Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent it helped me no end
This is one of the best books giving an insight into how there are other treatments for hypothyroidism if you are left feeling ill on the usual levothyroxine prescribed by your Dr. Janie explains about interpretation of the blood tests, how your symptoms of fatigue, aches and pains, athritis, and other nasty symptoms can remain under current treatment options and how many...
Published on 10 Jan 2009 by G. Jones

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All About Desiccated Thyroid
I read this from cover to cover within 3 hours of it being delivered and I have to say, as a UK reader, I was disappointed. It is very much focused on desiccated thryoid treatments, which are not licensed in the UK. There are sections on vitamins and foods which will be helpful wherever you live, and helpful explanations of lab tests and results, but the book mainly deals...
Published on 25 Jun 2012 by Celestial Heather


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent it helped me no end, 10 Jan 2009
By 
G. Jones "Hypohair" (UK Dawnx) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the best books giving an insight into how there are other treatments for hypothyroidism if you are left feeling ill on the usual levothyroxine prescribed by your Dr. Janie explains about interpretation of the blood tests, how your symptoms of fatigue, aches and pains, athritis, and other nasty symptoms can remain under current treatment options and how many people on thyroid treatment end up on anti depressants, NSAIDs, blood pressure drugs, and many other drugs which are actually caused by the inferior treatment of their thyroid condition.
This book is a must have for anyone who is hypothyroid and feels that their health is still suffering even if they have decided that they will compromise because the Dr says 'it is not your thyroid' the common mantra by the health professionals of today. It is a book written by Janie a patient advocate with input by patients for other patients based on what they have learned during thier long journey to wellness by employing treatments which have been lost because of the lack of training Drs now recieve in clinical assessment and their being controlled by the insurance and trained in colleges funded mostly by pharmaceutical companies.
Try it you will be very surprised and it might be the new beginning you are looking for. It is for many of us.
Good luck
Dawnx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally someone who understands!!, 23 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been battling for the last decade to get decent medical care with regards to my hypothyroidism, and was slowly sliding deeper and deeper into the murky depths that under-treated hypothyroidism can lead to. The weight gain, the constant aches and pains, not being able to walk any distance, not being able to exercise comfortably, hating being over-weight - despite every effort to eat properly, losing my hair, having swollen legs and feet - I could go on and on. Thanks to Janie, and the thousands of others who refuse to have their voices muted, there is finally light at the end of the tunnel!

Read this book, do what it takes to get yourself better, and then make your voice heard by joining me and many others online - if we shout loud enough, we CAN stop the thyroid madness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE THIS BOOK !, 27 Mar 2009
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
[Later note: since this review I have given away at least a dozen copies of this book to friends and colleagues whose recovery I am supporting. It's staggeringly easy to see the symptoms of low thyroid in the neck and face of those with advanced problems. First and easiest clue: fat neck or double-chin, since there are NO fat cells in the neck/throat. They never tell you this, do they?!]

The author is not a medical professional and the book is all the better for it: comprehensive, thorough and honest as well as gritty and passionate. As a result of her decades of suffering the author has educated herself well beyond most doctors about low thyroid problems and exactly what is needed to get well.

In the first edition Janie Bowthorpe pulled no punches, repeatedly and justifiably lambasting the overwhelming majority of doctors for what has to be a deliberate blindness and stubbornness about both synthetic thyroid and lab tests. In this edition she is kinder but her website still features "Give Me a Break!! aka Doctor's Hall of Shame" - a section that will leave you gibbering with shock and anger. (later note: although the author says she is now being contacted more and more by doctors).

This is a wonderful and very practical book that explains low thyroid and its proper treatment in language anyone can understand. We have all accepted inferior treatment for decades but thanks to this book we no longer need to do so. We no longer have to tolerate being told to eat less and exercise more and/or here's a prescription for an anti-depressant, when in fact mainstream doctors know nothing - or worse - about thyroid problems. Worse even than that, doctors treat lab tests, not you - and there are no lab tests for most causes of low thyroid.

This book exists thanks to the internet which has empowered all of us to pool our knowledge, so that we no longer have to think our own experience is the exception and everyone else is getting better while we barely tread water. So this fantastic book is the result of the cooperation of hundreds of people with low thyroid, too many of whom have been harmed by being made to take synthetic thyroid (DOES NOT WORK) or by being told that the lab tests are "normal" (especially that so-called "gold standard" TSH test, which tests a gland in the brain and not the thyroid itself)!!!

Also, this is the ONLY thyroid book that both goes into detail about the connection between hypothyroid and adrenal insufficiency and advises on the various products available and just how much to take of each type (a couple of other books have a page or so, but not nearly this much practical information in its two chapters and over 40 pages on the adrenal issue alone): at least 50% of us MUST support our adrenals in order to resolve our low thyroid problems.

I also suggest:

- As there is rarely more than a brief mention of the benefits of iodine - in this and most other thyroid books - so I also recommend "Iodine, Why You Need It and Why You Can't Live Without It" by David Brownstein MD. The latest edition is available as an ebook from drbrownstein[dot]directfrompublisher[dot]com;

- `Hypothyroidism Type 2' by Mark Starr ("type 2" meaning the thyroid problems for which there are no lab tests and therefore they don't get diagnosed) explains how all chronic pain is linked to low thyroid, including those involved with diabetes, heart problems, both bleeding & blood clots (including strokes) and some cancers. If you have any kind of chronic pain, you need to know that some are calling low thyroid the silent epidemic (silent because officially denied);

- "Hypothyroidism, Health & Happiness: The Riddle of Illness Revealed" by Steven F. Hotze a good introduction.

The FREE basal (at rest) temperature self-test is THE gold standard for low thyroid problems and - with your symptoms - means more than any lab test (although most conventional doctors, including endos, won't agree but then they're not trained to understand thyroid problems - thyroiduk[dot]org[dot]uk offers a list of the very few thyroid sympathetic doctors in this country). It will pick up conditions that current lab tests don't, such as thyroid resistance. The stopthethyroidmadness website has excellent instructions for this self-test, as well as several for adrenal fatigue, which often goes hand-in-hand with low thyroid. The two most common health problems worldwide, they're rarely diagnosed or treated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, read this if you have thyroid problems!, 28 Jan 2012
By 
Jodi-Hummingbird - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stop the Thyroid Madness: A Patient Revolution Against Decades of Inferior Treatment (Paperback)
The bottom line is that Thyroxine doesn't even remotely have the same effect and make you feel the same, as Armour Thyroid. Standard blood tests for thyroid levels are also woefully inaccurate.

(Although mine have always tested very low since I became ill, this isn't the case for many).

As the `Stop the thyroid madness' website explains,

"The theory was that T4 would convert to the T3 needed for the body. But in nearly ALL patients on T4 meds, the T4 does NOT convert into an adequate amount of T3, leaving you with symptoms that neither you OR your uninformed doctor realize are related to inadequate treatment. In other words, healthy thyroids are NOT meant to rely solely on T4-to-T3 conversion!

But there's even more to the problem: it's called the TSH lab. Around 1973, the TSH lab test was developed. Based on a sampling of several volunteers, a so-called "normal" range was established--.5 to 5.0 (recently lowered to 3.0). But volunteers with a history of family hypothyroid were NOT excluded, leaving us with a range that leans towards being hypothyroid! In fact, the TSH RARELY corresponds to how a patient feels. There is a large majority of patients who have a "normal" TSH, even in the "one" area of the range, and have a myriad of hypothyroid symptoms.

So what's the solution? Patients and their wise doctors are returning to a medication that was successfully used from the late 1800's onward: natural desiccated thyroid hormones, more commonly known as Naturethroid, Erfa's Canadian "thyroid", Armour, etc. They are made from pig glands, meet the stringent guidelines of the US Pharmacopoeia, and gives patients EXACTLY what their own thyroids give them--T4, T3, T2, T1 and calcitonin.

Additionally, patients who are working with certain wise doctors are not dosing by the TSH. Instead, they raise their desiccated thyroid according to three criteria (and not in any particular order): 1) the elimination of symptoms 2) getting a mid-afternoon temp of 98.6 using a mercury thermometer, while maintaining a normal, healthy heart rate, and 3) getting their free T3 towards the top of the range (in the presence of healthy adrenal function).

On a T4-only medication, we have noted that the majority of patients have a less-than-optimal free T3, a mid-afternoon temp lower than 98.6, and/or the continuation of some hypothyroid symptoms for the rest of your life, no matter how high your doctor raises it."

The information given on how low thyroid output and low adrenal output relate to each other is also very helpful.

As the `Stop the thyroid madness' website and book explains,

"Cortisol is needed to distribute thyroid hormones to your cells, and if you are not making enough cortisol from sluggish adrenals, your blood will be high in thyroid hormones, producing the above symptoms. Adrenal support is used to give back to your body what your adrenals are not, which in turn allows the thyroid hormones to get to your cells."

This author has done such a brilliant job explaining these issues to patients. I can't recommend her website or book more highly and I thank her for taking the time to put this book together to help others.

In addition to this book I'd also recommend reading Dr David Brownstein's book Iodine: Why you need it, Why you can't live without it if you have any type of thyroid problems. (Iodine is an essential element. Although its main function is in the production of thyroid hormones by the thyroid gland, other organs in the body have a need for iodine in order to function normally. When thyroid levels have been shown to be low, this may be an indication that an iodine loading test may be a good idea.) Vitamin D testing is also an essential part of any thyroid treatment program, as the new version of this book explains.

If you'd like to read a bit more about some of the causes of thyroid problems and how these can be worked on in order to reduce or stop your thyroid problems then the book by Dr Sherry Rogers titled Detoxify or Die is also essential reading.

Dr Sherry Rogers explains that there are environmental, nutritional and metabolic causes of thyroid problems.

Environmental: Food allergies, chemical and mould toxicities, goitrogens from soy and other foods, and high levels of fluoride (especially in drugs such as Prozac), heavy metal and chemical contamination from things such as cadmium, mercury, PCBs, dioxins and phthalates (plasticisers). Cadmium can lower T3 but not raise TSH. It can lower thyroid function in a way that leaves the TSH test completely normal.

Nutritional: Low levels of the nutrients needed to make thyroid hormone such as selenium, zinc and iodine. Poor cell membrane function can cause thyroid problems as can high levels of trans fats.

Metabolic: Candida overgrowth and the use of NSAIDs (Celebrex and ibuprofen), can lead to a `leaky gut.' This in turn triggers the body to make antibodies that attack and destroy its own thyroid gland. This can be tested for using a thyroid antibodies test.

Other causes include virally caused damage to mitochondria, pituitary gland problems and chronic infections.

Jodi Bassett, The Hummingbirds' Foundation for Myalgic Encephalomyelitis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Thyroid Book by Far, 8 Dec 2009
By 
booklover 17 (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Believe me I have read many books about thyroid dysfunction over the last 10 years and this is the best for the lay person and anyone who is suffering from thyroid issues and wants to treat themselves rather than go through a doctor.

I am hypothyroid - confirmed by tests, but the doctor says I am normal. I decided to investigate further without them and first saw the website Stop the Thyroid madness on what to do next, I then bought the book, and I can honestly say that it was a great investment. I am now on the protocol that the book recommends - which has been devised from many patient avocates and I can honestly say that I have not felt better for years. Buy this book if you are hypothyroid and you want to feel better, by taking responsibility for your own health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All About Desiccated Thyroid, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop the Thyroid Madness: A Patient Revolution Against Decades of Inferior Treatment (Paperback)
I read this from cover to cover within 3 hours of it being delivered and I have to say, as a UK reader, I was disappointed. It is very much focused on desiccated thryoid treatments, which are not licensed in the UK. There are sections on vitamins and foods which will be helpful wherever you live, and helpful explanations of lab tests and results, but the book mainly deals with US treatments such as Armour, the benefits of these treatments, and how to convince your (US) doctor to prescribe them. To get a UK doctor to prescribe desiccated thyroid they have to accept personal responsibility for doing so. It also costs twenty times more to treat a patient with desiccated thyroid, what do you reckon the chances are of most UK GPs agreeing to it?

As someone who was born with congenital hypopituitarism, resulting in hypothyroidism, and who has lived 32 years with the symptoms of these conditions, it's incredibly disheartening to read a book singing the praises of a treatment and then doing research and discovering that treatment is not available to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STOP THE THYROID MADNESS, 14 April 2009
By 
D. Knowlson "paula" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was ill on t4 meds for 15 years. This book saved my life. Anybody out there this is a must.
Our health is our wealth. wake up doctors please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop the Thyroi Madness, 5 Aug 2009
By 
J. George (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For anyone suffering with Thyroid problems, this book is an absolute must. I have been suffering with ME for 11 years, 7 of those in bed and it is not until you manage to get hold of this type of information that you begin to realise just how damaging adrenal failure is. Doctors tell you nothing about adrenals and basically the symptons are all ME. I now have something to work with and with the help of the book feel able to make a complete recovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for UK sufferers, 20 Oct 2010
By 
A. DORRINGTON "nancy66" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although the author of this book seems to know her subject and is very thorough in her research I didn't find this book as good as expected. It focuses mainly on treatments available in the USA and other countries e.g.Canada and Australia. If you are in the UK and worried about thyroid problems this book is not for you, so I wouldn't waste your money. Unfortunately I haven't found a book I can recommend for UK sufferers yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book!!!, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop the Thyroid Madness: A Patient Revolution Against Decades of Inferior Treatment (Paperback)
This book explains everthing very well, is straight to the point and is easy to understand - not only this but it actually offers a way to solve the thyriod problems which we face in a step by step process.
I have now adopted what i have learnt from this book and am extrememly confident that I will now greatly benefit. I will be recommending this book to anyone interested,

thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stop the Thyroid Madness: A Patient Revolution Against Decades of Inferior Treatment
13.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews