Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent text for MRCS
This is an excellent text for people who need to revise anatomy that may have learned at medical school as a pure science, but now actually need to know the subject as a practical topic. It does not set out to be a reference text, but the new look MRCS vivas are pitched at exactly the same level as this book. It will probably not do for the MCQ's, but come the viva...
Published on 17 Jan 2000 by paulcounter@doctors.org.uk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Must Have For Part B Of MRCS
I just smashed out Part B of MRCS in May 2012. This book is good. Nothing special. Better books out there. It is written by a father of modern anatomical exposition but it is not the most amazing book out there. However it does have snippets of brilliance which make it a good buy
Published on 16 Jun 2012 by Lamboozler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent text for MRCS, 17 Jan 2000
This review is from: Clinical Anatomy (Paperback)
This is an excellent text for people who need to revise anatomy that may have learned at medical school as a pure science, but now actually need to know the subject as a practical topic. It does not set out to be a reference text, but the new look MRCS vivas are pitched at exactly the same level as this book. It will probably not do for the MCQ's, but come the viva get it, read it and pass your anatomy section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful in the right hands..., 18 Jun 2007
By 
A. Hulme "ahulme66" (Manchester, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a first year medical student, I was faced with the ld conundrum of which aatomy books to use and purchased martini at the start of the year. However, although an excellent book, I found that some minor details were just lacking and the clinical questions asked in anatomy sessions just weren't covered.

My anatomy demonstrator recommended this book and I took it out from the library. I was a litle skeptical at first due to the simplicity of the drawings but this is perhaps one of the major advantages of the book. Rather than show everything that is visible in a particular view, ellis shows just the bits which are relevant tot hat particular section of the book, so as not to clutter the diagram. The diagrams are almost schematic in appearance and are good for familiarising yourself with the basic shape and relations before observing them in real life.

The text is full prose, with few subheadings. This makes the book a little harder to skim through to get te info required, but at the same time encourages you to read a section, which i personally found beneficial. The sections are concise with lots of clinical relevance and the uncluttered layout is a pleasant change from most anatomy /A&P books.

All in all, I give this book four stars as I think it is an excellent anatomy resource but principally in addition to a more detailed book. Although not lacking as a standalone book, Ellis is somewhat less thorough than other books but offers a highly useful and informative style that is not found in many anatomy books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clinical Anatomy, 21 Jan 2007
By 
L. Barraclough (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really struggle with anatomy and have used a number of books to try and help me shed light on this subject. This book is one of the better ones I have found. The line drawings are clear and unfussy and the text is well broken down into managable chunks. There are plenty of clinical examples included which make the anatomy more relevant and understandable. I am not sure this book contains the level of detail needed for MRCS candidates but it is certainly sufficient for medical students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good solid foundation for anatomy, 13 Dec 2006
Ellis' Clinical Anatomy is not one of those really beautifully illustrated coffee table anatomy books. It is, however, a very useful book from which to learn the anatomy you need to know to get through a medical degree. It is concise with useful diagrams. It would be wise to supplement this with the use of a good anatomy atlas (or a lot of time in the dissection room) but this really is quite a useful way to learn anatomy. It is not overloaded with too much detail and it's small enough to take on the train with you (unlike most of those unweildy coffee table volumes). They've also tried to keep it clinically relevant. It's only got 4 stars from me because I have a soft spot for a beautiful drawing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't do better, 16 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Clinical Anatomy (Paperback)
There's the anatomy you get taught in the first year, then there's the anatomy you actually need to know. This book contains the anatomy you need to know. Concise text - even the diagrams are to the point, instead of the usual spaghetti of labels you see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for MRCS!!, 28 Aug 2010
This book is a must for the MRCS OSCE. The authors are heavily involved in the MRCS syllabus, especially the anatomy sections. Many of the clinical questions and surface anatomy points came up in my exam. The book is easy to read and interesting as its clinical orientated. I found having another more detailed book like 'Grants' was useful to have with it in case you needed a little more detail or different images. All in all a great book for MRCS.......Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars anatomy texts, 21 Aug 2009
I entered medical school thirty years ago, and amongst my treasured books was one given to me by a doctor linking the rather dry but essential subject of human anatomy with clinical medicine. My book, still on the shelf and used when I need a quick reminder about soemthing outside my normal practice, is long out of print now, but Harold Ellis's book nicley fits the bill of providing a bridge for pre-clinical students to 'get the point' of learning their anatomy. I bought it for a family friend who is just starting her medical training,and she has already enjoyed reading large chunks of it. I think this will keep its place on her bookshelf for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ellis Clinical Anatomy- best resource, 6 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clinical Anatomy (Paperback)
Ellis Clinical Anatomy is excellent. The most interesting and readable resource in anatomy, with frequent clinical applications. Extremely useful either to learn anatomy first time, using another book for reference, or for revision purposes. I was a little disappointed with abdominal anatomy. I attribute my pass of MRCS A to this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for MCEM A, 7 Nov 2013
This is a great anatomy book with some fantastic drawings. The text is concise and at times Ellis' sense of humour shines through. It could do with a few more diagrams and avoiding statements like "the nerve runs above and before backwards" but really these details are minor. Another book (e.g. Drake et al.) still comes in handy for details but this really is a fantastic book.
There is a new edition out now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars feedback, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must have for every student and post grad doctor especially if in surgical training.
All you need for anatomy section of MRCS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clinical Anatomy
Clinical Anatomy by ELLIS (Hardcover - 2 Sep 1983)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews