Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reference book - a must for Tolkien fans.
This is a fabulous book!
All the maps are line drawings in simple tones such as black and brick colours - don't expect funky digital maps or a wealth of colours; that, however, does NOT detract from the excellence of this work! In fact - it is a bonus in my view: makes the maps clearer and more precise: it's also a nicer "feel".
I have sat and studied some of...
Published on 26 Sep 2003 by muttmummy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better (but probably far more expensive if so).
I have to confess to being something of a Tolkien nerd. For me, this atlas is essential, and I am prepared to put in some work to get full use and maximum information out of it. However, this is also the reason I am only giving it 3 stars - because although it met all my expectations on one level, with its detailed presentations of many areas of Middle Earth and of the...
Published 13 months ago by magdalene42


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reference book - a must for Tolkien fans., 26 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Atlas of Middle Earth (Paperback)
This is a fabulous book!
All the maps are line drawings in simple tones such as black and brick colours - don't expect funky digital maps or a wealth of colours; that, however, does NOT detract from the excellence of this work! In fact - it is a bonus in my view: makes the maps clearer and more precise: it's also a nicer "feel".
I have sat and studied some of these maps for ages - and they really bring to life the travels of Frodo, Bilbo and the Fellowship in great detail. You get info right down to climates of the regions! I was enthrawled for who knows how long on the Moria maps (my favourite Tolkien place!) and it really gave depth to the extent of the journey the Fellowship took.
This is simply a MUST, not just for staunch Tolkien fans but as a trusty companion to the LOTR books for any reader (along with a Tolkien dictionary/encyclopedia).
You will be so glad you invested in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 14 Dec 2007
By 
Craig Manton (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Clearly the result of many year's work and research, the Atlas of Middle-Earth has all the background info on Tolkien's world that a person could ever want, ranging from the very creation of Middle-Earth to the Fourth Age. Put simply, if you are a fan of Tolkien, this must have a place on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid!, 20 Jun 2009
By 
Omally (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Atlas of Middle Earth (Paperback)
Quite simply a masterpiece. Any Tolkien fan will love using this Atlas to explore Middle Earth, thanks to the stunning detail and ease of reference. Normally, when reading a book, one gains enjoyment from building an image of the landscape in one's own mind; this Atlas does not detract from that enjoyment, rather it enhances one's own imagination and makes all of Tolkiens' works much more enjoyable, which is hard to believe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars precious, 18 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Atlas of Middle Earth (Paperback)
Beautifull illustrated maps, with interesting comments and notes. Things you hadn't even thought about are in it, climate in middle-earth, a map from menegroth, moria, ..., an endless list of beautifull, unseen maps. Only downside I think is the colors of the maps. There isn't much color, and this gives it an authentic touch, very nice. But sometimes you can't clearly see what is meant with what arrow since the means of making different arrows are limited. But everything else makes it definitly worth to be bought. The Climate of middle earth, rock types, average speed of the fellowship per day, ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but could be greater, 12 Aug 2011
By 
A. R. Jackson (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Atlas of Middle Earth (Paperback)
I would really love this book if it was in coffee-table format and printed on art paper. The actual book is certainly very good value at the current price, but I would gladly have paid more for better quality paper.

There is a good level of detail in all maps but I would have liked even more in some of them.

Tolkien's Geology and Earth Science knowledge may have been somewhat confused but Ronstad's Geography and Cartography skills are great at bringing breadth and depth to the experience of (re-)reading Tolkien's works.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atlas of Middle Earth from a partner's perspective, 24 Nov 2010
By 
Carol Yates (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Atlas of Middle Earth (Paperback)
Bought this for my Tolkein mad partner, who hasn't put it down since! Apparently it's very good and there is lots of cross referencing and 'ah''s and 'ooh''s going on along with me possibly never seeing him for a protracted period of time again...unless it's to tell me all about Numenor and other places I have no idea about...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift, 11 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Atlas of Middle Earth (Paperback)
This book was very comprehensive,I don't know much about the Tolkein books but I love the films and the poetry. I previously bought her dragonlance map book and it was brilliant. This is incredibly detailed and tells you things you didn't even know or think of and includes some interesting information about the journeys the characters made.It was bought as a gift for my Tolkein loving Boyfriend and he was very impressed. Easy to understand even for me and my limited knowledge of the books and very nicely illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Cartographic Companion to Middle Earth, 18 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Atlas of Middle Earth (Paperback)
Frankly indispensable to any true lover of Tolkien. I would not be without this book. It can be used as a companion when reading Tolkien or as something to dip into whenever you feel like a dose of Middle Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better (but probably far more expensive if so)., 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Atlas of Middle Earth (Paperback)
I have to confess to being something of a Tolkien nerd. For me, this atlas is essential, and I am prepared to put in some work to get full use and maximum information out of it. However, this is also the reason I am only giving it 3 stars - because although it met all my expectations on one level, with its detailed presentations of many areas of Middle Earth and of the main characters' journeys, I can see that for a general reader, making best use of it could be somewhat difficult.

This is not because of any lack of ability on the part of the author. The late Karen Fonstad was a professional cartographer and she devoted quite a few years of her (far too short) life to developing atlases of imaginary worlds, including Ann McCaffrey's Pern and the Forgotten Realms of AD&D fame. She knew what she was doing. However in the case of this edition of this particular atlas, she is let down by the almost monochrome colour scheme to which the maps are restricted (brown, black and beige ... really could not be less helpful if it tried!) and also by some very dodgy proofreading.

'Erresea'? Where is that? And 'Aqualonde'? These two mistakes occur on the same map, p.7 of this edition. That's just careless.

I appreciate that providing full colour maps would probably have driven the price of this book up too high, but it's still a pity that neither those, nor some more effective proof reading, could be provided before the latest edition went to press. Perhaps it's not much to hope for that a future edition might address at least the misspellings. Unfortunately the maps themselves seem destined to remain almost impenetrable to anyone who is not, well, something of a Tolkien nerd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atlas of Middle Earth, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Atlas of Middle Earth (Paperback)
Having begun reading Tolkien later in life! I am so enjoying the books and this Atlas of Middle Earth is brilliant. It makes it so much easier to follow the plot and understand what can be at times very difficult to understand (or perhaps thats my age giving me away)A lovely book, well drawn and just a pleasure to read alone but when by your side as you are reading one of Tolkien's books - well, it is a treasure. Really highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Atlas of Middle Earth
The Atlas of Middle Earth by Karen Wynn Fonstad (Paperback - 8 April 2002)
14.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews