Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Favorite
This is my favorite of the Pemberley Variations. Although I am a fan of the happy ending, sometimes I like my characters to work a little to get it. Abigail Reynolds creates some excellent tension between the characters. The relationship between Elizabeth and Darcy grows, and endures painful misunderstandings, interference from family, and the characters' own doubts. It...
Published on 1 Feb 2009 by Eee

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From sublime to ridiculous
Well this is a 'what if' version of P&P. What if, after Darcy's proposal and Elizabeth's stormy refusal at Hunsford Parsonage, he unexpectedly has to stay in Kent rather than go away the next day? They both have to face each other, both are mortified, him at the refusal and all the accusations flung at him, and her at the realisation that she has been far too hasty in...
Published on 3 Feb 2012 by Ceri at Babblings of a Bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From sublime to ridiculous, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well this is a 'what if' version of P&P. What if, after Darcy's proposal and Elizabeth's stormy refusal at Hunsford Parsonage, he unexpectedly has to stay in Kent rather than go away the next day? They both have to face each other, both are mortified, him at the refusal and all the accusations flung at him, and her at the realisation that she has been far too hasty in her impressions of both Darcy and Wickham, and the realisation of what her family's behaviour has cost Jane. The times they have to meet in Kent are really well written, lots of uncomfortable emotions etc. They are brought together afterwards in London where Darcy meets the Gardiners etc. This part of the book is really good, I would rate it five star.

But then... bizarre behaviour creeps in. Lydia elopes, as per the real P&P. Lizzy throws a super strop when they come to visit Longbourne after the wedding and goes off in self-righteous indignation at how selfish Lydia has been and then goes on to hypocritically behave in practically the same way. The justification is that Mr and Mrs Bennett haven't been good parents to her, but actually any bad behaviour on her part would have affected her sisters chances. I really don't think Elizabeth would have been so monumentally selfish. She and Darcy are like a pair of randy teenagers frankly, and there is not really much romance, it's all pretty seedy. I would give this part of the book 1 star, as that is the lowest, it's really awful. If I were to re-read this book I would give up at the point where they are invited to Darcy's party in London. It's very good up until that point and after that it's terrible. I don't know why the author changed Elizabeth and Darcy's characters and morals so much, it's such a waste as this could have been an excellent book. I also didn't like the way Mr Bennett's character was changed, he's quite unpleasant in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No chance!, 6 Feb 2008
By 
allspar "allspar" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
For anyone who can read this as a complete standalone, it may be a good read, as Ms Reynolds is by no means without writing talent. However, as a variation on "Pride and Prejudice", it is a disaster. The plot-line is implausible, many episodes are socially and/or psychologically unrealistic, and above all, almost all of the characters (including Elizabeth and Darcy) are wildly out of keeping with Jane Austen's text. In particular, she would not be at all amused to find her favourite heroine turned into a sort of SuperLydia! Sorry, but this really will not do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Favorite, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Eee (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is my favorite of the Pemberley Variations. Although I am a fan of the happy ending, sometimes I like my characters to work a little to get it. Abigail Reynolds creates some excellent tension between the characters. The relationship between Elizabeth and Darcy grows, and endures painful misunderstandings, interference from family, and the characters' own doubts. It is a lovely, balanced characterization. There are some added treats - the poetry, and discussion of the arts and ideas of the time, and we also get to see a rather petulant Georgiana, Mr. Bennet as an idiot, and Lady Catherine at her nasty best. There is just enough detail to give one a sense of the time.

All in all, an excellent choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Way over the top, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find this author to be very hit and miss. This book is definitely a miss i have read all of her P&P variations and honestly I cannot say I like her work and it's all down to this offering which was not good.

It started off alright then it just diverged and became so over the top that it grated on my nerves when I was just halfway through and I lost interest in the conclusion.

It was almost as of someone else took over the writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unsure who to rate this book, 18 Jan 2008
By 
If you like pride and prejudice adaptations, may be one to avoid , starts of great but the authors changes the ideals and character of Elizabeth and Darcy and I just could not see this happening, . Major off put was the continued reference and description of sex throughout the book ! This has put me of reading the other book of the series Abigail Reynolds has written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: By Force of Instinct: A Pride & Prejudice Variation (Paperback)
Another really good story from Abigail Reynolds - have read most of her books now and they never fail to disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one of the better p and p variations, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perhaps a bit much in the way of pre-marital relations but otherwise a good story, with lots of will they/won't they moments and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, 28 Mar 2013
By 
Martine (Tring, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a lover of Abigail Reynolds work I was not disappointed by this addition to her library. I found her being more descriptive and observant as well as the dialogue between the characters being believable and articulate. I hope she continues to produce more P & P what ifs as there are still many scenarios out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars By Force of Instinct, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read Abigail Reynolds before and love her books the storys are great and are always a good read and I would recommend her books to every one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 28 Oct 2014
This review is from: By Force of Instinct: A Pride & Prejudice Variation (Paperback)
enjoyed the story up until the overly explicit sex in the final chapters which i felt were unnessessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

By Force of Instinct: A Pride & Prejudice Variation
By Force of Instinct: A Pride & Prejudice Variation by Abigail Reynolds (Paperback - 19 Oct 2011)
£6.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews