Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Intro to Country Playing
I like this a lot. As a teacher I need materials that are easy to access and give students a quick pay-back for effort. This is one of those books. I'm sure there's more sophisticated books out there - Lee Hodgson's Hot Country is great, but you need to be quite a player to even started on that book - but this is a great intro to the style. Nice CD support material...
Published on 21 Mar 2004 by Chris Downing

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book and your ol' Tele and you're off!
It's really for the complete beginner ... I ordered this online without really going too deeply into its content ... having said that I did pick up one or two ideas ... These books are excellent ... Hal Leonard method books always are!
Published 9 months ago by Tony King


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Intro to Country Playing, 21 Mar 2004
By 
Chris Downing "Chris Downing" (Chippenham, Wilts England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hal Leonard Country Guitar Method (Hal Leonard Guitar Method (Songbooks)) (Paperback)
I like this a lot. As a teacher I need materials that are easy to access and give students a quick pay-back for effort. This is one of those books. I'm sure there's more sophisticated books out there - Lee Hodgson's Hot Country is great, but you need to be quite a player to even started on that book - but this is a great intro to the style. Nice CD support material and well laid out in the book. A good job and nicely published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb entry level book on country guitar, 27 May 2008
By 
Tim Addison (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hal Leonard Country Guitar Method (Hal Leonard Guitar Method (Songbooks)) (Paperback)
I've been trying to find out how to play country style guitar and there isn't much material out there and in the UK very few teachers who know the style. I've tried a few DVD's but found them too complicated to follow (e.g. the Albert Lee and Ray Flacke DVD's). This book provides a great primer in the style plus puts it in the context of some well known country songs. I'd definitely recommend for both beginners and even experienced guitarists who want to get into this style of playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best intro to country guitar, 31 Oct 2011
This review is from: Hal Leonard Country Guitar Method (Hal Leonard Guitar Method (Songbooks)) (Paperback)
I was very lucky that this was the first book I bought for learning country guitar as it doesn't expect you to be a pro, but slowly takes you through the various techniques, strumming patterns, chord progressions, country scales with a few nice songs inbetween to build your confidence and enjoyment before throwing more difficult string bending licks at you etc. I keep coming back to this book though I have advanced beyond it technically. Well written, easy to read (if your eyes are not what they used to be), and basically a lot of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book and your ol' Tele and you're off!, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hal Leonard Country Guitar Method (Hal Leonard Guitar Method (Songbooks)) (Paperback)
It's really for the complete beginner ... I ordered this online without really going too deeply into its content ... having said that I did pick up one or two ideas ... These books are excellent ... Hal Leonard method books always are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Country Guitar, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hal Leonard Country Guitar Method (Hal Leonard Guitar Method (Songbooks)) (Paperback)
I think covers the basis of country guitar, with techniques and examples suits intermediate player.

I have been playing for 40 years and have a grounding in basic theory of music. This book did give me a good overview of techniques, theory, which keys work, some licks and song examples.

It is not the only book you will need for country guitar but it is a good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Purchase worth the money., 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hal Leonard Country Guitar Method (Hal Leonard Guitar Method (Songbooks)) (Paperback)
A very good purchase - the only criticism is that the finger fret diagrams are too small to view easily.

It advances primary knowledge for learners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its just what i was lookig for so i can progress, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hal Leonard Country Guitar Method (Hal Leonard Guitar Method (Songbooks)) (Paperback)
I have been learning the guitar for 2 years on and of and this book at the moment ticks the box's its quite difficult to discipline your self. i'am making slow progress .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for complete beginner, 28 Mar 2014
By 
D. V. Short "Enzo Short" (Orkney, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hal Leonard Country Guitar Method (Hal Leonard Guitar Method (Songbooks)) (Paperback)
This book is not for a complete beginner, as another 3-star rater has stated - unless (s)he meant "complete beginner" to country music.

The scores are mostly in standard notation (♪), but with many chords, which is not a good way to learn for a complete beginner to the guitar per se. The scores should either with chords or with arpeggios for beginners. Besides which, some of the music at the beginning of the book is in rapid tempo that is too fast for beginners to learn properly (with accuracy, & without repeating mistakes)

The music on the CD to play along with is excellent, and the lessons in the book are obviously designed by one or more musicians who are excellent in the art and skill in this genré. The lessons include advanced techniques in playing this music.

I suggest complete beginners look elsewhere for easier scores to practise - hopefully country music (such as found in book ISBN: 0786669144 or ISBN: 0786672056, and in DVD ASIN: B000IB0K8S)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed Musician, 6 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hal Leonard Country Guitar Method (Hal Leonard Guitar Method (Songbooks)) (Paperback)
I keep making the same mistake with buying tuition books blind online because unless they show you what is inside the book, it is a total gamble on what you are going to get. This "Country Guitar" book is more about learning some musicianship that you apply to other things later on and there are no examples to try out.

I am looking for a clear guide to certain folk and country rhythm techniques in accompaning songs and then would like some song examples to try them out on, so that I can apply these techniques.

I am now resigned to going to the mega music store, Chappels in London, to be able to browse through some tuition books so that I actually can see what I am buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hal Leonard Country Guitar Method (Hal Leonard Guitar Method (Songbooks))
17.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews