Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally captivating
Not wanting to give anything away, I started reading this book & couldn't put it down as I wanted to find out what happens next. ..Love how it jumps back & forth. It's so well written & amusing in parts. I've never been a Jehovah's Witness, although I know quite a bit about them & it's great how the author explains parts that non witnesses would comprehend. It truly is a...
Published 18 months ago by Susan Barber

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
An interesting perspective from someone who worked at the heart of this 'religion'/publishing company. Anyone thinking of joining this religion would do well to read it.

A bit too much detail on the author's sexual interests, personal success and physical attributes for me made it sound like therapy for him in places but a good insight into this odd little cult...
Published 18 months ago by Obiwan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally captivating, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to God's House: An inside story of life at the World Headquarters of Jehovah's Witnesses in the 1980s (Paperback)
Not wanting to give anything away, I started reading this book & couldn't put it down as I wanted to find out what happens next. ..Love how it jumps back & forth. It's so well written & amusing in parts. I've never been a Jehovah's Witness, although I know quite a bit about them & it's great how the author explains parts that non witnesses would comprehend. It truly is a great insight into life inside the tower as a young man. An eye opener to many & I'd definitely recommend it to others whether you're a Jehovah's Witness or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
jan wilson (eastbourne, east sussex, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to God's House: An inside story of life at the World Headquarters of Jehovah's Witnesses in the 1980s (Paperback)
this man covers sad and upseting stuff with laughter speaking as an ex jw of 30yrs service i thank him for the infomation on bethel no big supprise for me as i have raymond franze books but this is a more up to date book and helps to reconise its not changed one bit, will they ever have any feelings for the millions of people that are very brain washed all the hurt familys go through mine as well when you try to leave, they do have an accounting one day remember watchtower when one finger in pointing to someone THREE are pointint back at you just to turn the tables on them lol good luck Brock hope you sell many and open many eyes, jan south coast of England
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and moving, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to God's House: An inside story of life at the World Headquarters of Jehovah's Witnesses in the 1980s (Paperback)
What is life like in Bethel?

Having served at the UK Bethel I know, and reading this account of life in the Brooklyn Bethel in the early 1980s it brought many memories of that world back.

If you want an insiders view of what it is like to be a Jehovah's Witness and in particular to serve in their headquaters, then I'd thoroughly recommend this book. Packed with anecdotes and often hilarious stories it serves as a great insight into this world.

Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a trip!, 13 Feb. 2014
By 
I have just finished reading the kindle version of this book. Value for money or what! I wished I had read it, it 30 years ago. It is sad that the writer had to experience the nightmare of Bethel working life. What is good, is he left the cult and was able to write about the experience without looking back. What I particularly enjoyed was throughout this experience, the writer was a thinker, who had his own moral compass and value system. He stood up for what was right and wrong. He admits his mistakes and revels in his decision to create a better life for himself. He challenges the circles of power and looks for answers.
If this helps just one JW from having a tormented life then, its done its job. I suspect however, it will help more than just one, wake up, reflect and move on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vary Entertaining Read, 24 Dec. 2013
By 
Traffic (Kiruna, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
just finished reading this book and found it thoroughly entertaining. it is well written and vary interesting to read about life at Bethel, the Headquarters of the Jehovah's Witnesses organization, where the Governing Body are also located. I am currently studying with the Jehovah's Witnesses but like to see both sides of the coin, hence why I have read this book and others like it. I couldn't help but wonder if there was some poetic license in the telling of the tale as some of it seems quite over the top. It has not convinced me to stop studying with the Jehovah's Witnesses but I did enjoy reading it.

No proplems reading it on the Kindle Fire HDX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, informative, and entertaining, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to God's House: An inside story of life at the World Headquarters of Jehovah's Witnesses in the 1980s (Paperback)
Not all those who leave controversial religious groups are embittered. Brock Talon certainly isn’t. He has written quite a hilarious book dealing with life at the Watch Tower Society’s Brooklyn Bethel during the 1980s. The people he works with, including some members of the Governing Body, really come alive in his account.

Some reviewers have commented on Talon’s emphasis on sex. However, this is an important part of one’s growing up, and Talon is presenting the reader with this aspect of Bethel life, as he experienced it. Journey to God’s House is honest, informative, and highly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting and lucid, 4 Feb. 2014
By 
Mrs. Phillipa M. Sidle (Oxford United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read a fair few personal accounts by Jehovah's Witnesses, and this is one of the more interesting and thoughtful. I'd be interested to read more of the author's spiritual journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to God's House: An inside story of life at the World Headquarters of Jehovah's Witnesses in the 1980s (Paperback)
I enjoyed the humour used to bring home the facts about a dangerous and destructive cult - a different take on the recovery process of so many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sad story, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read. Enjoyed it. Right from the start he was not cut out for the job. Steamed ..he started on the wrong foot well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to God's House: An inside story of life at the World Headquarters of Jehovah's Witnesses in the 1980s (Paperback)
It's wonderful to know you're not alone in the world of Ex-JW's. This story is very humorous!! I can relate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews