Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read
Loved this book. downloaded the sample first to my kindle and then had to buy the full version. It is an amazing story of gritty effort and never giving up. I am just getting into ultra running and found the book inspirational. As someone who has also struggled with navigational issues it is always good to read that they can be overcome and you can achieve such great...
Published on 13 Sep 2011 by Wend

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok'ish Read
Take my hat of to her for what she has accomplished. But unfortunately the book was a bit of a let down as it just went on about run after run or race after race. Found myself struggling to finish it in the end.
Published on 29 July 2012 by Type 2 Dad


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 13 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book. downloaded the sample first to my kindle and then had to buy the full version. It is an amazing story of gritty effort and never giving up. I am just getting into ultra running and found the book inspirational. As someone who has also struggled with navigational issues it is always good to read that they can be overcome and you can achieve such great things as Moire! Can definitely recommend this book to runners and non runners alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tale of perseverance and pain, 3 July 2011
If you've ever wondered what drives someone to push their body and mind to their limits (and beyond) in an extreme sport, this book gives some insight into the phenomenon. Moire moved back to her native Ireland in 2006 and, in search of friendship and an adrenalin rush, she took up mountain racing. Over the course of a year she evolved from being a complete mountain running rookie to participating in 24 hour mountain marathons and navigation challenges. The Wicklow Round challenge, completing a ring of 26 peaks in the Wicklow Hills within 24 hours, soon becomes an obsession for Moire. This book is about the 3 years of her life that she gave over to that obsession and her progression from newbie to being the first person ever to complete the Wicklow Round challenge.

In the course of the book you are given an introduction to the quirky world of mountain running and the mind-bendingly strange one of ultra mountain racing and ultra orienteering. This is a world where people calmly, seemingly rationally, discuss the relative merits of having a sleep-break during a 24 hour race (the benefit being the rest you get of course) or to keep going through the night (so as not to get cold and stiff and not to have to carry a tent and sleeping bag on your run). A world where people will run multiple marathons up and down mountains over the course of 1, 2, 3 or more days.

But mostly this is a book about Moire's inner journey, about her failures and how she learned from each of them to come back stronger and smarter to overcome each challenge she faced, above all never giving up, never choosing the easy option but pushing herself unremittingly forward.

With a gift for descriptive prose, and a no holds barred honesty in her accounts of physical, emotional and mental struggles, Moire pulls you in and drags you along on her fascinating journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Dec 2012
Having read many many running books I am happy to declare that this is the best.

It has a very personal blog style to describe events and training sessions and entice you to read on.

Fascinating account of mountain running and the peculiar challenge of the Wicklow Round.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ms&t, 12 Dec 2012
Excellent, inspiring read. If you're into running and mountains you'll enjoy this book Makes you want to go for a run in the hills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok'ish Read, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Take my hat of to her for what she has accomplished. But unfortunately the book was a bit of a let down as it just went on about run after run or race after race. Found myself struggling to finish it in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story - very inspiring! Definitely recommend it., 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears: An Irish Woman's Journey of Self-Discovery (Paperback)
Just read this on holidays and really enjoyed it. Read it in one day as it is a fantastic story and you are sucked in from the word go.
Honest account of how Moire became a mountain runner and went on to ultra running with mistakes and learning along the way. It's also a great account of how different people can help support and help you achieve what you previously thought was impossible.
As a road runner (and hiker), it makes me want to try a few trail runs - but nothing as extreme as the Wicklow round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 26 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears: An Irish Woman's Journey of Self-Discovery (Paperback)
I was recommended this book ages ago, but only just got around to buying and reading it. After reading the first couple of chapters I started reading again and finished the book in a matter of 4-5 hours. Gripping stuff. As a keen runner, and having done a couple of IMRA events and ARs I can identify with the author a few times when relaying her accounts of these adventures.
Really enjoyed the book and would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you're into running, particularly on the mountains the buy this!, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears: An Irish Woman's Journey of Self-Discovery (Paperback)
Well written. Excellent book that captures the experience in a way I've not read before. Nice one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I would highly recommend it for anyone who enjoys any kind of sport, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears: An Irish Woman's Journey of Self-Discovery (Paperback)
I was bought this book as a gift, and although merely a 'round the block' runner, I was gripped by this tale of perseverance, determination and battling against adversity. I would highly recommend it for anyone who enjoys any kind of sport, as I'm sure that some of Moire's experiences and achievements will provide inspiration for those trying to be the best they can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it for her strength of conviction. Def recommend it.
Especially good for female runners. Thank you for writing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mud, Sweat and Tears: An Irish Woman's Journey of Self-Discovery
Mud, Sweat and Tears: An Irish Woman's Journey of Self-Discovery by Moire O'Sullivan (Paperback - 31 July 2011)
£7.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews