Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars11
3.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 15 August 2013
Please notice the length of this book - it's quite short.

Sure, if you have pre-existing knowledge, a lot of confidence, time and perseverence you should be able to make a robot.

But in these few pages you won't gain a deep understanding of the underlying theory and be making I don't know, a realistic dog or something interesting as your next project.

It's a relatively sketchy guide which needs a lot of fleshing out - you will have to do that.

At the end, if you're lucky, your Pi will be doing something interesting but I doubt you will understand what it is doing or why.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Really thin book containing sparsely filled pages with little useful information for any level. Sorry if that seems a little harsh, but I'm not used to being quite as disappointed.
The title should really be "Build Your own robot from your own design using bits you've had to find yourself using information you've gathered yourself". If you are capable of doing that yourself, this book provides little additional information and doesn't help you get there either. I've seen far better blog posts on the subject and I can't understand who would benefit from this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Very basic build, doesn't really give much in the way of pictures of breadboard or pi wiring, but in other areas it can be confusing.
Not sure why pictures of destroyed components are used when the space could have been used to show where the un damaged parts should have fitted in the model.
A fair book for ideas but pi tech is advancing fast and maybe even simpler starting robots can be found elsewhere
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
To be fair to this book the 3 stars might be considered harsh depending on what you are hoping for, from the title. Personally I had been hoping for more general information on the construction of a robot using a pi but actually this is more of a step by step guide to building a very specific robot. If you want an easy to follow guide which allows you to create a bot you can show off to friends you would no doubt find this perfect but if you are hoping for a more general book allowing you to plan and build your own bot this isn't for you really.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
For the price I would expect a forty-page booklet to be jam-packed with good stuff not readily available elsewhere.

According to the contents page what you actually get is thirty-two pages, discounting the references, of which the first sixteen are about setting up your Raspberry Pi and installing software, information which is freely available elsewhere. That leaves just sixteen pages to cover the construction and programming of the robot - not a lot for an asking price of around £7.00.

I was drawn to this because I am a Raspberry Pi and robotics enthusiast, and at a price of, say, £1.99, I would buy the Kindle version. At the prices being asked, however, I am afraid I won't be tempted.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Well what do I say, certainly not much the book just didn't cut it and for how few pages there is felt it wasn't worth it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
A consise look at the wonders of the Pi and its ability to control a mini robot, can be used to create bigger better faster robots, this book is a great start to your journey
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
This is a good simple guide to doing your first project and to give you some confidence to move on to more specialist and expensive books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
This book gives all the info needed for anyone interested, although it also helps if you have "techie" and knowledgeable friends!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
A great delivery time. In terms of content, the book is great for programming which is very much step-by-step.
However, I would not advise it for those who do not have experience in electronics for the actual building of the robot (like me) as it can leave you feeling a little lost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)