Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I will see you again in 25 years..., 8 Aug 2014
By 
B. Thomson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections, An Oral History of Twin Peaks (Paperback)
There have been various other books about this classic, groundbreaking series; some superficial, others collecting rather esoteric academic theses on supposed parallels of Twin Peaks with Arthurian legend, Shakespeare and such like. Yeah, maybe...

This book is not like that. It is primarily a collection of interviews with the producers, directors, cast and crew of Twin Peaks. David Lynch is not interviewed here - but we've heard his voice elsewhere many times and there is a good example in the book Lynch on Lynch.

Despite most of the interviews having taken place nearly 25 years after the fact, the level of detail in the book brings the whole thing back to life, almost as if it were happening now. The reminiscences and insights seem honest and often pull no punches, particularly about the producers and TV big men, Lynch's role as occasional director and general inspiration, and the events relating to the demise of the series. The lines of questioning were clearly intelligent and informed and author Brad Dukes (a fan since the age of 9) has done a great job of editing the material into a coherent form (although I'd love to see the unedited stuff too!). The layout is arranged chronologically, from the genesis of the show, the pilot, through seasons 1 and 2, to its premature ending. There are also some comments on the film Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me.

Over 90% of names commonly associated with Twin Peaks have their comments recorded here, ranging from deeply insightful, extremely funny, angry, regretful to wistful. Some of the stories fans will have heard before but the versions presented here often differ in detail, even offering different versions of the same event. It is clear that everyone associated with Twin Peaks was hugely affected by their involvement and knew they were a part of something very special. And, despite the exposures and details on offer here, there remains something uniquely wonderful and strange at the heart of Twin Peaks, which is clearly not unrelated to the influence of David Lynch, even when he wasn't actually present.

I was tempted to quote from the book but I think most readers, whether new to the series, fervent fans or just curious, will find this book irresistible and I strongly suggest that anyone interested should purchase a copy forthwith. The publication of this book is particularly timely, given the recent release of the Twin Peaks: The Entire Mystery box set.
The only negative comment to make is that the reproductions of the photos in black and white are of poor quality - but this is a minor quibble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all 'Twin Peaks' fans who miss the show, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections, An Oral History of Twin Peaks (Paperback)
As a self-confessed 'Twin Peaks' fan, it's probably hard for me to be completely unbiased in my review of any product associated with the show. My expectations are high, so i'm probably a harsh critic. With that in mind, i'm pleased to say that this retrospective is a damn fine delight; full of anecdotes and interesting asides from many of the key cast and crew. Allas, David Lynch is an obvious miss and there's not enough from Sherilyn Fenn but this is wonderful from start to finish. Thank you Mr Dukes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supremely well researched and endlessly illuminating, 8 Sep 2014
By 
M. Robertson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections, An Oral History of Twin Peaks (Paperback)
This collection of interviews really is the last word on the creation of Twin Peaks.

Dukes has interviewed an exhaustive number of people from behind (and in front of) the scenes and the stories he's uncovered are fascinating, illuminating and full of warmth. It's reassuring to know how fondly regarded the show still is to the people behind it, although this is no whitewash and there are some very candid behind-the-scenes stories.

I'd pretty much exhausted what there is to read on Twin Peaks yet Dukes' book has vividly brought to life some fascinating stories I'd never heard (and which I won't spoil here).

Recommended without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be on every Twin Peaks fan's bookshelf, 5 Sep 2014
By 
A. C. Clark (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections, An Oral History of Twin Peaks (Paperback)
A wonderful collection of memories and recollections from lots of people involved in the creation of Twin Peaks. Lots of fascinating insights and new information. Essential for any Twin Peaks fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You still don't know the whole story..., 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections, An Oral History of Twin Peaks (Paperback)
I thought I had already read every story that could possibly ever be told about a TV series that came and went over 20 years ago, but I was gently coerced into giving this a try by the brilliantly enthusiastic folk at welcometotwinpeaks.com and I'm enormously glad that I did.

The insights shared by cast, crew and creators are fresh, vivid and enlightening, as well as benefitting from the grace of having 20 years to stop worrying about upsetting anybody by telling the truth!

This is not only essential reading for all Twin Peaks fans, it's also highly entertaining and sublimely curated by Brad Dukes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best post mortem collection of insights on a tv show ..., 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best post mortem collection of insights on a tv show I've ever read. Chronology and layout is perfect and the dialogue flows like a movie script. Unbelievably good effort by Mr Dukes. Don't miss this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only Twin Peaks book you'll ever need to read!!, 14 July 2014
By 
R. Owen (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections, An Oral History of Twin Peaks (Paperback)
Twin Peaks is a lot like Marmite in that you either love it or hate it - Me? I think Marmite is disgusting but love Twin Peaks with a passion - a passion i'd not felt before for a series & haven't since. Anyways, i received this at 9am this very morning & haven't wanted to put it down since but have just so i can write this review....Basically? If you're a fan of the show, do not hesitate to buy this book as you won't be disappointed - far from it infact!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An exquisite book of memories, 23 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections, An Oral History of Twin Peaks (Paperback)
An exquisite book of memories of the making of the cult series 25 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections, An Oral History of Twin Peaks (Paperback)
Good service. Exactly as described. Very satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reflections, An Oral History of Twin Peaks
Reflections, An Oral History of Twin Peaks by Brad Dukes (Paperback - 24 Jun 2014)
£13.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews