Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT TEXTBOOK!!!
An extremely informative textbook, with information ranging from birth to adulthood. It is very reader friendly and is especially useful for the first year of your psychology degree. It covers all the areas including Vygotsky, Piaget , attachment theory and various other topics. A superb textbook!!!!!
Published on 18 July 2009 by ANZ

versus
144 of 156 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Even for those of you that aren't psychologically minded!
This book is ideal for those people that haven't got a clue what child development is all about, and/or those that need further grounding on it.
The first few chapters build up a little background knowledge to psychology in general and the history of child delevopment, so those of you that know relatively nothing aren't thrown in at the deep end.
It is both...
Published on 8 Nov. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

144 of 156 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Even for those of you that aren't psychologically minded!, 8 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This book is ideal for those people that haven't got a clue what child development is all about, and/or those that need further grounding on it.
The first few chapters build up a little background knowledge to psychology in general and the history of child delevopment, so those of you that know relatively nothing aren't thrown in at the deep end.
It is both comprehendible and quite easy to read. Jargon is explained and psychological models are illustrated clearly and plainly. It lacks nothing. All areas are covered in sufficient depth and reference to interesting research has been included to keep your attention focused.
All in all; worth buying.
Other relevant reads:
Child Developement: Laura Berk
The Blackwell reader in development: Slater and Muirer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT TEXTBOOK!!!, 18 July 2009
This review is from: Understanding Children's Development (4th Edition) (Basic Psychology S.) (Paperback)
An extremely informative textbook, with information ranging from birth to adulthood. It is very reader friendly and is especially useful for the first year of your psychology degree. It covers all the areas including Vygotsky, Piaget , attachment theory and various other topics. A superb textbook!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!, 24 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Understanding Children's Development (4th Edition) (Basic Psychology S.) (Paperback)
This book is fantastic!! I am currently studing 2+2 BA degree in Early Childhood Development and this book is like the bible for this course. Very easy to understand but being academic enough to reference as well. xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding Childrens Development book, 17 Nov. 2009
By 
Jane Rodley "sharklet" (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Understanding Children's Development (4th Edition) (Basic Psychology S.) (Paperback)
very informative and well written book which will be invaluable for my foundation degree studies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Understanding Children's Development (4th edition), 9 Jun. 2009
By 
Mrs. Gillian Sharp (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Understanding Children's Development (4th Edition) (Basic Psychology S.) (Paperback)
This book was more detailed than I had expected. The seller was very efficient and book arrived in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Written & Interesting, 5 July 2012
This review is from: Understanding Children's Development (4th Edition) (Basic Psychology S.) (Paperback)
Bought this as part of my studies. It's well laid out, well written and very interesting. Despite having studied Children's Development for over 5 years now this text has introduced some new theories and concepts as well as going over well travelled territory. I can see this being a text I refer back to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Came within time limit, excellent service, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Children's Development (4th Edition) (Basic Psychology S.) (Paperback)
Although this is a used book, it is in excellent condition. The book arrived within the time limit stated, and was in secure packaging with no damage, etc.,. Cannot fault this seller, as have bought from them in the past and they have never failed me yet. Would definitely recommend for all to at least view, try, and buy, will not be disappointed!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 17 May 2014
By 
L. J. Dunn (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a very good source book for learning child development and early years. the only problem I had with it was that the pages are really thin, but saying that none have torn. reminded me of a really thick informative magazine.

but if you can get over that trivial thing it is a great book for theorists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book for students studying psychology at university!, 29 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as it was part of the reading list for my psychology course at university. It includes a good amount of detail and the chapters are in a logical order. It's easy to understand and I recommend it to all Psychology students!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best buy, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it's a fantastic book I purchased it for topping up my dissertation as I needed to discuss child development and it gave me more information than I expected I would strongly recommend this for social work students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Understanding Children's Development (4th Edition) (Basic Psychology S.)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews