, and both the text and illustrations work beautifully together. If you want or own a Fender amp, this book is for you. If you don't, you'll sure want one, even need one, after reading it! Tom Wheeler is a world expert on Fender guitars and amps, and can be relied upon for his honesty, decency and integrity. I would certainly say his books are the first stop in any purchase of vintage Fender gear if you want reliable information. This book confirms that. Thank you Tom for a great book and guide, and please let's have more Fender-related books in the future!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2010
Beautiful! The information is great and with the CD as well, it just makes the difference - just to be able to hear these amps in action, hear their differences and just indulge yourself in all of it.
An absolute joy. Maybe £25 seems a lot, but it's the price of a take-out curry for two. It might last a bit longer too - like forever. I'll be into this book for many years to come, it's glorious.
Initially I thought it was unnecessary seeing as I have the excellent Leonard Teagle book, but it's a different approach to the subject and there is definitely room for both to sit together and compliment each other. Having both won't make one redundant.
Trouble is, I just have to get the Stratocaster book now.
What I really want though is a Telecaster version, so I'm hoping that's a work in progress.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I'm an utter & complete fan of Fender history, especially the early days and loved this book. Would have bought it earlier, but decided to wait until it came down a bit in price, so as not to incur the wrath of my wife! Great to see a lot of photos. that I'd not seen before, especially the factory ones from the 1950's & '60's. Beautifully laid out, a wealth of information and best of all, another great insight into the genius of Leo Fender and the skill of his team. Makes a suitable companion volume to Tom Wheeler's "Stratocaster Chronicles" which I'd previously bought from Amazon. Do read Forrest White's book, "Inside Fender" as well.
Buy it, buy it, buy it.......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Anyone who loves music ,will have most likely have heard it from a fender amplification medium. .
the detail in this book is testimony to leo fenders dedication to just that end ,,uncoditional
commitment to musicians and listeners pleasure ,a catalogue of ingenious application ,
god bless leo fender, and tom wheeler for the insight he has shared in this publication.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
I think if you love electric guitars the other half of the tone story is seldom told.
This book makes you think about matching a guitar with an amp.
The two CD's are good especially CD 2 Modern as it contains interviews with the people that built developed the instruments. I now want a Fender Vibroverb 63 Reissue if anyone has one for sale do get in touch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2009
An absolutely authoratative reference work detailing the entire history of Fender amplifiers that is essential reading for anyone interested in the subject.Contains many excellent photographs and also 2cd's with recordings of the great amplifiers in use.
A must buy , and not expensive for what is a lifetime investment!!Highly recommended!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2009
Not a lot I can add to the previous glowing reviews. It is an excellent book, with lots of detail. I,personally, would have liked even more detail and schematics and photos of the cream tolex series amps, but this is a minor critiscism really. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
A beautiful book balancing technical content, with historical anecdotes and musician and designer advice. It contributed greatly to my choices in designing and building a vintage vacuum tube amp head.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)