Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction, 25 Oct 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Thinking Sociologically (Paperback)
This was the first book I read as a sociology undergraduate, and, as far as introductions to sociology go, this is the best one I have come across. Very accessible and gives the newcomer a good idea of what it is to think about everyday issues in sociological terms. Bauman is an excellent writer, no doubt about it. However, as the title indicates, this is a book that is more about sociological "imagination", so you should not expect a book on the history of sociology. What is more, after reading a few of his other books it is evident that the sociological "imagination" Bauman is describing embodies quite a few of his own views (fluidity, ambiguity, modernity's struggle with ambivalence). Nonetheless, this is still an excellent book and defintely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible, 23 Jan 2003
By 
G. J. Kovacs "jacqui37" (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thinking Sociologically (Paperback)
I was completely confused about what I was doing in a sociology class until I discovered this book. It is readable and doesn't overload you with information. Gives clear balanced arguments and reasoned opinions. Is not daunting in it's size in the same way as some other introductory sociology texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, 4 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Thinking Sociologically (Paperback)
This book, is the second book i picked up when i was starting my sociology degree. I have to say, it has some amazing points made and some of the way the theories are explained makes it so easy to understand. This book has a powerful way of teaching.

The chapters include-

-Action, identity and understanding in everyday life

-Living our lives: challenges, choices and constraints

-Looking back and looking forward

Theyre all interesting in different ways, and get straight to the point.

However.

This book does not include all of the things you will need for a degree, it does not have all the well known cases and theorists. Nor does it outline any of the basics.

BUT, do buy this book if you have never studied sociology before, as it tells you how to think about sociology, and how to understand it properly.

Where as most of the books, [i.e. the Giddens Sociology book-which i definately recommend everyone in buying] have just an overload of facts, cases, theorists etc.

So, in other words, buy this book if you want help understanding sociology - it's a fairly light read and wont take you long.

i would even recommend it to people who have studied sociology before, because i believe you'll end up thinking in a completely different way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking Sociologically (Paperback)
This book is one useful book that can facilitate students' understanding of the subject & it is definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what i needed, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking Sociologically (Paperback)
Exactly what i wanted and the item has proved to be great value for the money that i paid for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like it, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking Sociologically (Paperback)
This book is providing different perspective to daily actions and communications people make. After reading this book, I start to see other perspectives of everything in daily life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read., 7 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking Sociologically (Paperback)
I found this book quite daunting and confusing at first as I have limited knowledge of Sociology. However, once I read further into it, it made more sense and was very interesting. I recommend this book to anybody, even if they aren't particularly interested in Sociology because it generally makes some really valid points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughts are Who You Are, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking Sociologically (Paperback)
Thinking is what changed my thought process?? have you got it. Read this book and embrace the change
Philip Coonan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking Sociologically (Paperback)
I would love to study sociology at university and this book has opened my eyes to everything marvelously sociological. This book is a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thinking Sociologically
Thinking Sociologically by Tim May (Paperback - 4 July 2001)
17.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews