Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book for practioners and researchers, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: Developmental Disorders of Language Learning and Cognition (Paperback)
Hulme and Snowling, well respeted academics in their own right, have teamed up to provide this authoritative review of developmental disorders. The book provides an overview of a number of developmental disorders, yet gives enough detail on research findings that make this a valuable source book for any interested in developmental psychology. As well as providing an up to date picture of current research findings and academic thinking it gives useful advice and information for the practioner Educational or Clinical Psychologist. It is clear that the authors are experienced Child Psychologists as well as academics.

The book takes the notion of three tiers of explanation - the biological, cognitive and behavioural for any disorder. This framework is a powerful one as it enables the examination of pathways to difficulties, whether these be neuro-logical, memory or other cognitive factors, and how this impinges on observed difficulties/behaviour.
The book give a general introduction and then provides chapters on Reading Disorders (Dyslexia and Comprehension difficulties), Specific Language Impairment, Mathematics Disorder, Developmental Coordination Disorder (dyspraxia), ADHD and Autism. It is clearly written with good illustrations/tables where appropriate and with useful summaries in each chapter.

This book is a must for any practioner psychologist, academic or Psychology student interested in children's development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Reference Book, 24 Aug 2009
By 
P. Dhingra - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Developmental Disorders of Language Learning and Cognition (Paperback)
This book is a brilliant reference book with recent research and theoretical frameworks around developmental disorders in children. A must have for psychologists/trainee psychologists who work with children and want to keep up with current research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says in the tin!, 28 Mar 2009
By 
M. Pontin "Mads the Merciless" (WEST HAM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Developmental Disorders of Language Learning and Cognition (Paperback)
This book by the research team of Hulme and Snowling is a key work investigating developmental disorders of Language Learning and cognition - such as dyslexia. The book brings together recent research into the genetics and influence of early environment on young children. Some children may have a predisposition for a learning or cognition disorder, others may develop these conditions. The book also discusses co-morbidity. This book is useful for students and teachers alike,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for third year psychology developmental disorders module, 27 Mar 2014
This review is from: Developmental Disorders of Language Learning and Cognition (Paperback)
Great book for learning about Dyslexia, ADHD, Autism, SLI, Dyscalculia and DCD (Dyspraxia).
Quite heavy though, recommended for third years and up. Not really for freshers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worded, 2 Nov 2013
By 
P. Fernandez (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developmental Disorders of Language Learning and Cognition (Paperback)
Good book for initial reading and simply worded without too much technical detail. It does describe the individual disorders but it must be remembered that overlap of developmental disorders is a common feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developmental Disorders of Language Learning and Cognition (Paperback)
very good book with very practical cases on developmental disorders. the overview is very interesting and the studies presented very well documented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and well written, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developmental Disorders of Language Learning and Cognition (Paperback)
Very useful as a general background guide when I was doing my Masters in Developmental Psychopathology, it really supliments all the journals you will read and brings things together beautifully. I found it to be one of the most interesting of the books I read in preparation for my course - recommended for anyone studying the field of child development or psychopathology, clincial psychology, education etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developmental Disorders of Language Learning and Cognition (Paperback)
I love the fact, that you can actually buy your university setbooks on Amazon, for a fairly low price. It makes things easier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ED841 Set book, 14 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developmental Disorders of Language Learning and Cognition (Paperback)
Obviously I bought this book because I had to do so for my postgraduate OU course. I decided on a physical book rather than electronic because it is easier to just read the book as a book whilst still able to read my associated reading activities in my course materials. I also feel that as I will only need the book for one year, I will be able to sell it on as used next year to recoup some of the cost and save somebody else a few pounds. I am part way into the course now and this book has been very useful so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 26 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developmental Disorders of Language Learning and Cognition (Paperback)
Bought for my daughter who is in third year physchology degree at Hull uni. It has helped her with her studies. Just the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Developmental Disorders of Language Learning and Cognition
Developmental Disorders of Language Learning and Cognition by Margaret J. Snowling (Paperback - 19 Dec 2008)
22.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews