Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Terrific story to tell, great book and well presented. If you saw the Tom Hanks film then this book adds in some of the details and characters that were 'repackaged' for the Hollywood film version. The photos in the middle of the wrecked ship stop you and make you think how lucky these guys were.
Great book, I left my original copy on a flight in China last month and...
Published on 16 Nov. 2003 by Shawade

versus
2 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All She Ever Wanted
very readable
Published on 14 April 2005 by Mrs. P. L. Foulsham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Apollo 13: Anniversary Edition (Hardcover)
Terrific story to tell, great book and well presented. If you saw the Tom Hanks film then this book adds in some of the details and characters that were 'repackaged' for the Hollywood film version. The photos in the middle of the wrecked ship stop you and make you think how lucky these guys were.
Great book, I left my original copy on a flight in China last month and so had to order another... even though I had finished it I know this is one I will come back to again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The amazing story of NASA's sucessful failure., 24 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Apollo 13: Anniversary Edition (Hardcover)
This is am amazing book telling the true story of the Apollo 13 mision, which after a number of serious catastrophes made it back to earth against all the odds. The story is almost unbelieveable, it is amazing that anyone else went into space after this. It also goes to show that the staff on the ground are just as much heros as the astronauts. The authors go into extreme detail about this and previous missions. This book is a must for anyone interested in space flight, and anyone who saw the film and enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triumphant teamwork, 2 Dec. 2003
By 
Simon Southwell (Bristol, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was too small to remember much of the feelings around the world when the news broke that Apollo 13 had had an explosion onboard, and the crew's safety was in doubt. By all accounts the whole world seemed to hold its collective breath until the command module splashed down.
In this book the inside anxiety of the crew, as well as all at mission control and their contractors is conveyed. It is really a story of how everyone---hundreds, if not thousands of people---pulled together to save the lives of three men, left drifting in space with dangerously low resources. The inventiveness of solving each problem is amazing; and the problems kept mounting. Carbondioxide poisoning, skewed trajectories, no navigation computers, potentially damaged rockets, doubtful heatshield. At each stage the team worked the problem as best they could with inventiveness and true grit; never giving up. The explanation of the accident's cause is as intriguing as the tale itself (glossed over in the film), and serves as warning to all who work on safety critical system.
It is a true American tale---a success in failure, as it showed how America could "organize and measure the best of [thier] energies and skills" as Kennedy said at Rice University.
This collaborative effort between the commander of Apollo 13, Jim Lovell, and Jeff Kluger makes for a terrific read and captures the feeling of the times wonderfully. A tale which is now part of American history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The other iconic Apollo mission story, 14 Sept. 2009
The book on which the 1994 film "Apollo 13" was based is a rather wonderful read. Jeffrey Kluger has turned Jim Lovell's fascinating take on the four-and-a-bit days he spent surviving a near catastrophe in the spaceship he commanded into a very entertainingly written book which never falls into swathes of dull technospeak.

Much of the material had to be by necessity compacted or omitted from the screenplay and so it is an enormous pleasure to be able to read the full story "warts and all", including a NASA insider's take on the dreadful Apollo 1 fire and the final report into the events that led up to the failures of the Apollo 13 capsule. Mostly, however, the negatives are not dwelt upon, and it is the successful return of Astronauts Lovell, Swigert and Haise and how that was made possible that is rightly the main focus of this story.

Jim Lovell comes across as a truly level-headed guy and precisely the person you would want as your Commander in a spaceship that's gone wrong a quarter of a million miles from Earth. Some aspects of his life before and after the experiences of 13 - 17 April 1970 are also mentioned, as well as those of his worried Earthbound family at the time, but it is the story of mission itself and the terrific support of those ever-so-clever folk at NASA which grips and fascinates the reader for the bulk of this book.

There is a real sense of Jim Lovell's personal loss at missing his one chance at ever walking on the Moon after all his years of training, but the triumph of the story of their survival against incredible odds will probably outlast that of some of the later Moon missions in the public memory and, after the first lunar landing, in many ways this has become the other iconic story from all the Apollo missions.

A very impressive book indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apollo 13, the true story, 14 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Apollo 13 (Paperback)
Reading this book feels like flying with apollo 13, an unbelievable experience. For space enthusiasts and for those who remember that apollo 13 is not just a science fiction film. Jim Lovell was actually aboard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History brought to life, 6 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Apollo 13 (Paperback)
I was fourteen years old when Apollo 13 was in difficulties and can vividly remember coming home from school and watching the six o'clock news (in black & white) desperate to know they were safe. The relief, everyone felt, when they landed safely. When reading the book I was unable to put it down. It brought the people involved to life and also made me realise how amazing it was that they actually survived. I would recommended this book to everyone. It has the right balance of a personal story and a dramatic but factual account of the voyage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insight, 8 Dec. 2013
By 
G. Hendrie (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apollo 13: Anniversary Edition (Hardcover)
I got this after watching the film for what must have been the twentieth time and, thinking I knew the story inside-out, wondered what I was missing.

The book gives a lot of interesting background to Lovell's life and the early days of the Astronaut programme. The Apollo 1 Launchpad fire is covered in some detail as are a number of other fatal accidents. This isn't unnecessarily macabre, as understanding the human and technical failings is key to understanding the root cause of the Apollo 13 story and the subsequent NASA incidents.

There are a lot of 'characters' in the book as one would expect, however I didn't really feel we got to 'know' any of them at all, less perhaps the Lovell's. This is disappointing. I'd like to have learned more about Haise and Swiggert especially but apart from maybe one or two nuggets of info, very little of their character really comes through.

Overall, the story can get a bit dry in places and doesn't leave the reader feeling the same frenetic pace of activity that they will have enjoyed watching the film. Understandable, but for me, costs an otherwise detailed account a five star rating. Regardless, true fans of the film must read it and those who want an insight into how an organisation like NASA transforms itself 'in contact' in order to meet the aim is hugely interesting, although it is this latter point that I would have loved to read more of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A triumph, 14 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Apollo 13: Anniversary Edition (Hardcover)
This book was thoroughly enjoyable. Lovell et al give us a history of the NASA space program. It tells the story from three different sides. 1) The story of the mission on board the ship 2)From mission control 3) From the point of view of Lovell's wife.
The book does go into technical details but it is all explained in simple in english so the reader is given a real understanding of how NASA worked.
I can strongly recommend this book. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 22 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Apollo 13: Anniversary Edition (Hardcover)
My wife bought this for me as a birthday present and what a superb book. A lot of people have seen the film directed by Ron Howard and staring Tom Hanks including myself. And if you are keen to know more then this is the book for you. Written in great detail, it is a gripping and compelling story of this remarkable event written by the commander [Jim Lovell] of the bravery and professionalism of the crew and the dogged determination and resolve of the ground controllers to find a solution to bring the crippled spacecraft back safely to earth. Interestingly read the book and watch the film again, you will find that all the gaps are filled in and all the jargon makes sense! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Apollo 13 [The Lost Moon], 5 Dec. 2013
By 
J. G. Spry "Crispin" (Hornchurch, Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apollo 13: Anniversary Edition (Hardcover)
I am old enough to have experienced this event live. Having watched the movie numerous times I decided to read Jim Lovell's account of this epic rescue in space. I wasn't disappointed. There is obviously much more to the story than was shown in the movie. It's a bit like "The Titanic"; you know the story, but the devil is in the detail. It really shows how a group of clever people fixed numerous problems to get the crew safely home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apollo 13: Anniversary Edition
Apollo 13: Anniversary Edition by Jeffrey Klugar (Hardcover - 8 April 2002)
£18.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews