Customer Reviews


506 Reviews
5 star:
 (318)
4 star:
 (90)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of nature
I believe that you don't just read Wuthering Heights, you live it. What can I honestly say about Wuthering Heights that could show my affection I have with the story? Since reading it for my English Literature A Level, I have lived the story countless times; thought about it everyday. It's a novel that leaves you either confused, saddened or emotionally connected with not...
Published on 13 Oct. 2012 by L. D. Alderton

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Norton's 'Wuthering Heights'
As you would expect from any Norton critical edition of a text, this is far more detailed than other editions. The notes at the bottom of the pages are decent - the handy translations of Joseph's dialect are helpful. (It must be said, however, these notes are not as extensive as the Penguin Classics edition.) It contains a selection of Emily Brontė's poetry, a detailed...
Published on 7 Jun. 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of nature, 13 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I believe that you don't just read Wuthering Heights, you live it. What can I honestly say about Wuthering Heights that could show my affection I have with the story? Since reading it for my English Literature A Level, I have lived the story countless times; thought about it everyday. It's a novel that leaves you either confused, saddened or emotionally connected with not only the characters, but the Yorkshire moors and the house that is Wuthering Heights. It won't leave you - it changes you. The story, so secluded in itself is nothing like the other books I have read, for it gives you what you want in a novel: characters, setting, plot, themes, all wonderfully developed, leaving them all in your imagination to flourish as you keep reading.

The writing is simply beautiful, expressing the setting, character and plot perfectly in such a dire situation. Yes, this is one of the most extreme, horrid and liminal stories I've read, but the way in which the characters unfold, the Gothic overtakes and the ultimate downfalls of Catherine and Heathcliff is what subsidizes the experience of reading this phenomenal novel. No wonder Brontė is the "Sphynx of Literature": as she writes from the heart, mind and soul. The extremeness of Catherine's "Nelly, I am Heathcliff" and "My love for Edgar resembles the foliage in the woods: time will change it" also sticks with you and you question whether this love between Catherine and Heathcliff will be as strong as your love for someone else.

It does not just deal with the love and eventual downfalls of Catherine and Heathcliff, it also introduces side plots, such as Hindley's drinking, Hareton's illiteracy and the overall themes of power, wealth and choice to co-inside superiorly. These are done throughout the book to lift it from a "love story" to a "domesticated tragedy", providing the minor characters with fulfilling roles that you can argue take centre stage at points in the novel. Perhaps these were themes Brontė knew well enough to pour such detail and corruption into such a typical novel that baffled critics when first published.

I can't write how much I love this novel, for it is in itself a masterpiece of nature: a violent piece of beauty. It will be the novel I read over and over again, to myself, my children and my grandchildren. There is nothing I could say to express how I feel about this novel; I adore Emily Brontė for being such a daring human to explore the liminal, the Gothic and for the way it has truly impacted on my life. It will become my bible throughout life, and I will have pleasure in reading it time and time again, because it's a timeless classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 26 April 2009
By 
I. Morrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very useful book, includes a little critical opinion, used it for revision for AS english literature.
Is the updated version of the other york notes so don't buy both like i did by accident :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


124 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 29 Nov. 2001
Right, where do i begin??? how did i ever live without reading this book?? i was told by some idiot that it was boring which put me off for a while, but i read it recently and was totally blown away!! It is honestly the most intense, passionate, maddening book i've ever read. It starts out strong and keeps on going, i actually had to force myself not to read it all in one night and to save some for the next day! Emily Bronte uses such powerful imagery in her prose that it just stuns you. The setting of the story in the Yorkshire moors was absolutely fitting, i doubt that if it had been set anywhere else it couldn't have possibly been half as powerful. The moors add to the air of mystery, gloom, beauty, passion,love, and tragedy. Heathcliff and Cathy are definately the most interesting and intense pair of lovers i have ever read of. Heathcliff especially provokes me, mostly because i cannot decide whether i love or hate him, and that is but one part of the genius of this book. Heathcliff is the hero/anti-hero of the book and just so utterly fascinating a character. The best ingredient of this masterpiece is the fact that the story takes place in such a secluded region, with equally interesting characters, away from the social niceties and civilities that are common in other books of this time. Therefore, the passion and tragedy of the love and hatred in this story is more strongly felt. I could honestly go on forever but i'll spare all you readers out there. All i will say is that you definately must read this book, i know that this is horribly cliche but it truly is one of the best books i have ever read in my life! You will not be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book ever written, 3 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
I read this novel when I was 17 and it was the sole reason for me choosing to study English Literature at Degree Level. Nine years on and having read a library full of books this is still miles ahead of some of the best works of literature ever written as far as I am concerned. It amazes me that people do not like it - how can you not be moved by the passion Cathy and Heathcliff feel for one another? Their story is like no other in literature. Really they had no place in 19th Century Literature and Emily knew this when she wrote her novel. Take them out of Wuthering Heights and you have a genteel story of a girl teaching a boy to read and write so that he is worthy of marrying her. This in itself would have made a good novel but only Emily Bronte was brave enough to make the wild, wicked Cathy and demonic Heathcliff her central characters. Even Charlotte Bronte seemed terrified at the power of the book and thought it her role to defend her sisters writings. To anyone who has never read it - do so!! You will love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Grim Up North, 6 Sept. 2007
By 
Rotgut "rotgut" (Warrington UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A true classic of English Literature that has stood the test of time, with settings and characters that have entered the national consciousness. Its raw power is amazing considering its author's age and apparent lack of experience in life.

Re-reading as an adult, one is perhaps struck by how wordy the later passages in the book are, the self destructive relationship between Cathy and Heathcliff is what stays in the reader's memory most. Unlike, say, Jane Austen's equally timeless works, it is not possible to say "Wuthering Heights" grows with repeat reading. The strange narrative devices are a bit distracting, and some sections sag.

The opening scene, in contrast,where the ghost of Cathy shatters the glass in the window of the narrator's bedroom, letting in the lashing storm, is surely one of the most striking ever written.

Graphic moments such as this opening, and the fierce, uncompromising lovers who leap from the page, make this book's reputation well deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tale of love, jealousy and destruction, 21 Dec. 2013
`Wuthering Heights' is a great romantic-gothic novel that transports you to the lonely moors of Yorkshire. The isolation that is prevalent throughout the novel holds you in its grasp and I found myself yearning for character interaction in the story. Because whilst the story of Catherine and Heathcliff is told by Nelly, I wanted to hear their version of events in a bid to find out more about the mysterious, yet controlling villain.

Heathcliff.... what a rogue! You desperately want to feel sorry for this poor boy at the start of the novel, especially with how Catherine and Hindley (her brother) treat him when he is first brought to Wuthering Heights. But then Bronte reveals more about his character and his ugly ambitions. Heathcliff is a great gothic villain and readers never learn very much about his past, where he went when he left Wuthering Heights and how he came back such a powerful character. However, over the course of the novel, his ambitions become clear and you can predict how he wishes to destroy those around him in revenge to how he was treated as a youngster by the family and even society. I couldn't help but admire how Heathcliff grew from strength to strength, proving that no matter how little life gives you at the start, it is down to your own actions to make something out of nothing.

Now don't get me wrong, the control Heathcliff exerts over his wife, son and niece is both remarkable and cruel. It is horrifying to see how he is able to destroy two families through calculated relationships and property ownership. He takes his revenge on the society that spurned him and becomes a very powerful man. As the novel progresses, readers can predict Heathcliff's next move but it is how he executes it that left me wanting to shout at the other characters for letting themselves be fooled.

I really enjoyed reading this book, perhaps because of how awful Heathcliff becomes, but also because I was desperate to see what his ultimate fate would be. Whilst at times I found the narrative a little dense, Bronte's characters give tremendous fuel to the plot. If you are the sort of person that loves to hate the villain of a story (whilst secretly admiring all that they do), then definitely read `Wuthering Heights ` and the tale of Mr Heathcliff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without wanting to sound cliched.., 2 Aug. 2004
This is one of my favourite novels. I read it for the first time when I was twelve, which doesn't sound like long ago (I'm only seventeen now), but what is important is that it was the first time I sampled a novel of this quality. The first time I had read a novel of love and loss that was dramatic, and realistic and twisted and evil and passionate. Yes, there were a lot of 'and's in that sentence, but that in itself is an expression of how much I love this book.
It's a bit like pulp romance EXCEPT that it has so much more depth and meaning and beauty. And it isn't a big pile of cow poo. I apologise profusely for that. I'm meant to be being all mature and reviewing a few books on Amazon and I accidentally keep comparing them to animal faeces. I think it just shows that I am a passionate reader. So anyway, buy Wuthering Heights, spend the change on a packet of Munchies. It's only £1.50, and it could change your life. You may become an impassioned lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Piece of English Literature, 12 April 2001
By A Customer
Everything about this book makes it makes it truly brilliant. The wild setting of the Yorkshire Moors, the grey and dark ambience of the Heights, the contrast of this at the Grange. Wuthering Heights is full of; love; romance; passion; revenge; and violence; covering ideas about: nature; religion; superstition; death; and the social values of the 19th Century. Criticised when it first came out because the book was written so far ahead of its time, it explores feminist ideas about the inheritance of land and money, and about marriage for social status. Possibly offensive to the original Victorian audience who would have read it, it would appeal to a modern readership subsequently, something of which, due to her premature death, Brontė would never learn of.
Brontė writes about her own experience in this book, with some characters closely relating to her own life. Her sole piece of literature shows her unique outlook on existence, and denying the reader perhaps the resolved ending they would have desired; instead we get the realistic conclusion that everyone can relate to.
Every character in this novel can portray a whole group of people. Heathcliff can represent the 'working class hero come good'. Brontė skilfully manipulates the reader into sympathising with Heathcliff, despite his appalling and violent behaviour later on. Catherine is reckless, passionate and rebellious, but maintains a clear head; she is aware of the importance of keeping a high status in the world. Brontė presents this with her marriage to Edgar Linton, denying her genuine, but concealed, feelings for Heathcliff. Even with Edgar's laissez-faire attitude to Catherine's close friendship to Heathcliff, can create the strong contrast between the two men. The reader can discover the shocking lengths that Heathcliff goes to for revenge against his former anguish, in an almost psychotic way that spans beyond death. His treatment by Catherine's brother Hindley, and his betrayal by Catherine for marrying Edgar causes him to enact a series of events including marriage without love and mistreatment of others in the most terrible way. Interestingly, Brontė allows everything to be observed by the character Nelly in an almost voyeuristic way, despite the fact she is a narrator to the story; it shows the idea of narrators being fair and trusting can occasionally be false. Every character is different, and often unconventional, represented in a certain way for a certain reason. The book successfully takes us over two generations of characters, each with different ideas, personalities and attitudes.
This book can be quite confusing at times by the use of similar names such Catherine's daughter also being named Catherine and Isabella Linton calling her son Linton. Also having to travel through two sets of narration in a non-chronological order. However, Brontė deals with all these factors marvellously and the powerful setting, intriguing characters and wide range of ideas challenged makes this book a political masterpiece of English Literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stick in there!, 20 July 2009
By 
Louise Tassiker (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recently took this book on holiday & found myself struggling to get into the story.

Fortunately i am one of those people who can't start a book without finishing it!

I seemed to be trailing over the first quarter of the book, some of the character quotations are very hard to understand (particularly Joseph) but if you take your time you soon get the hang of it.

The novel is written in a way that the gentleman telling the story is actually repeating the story as it was told to him by the main characters maid/nanny which brings a really interesting angle to the book.

By half way through i was addicted, i couldn't wait to find out what happened to Catherine and Heathcliff. I was lost in the novel and really felt part of it.

This is a good read and i'd highly recommend it but i would suggest having patience to get past the first part it really is worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wuthering heights, 9 Nov. 2003
this is one of those books that has entered the public conciseness, everyone thinks they know the story, it's a lovely victorian girly love story, right? Wrong it is a love story but it is a story of a powerfull destructive kind of love. Heathcliff & Cathy are the most selfish pair of B's in literature, when the book was published it was under a male pen name and when it came out that it was written by a woman people didn't belive it. The way it's written is really inventive also, it is narrated all in the third person by Nelly Dean, a house keeper to the present tenant(read the book), the chronology is also complex the tale is not told sequencially but jumps back and forth, in the same manner as Resevoure Dogs. This is one of my favourite books and I have read it again and again, do yourself a favour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wuthering Heights (New Riverside Editions)
Wuthering Heights (New Riverside Editions) by Emily Bronte (Paperback - 23 Oct. 2003)
Used & New from: £2.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews