Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

103 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential primer & intro to world of theory..., 25 Jun. 2003
By 
Jason Parkes (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art in Theory 1900-2000: An Anthology of Changing Ideas (Paperback)
Sadly I've only come across this wonderful book (and its earlier companions) recently- a vast collection of key essays and theories relating to culture in the 20th Century. It certainly beats the **** out of a book like Beginning Theory, which is half the price but much, much shorter. A key book that should be owned by all undergraduates starting Uni operating in the wide remit of humanities. The essays/excerpts are short, easy to read & broken down into eight major sections and subsequent sub-sections. Seriously, this book is packed with the kind of thinking and quotations that should litter any university-standard essay- & also gives you a sample of certain writers- which could then be pursued from this wonderful starting point.
The book has sections on: Classicism & Originality; Expression & the Primitive; Modernity; Cubism; Neo-Classicism & the Call to Order; Dissent & Disorder; Abstraction & Form; Utility & Construction; The Modern as Ideal; Realism as Figuration; Realism as Critique; Modernism as Critique; The American Avant-Garde; Individualism in Europe; Art&Society; Art&Modern Life; Modernist Art; Objecthood&Reductivism; Attitudes to Form; Critical Revisions; The Critique of Originality; Figures of Difference;& The Condition of History. Seriously you could easily read the lot in the first year at uni, setting you up greatly for the harder years that follow...Plenty of key cultural thinkers appear here, a brief survey of the contents pages offers Freud, Rilke, Kandinsky, Croce, Lenin, Wyndham Lewis, Braque, Picasso, Spengler, Duchamp, Man Ray, Tatlin, Klee, Jung, Alfred Rosenberg, John Reed, Trotsky, Breton, Bataille, Brecht, Adorno, Pollock, Sartre, Artaud, Lacan, Camus, Bacon, Schlesinger Jr, Lukacs, Barthes, Raymond Williams,Cage, Warhol, Robbe-Grillet, Derrida, Foucault, Mulvey, Jameson, Said, Baudrillard, Kristeva, Wollen, & just about every major theorist of the 20th Century.
This book is excellent value and the ideal primer for anyone studying any subject relating to theory (pretty much most); only quibble would be the relatively fragile cover, which would require a plastic cover or be easily ruined with the amount of reference to this book that would no doubt occur. OWN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth its Weight in Gold!, 31 Mar. 2008
By 
Mr. Chris Titmuss (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art in Theory 1900-2000: An Anthology of Changing Ideas (Paperback)
This book is filled to the brim with 371, yes 371 individual sources/texts each with an introduction to contextualise each one. Using it for an essay or dissertation will provide you with quotes that you would not be able to find in other books as well as giving you some of the more obvious source which are great too. It is a big book at 1250 pages which was intimating at first when it dropped through the door but really quickly I discovered that its as good as having a whole library in one book which is just about portable.

This is a great book and when you start using it you will realise what a bargain it is too. Worth its weight in gold
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT NOW!, 16 April 2006
I reluctantly bought this book believing it would join others on my bookshelf, however it has become my primary source of reference before starting any art essay. How did I manage before? For anyone with an interest in Fine Art this is a must have! I've noticed that it is difficult to obtain this book now -Phew! got my copy just in time. Seek it out and but it now!! This is one you really need!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very helpful, 10 Nov. 2009
By 
Laden Uyguroglu (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art in Theory 1900-2000: An Anthology of Changing Ideas (Paperback)
If you are looking for artists' own words about their art rather than analysis of other authors, I highly recommend you this book. Very helpful and informative. Full of interviews with hundreds of artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most important book in the (art) world!, 10 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Art in Theory 1900-2000: An Anthology of Changing Ideas (Paperback)
This book has been referenced in every single essay i have written for my undergraduate degree. I owe my BA to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow Stuff, 20 Mar. 2010
By 
K. Duke (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art in Theory 1900-2000: An Anthology of Changing Ideas (Paperback)
Hugely factual book. Love both artists sources and short preparatory remarks. Can and will dip endlessly!!!!! Can be hard going so some knowledge of artists work useful. Excellent brain and discussion fodder and a mine of stuff for the more intuitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with information., 18 Jan. 2010
By 
C. Mccarthy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art in Theory 1900-2000: An Anthology of Changing Ideas (Paperback)
I was told to purchase this book while at university. Has alot of information useful for a Fine Art course, or Art History. Or just general use. Includes information from Clement Greenberg to Robert Mapplethorpe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must have book..., 3 Sept. 2009
By 
Evangelia Voutsaki "evavou" (Brighton, UK-Chania, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art in Theory 1900-2000: An Anthology of Changing Ideas (Paperback)
it is a great collection of art theories written not only by art critics but also by artists! It is a book you must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indescribably Useful, 4 Nov. 2010
By 
S. Raybone "FallingFear" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art in Theory 1900-2000: An Anthology of Changing Ideas (Paperback)
I'm studying Art History at university, and this book has proved vital reading. A wealth of sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Reference Book, 30 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art in Theory 1900-2000: An Anthology of Changing Ideas (Paperback)
I have read essays from this book on numerous occasions and found it to be an indispensable book for research. Well considered in terms of layout and material, and holding many gems of information. However, do not expect it to be an easy read picture book - the material requires a degree of serious intent towards research. Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Art in Theory 1900-2000: An Anthology of Changing Ideas
Art in Theory 1900-2000: An Anthology of Changing Ideas by Charles Harrison (Paperback - 23 Sept. 2002)
£20.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews