Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book simplyfies and demystifies patterncutting.
.... This book is easy to understand and is recommended for professionals and lay people alike. Even if you have never patterncut before, this book provides you with all you need to go and do it for your own wardrobe or professionally. It has helped me many a times as a reference tool. I know many patterncutters would recommend this book ,as my teacher did to me...
Published on 6 July 1999

versus
37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good starter
This book is a good starter but there are many printing errors (wrong instructions, missing instructions) so beware. It also assumes that you are familiar with some pattern cutting techniques. If you are an absolute beginner it would be useful to have someone in the know to ask as at times it is possible to become absolutely stuck. If you are studying pattern cutting this...
Published on 10 Jun 2006 by Gemma


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book simplyfies and demystifies patterncutting., 6 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Metric Pattern Cutting (Hardcover)
.... This book is easy to understand and is recommended for professionals and lay people alike. Even if you have never patterncut before, this book provides you with all you need to go and do it for your own wardrobe or professionally. It has helped me many a times as a reference tool. I know many patterncutters would recommend this book ,as my teacher did to me. Drawings are clear and explanatory in themselves. And a great efford is made to keep language,jargon and mathmatics at a bearable minimum. It comes in a nice hardcover so that it survives the rough handling of many a designroom. CUT CUT AWAY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good starter, 10 Jun 2006
This review is from: Metric Pattern Cutting (Hardcover)
This book is a good starter but there are many printing errors (wrong instructions, missing instructions) so beware. It also assumes that you are familiar with some pattern cutting techniques. If you are an absolute beginner it would be useful to have someone in the know to ask as at times it is possible to become absolutely stuck. If you are studying pattern cutting this would be a really useful book to have. If you are learning by yourself, you may find this book to be a little frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners..., 23 Jun 2009
By 
A. Dickson (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metric Pattern Cutting (Hardcover)
If you're new to pattern cutting I would recommend that you get some background knowledge on patterns first before using this book - even buy some patterns to play around with before progressing onto the book, just to get a feel of what you're working with.
It is a good point of reference for pattern cutters with a bit of experience but I wouldn't recommend it to someone just starting out.

There are often bits missed out, it is assumed that you will know what they are & if you don't know, you won't have a complete pattern. You'll end up doing guess work, which isn't a good thing. There are also certain calculative methods missed out too that are essential to beginners, especially regarding working out certain angles/shaping of a pattern.

Invest in a simpler & more detailed textbook before purchasing this one. Or if you can, do a course first - making patterns can be quite complex & it's good if you have someone that can guide you through the stages of pattern cutting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the learning curve, 28 Nov 2002
By 
Tara Hanratty (Co Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Metric Pattern Cutting (Hardcover)
I found this book difficult to use at first, being used to commercial pre-printed patterns, but with a bit of perseverance I was able to produce some well-fitted pieces that I was quite pleased with. I particularly liked the section on dealing with bodies of different shapes (sloping shoulders, long backs etc). I would recommend this book to anyone wanting the flexibility to design their own clothes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!, 22 Oct 2008
By 
T. L. Roberts (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metric Pattern Cutting (Hardcover)
I was given this book when i started my HND theatre costume design book. We have used it for two years and i can not recommened it highly enough! Some of the girls in my class had never done pattern cutting before and this book tells you everything you need to know. On first glance it seems very confusing. But when you read it and follow it step by step it all makes sense! The blocks shown in this book are basic blocks from which you can adapt or alter to suit you.

Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good comprehensive guide to pattern cutting., 23 April 2011
This review is from: Metric Pattern Cutting (Hardcover)
Anything you need to know about pattern cutting. I am a beginner in this area and I find the book has clear illustrations and instructions including british standards of sizing, standard blocks for a range of garments, details for garments like sleeves and collars, also sports and swim ware. Would recommend to people who want to learn how to make their own patterns from standard blocks. I have some experience in general sewing and clothes making though, so have a general understanding of commercial patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the best pattern cutting book around, 8 Aug 2010
This review is from: Metric Pattern Cutting (Hardcover)
Having been a pattern cutter for over 30 years, I have to say this isn't the best book around. The illustrations are dated, and the instructions are unclear.

Go for Natalie Bray's books, or Ann Haggar's books are quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure guava, 19 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Metric Pattern Cutting (Hardcover)
i am currently in the process of gaining my diploma in fashion and textiles at the nelson polytechnic NEW ZEALAND this tome will aid you in designing fashion garments while realising that pattern cutting is an artform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metric Pattern Cutting, 21 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metric Pattern Cutting (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift for my 18yrs old granddaughter. It had been recommended by her college tutor. She was very pleased to receive it as she had had some difficulty in tracing this particular edition.
The book certainly appears to cover much of the basics required for pattern making /cutting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A superb book, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metric Pattern Cutting (Hardcover)
Got this as a present for my daughter who is studying Fashion at university. It has become her Bible and refers to it all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metric Pattern Cutting
Metric Pattern Cutting by Winifred Aldrich (Hardcover - 8 April 1994)
Used & New from: £13.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews