Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly Geeky, 25 Sep 2010
This review is from: Xkcd: Volume 0 (Paperback)
Followed the comic since the early years. Love to see the best of the first 600 on paper. Recommend to any one who likes a bit of geeky or maths comedy. There are also little extras written along the sides of the pages which aren't in the original comics. The introduction by xkcd's creator is short and sweet, telling us a brief history of the comic and how Randall managed to think up such a gem. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal!, 22 Oct 2010
By 
Allan Mertner (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xkcd: Volume 0 (Paperback)
This book is simply a gem of excellently conceived, interesting, funny and sometimes quite profound humour. It sometimes needs a bit of insider knowledge - of computers or maths - to get the punchline, but that just makes it even better.

Such simple lines, such profound humour. Get it, get it! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To sum it up: it might confuse you but it leaves a lot on the mind...., 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xkcd: Volume 0 (Paperback)
I'm not a web-kid, nor did I go to university, nor am I familiar with computer linguistics and lingo nor mathematical terms and jargon...so why, considering this is a funny book full of them, did I buy this?
In short despite, the mass of calculations and information printed onto the page, the human side of these sketches always manage to shine through. If anything, Munroe's simplistic scientific style, adds a lot of character to the strips that the stickmen don't 'show'.
His musings on love, life, critique on college/university subjects and life in general are all humorous (and in some cases, mind stretching...)
It might well help having a diploma to read this, but I still enjoyed it all the same...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little piece of geeky art, 28 Nov 2010
This review is from: Xkcd: Volume 0 (Paperback)
I'm surprised to see so few reviews of this little piece of geeky art. I follow xkcd since the beginnings, and loved it since the very first moments. The book collects some of the most funny stripes that can be found on the site. It's nice to see on paper what you alway read online.
Bonus #1: there are lots of little extras (comments, additional drawings, games) which can't be found on the website.
Bonus #2: buying it you'll do also a little charity.

Go get it now (or get it as a present for your best geek friend, he'll love it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 15 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xkcd: Volume 0 (Paperback)
It may seem strange to pay for something that can be found for free on the internet but I brought this as a gift for my brother. He likes the Cyanide and Happiness comics and these are along the same lines but a little more... niche...? They play more on I suppose intelligent sarcastic jokes which is perfect for my brother. If in doubt just check out the website for a taste of the book - or just put the hyperlink in a card and call it a present if you're cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice paperback for geeks!, 12 Jan 2011
By 
Swansil (Florence, Italy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Xkcd: Volume 0 (Paperback)
This book is perfect gift for nerdy (or geeky) friends of yours (who nicely admit they are nerds!). The author's a genius and you'll laugh a lot by going through the stripes. It's a paperback, so maybe that's the weakest point, but it's very good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars XKCD is excellent commentary on the absurdities of life, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xkcd: Volume 0 (Paperback)
Discovered XKCD a few years ago. It is a must for every geek, nerd and science buff. If you don't get it ... try explain XKCD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Picks up where others leave off, 1 Nov 2013
This review is from: Xkcd: Volume 0 (Paperback)
This smart/witty/sarcastic cartoon takes up a space beyond Dilbert and other tech humour. Some of the laughs will actually take some research for some, but the effort is worth it for those in the know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to be geeky, but you'll only get half the jokes, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xkcd: Volume 0 (Paperback)
Some of these jokes need some research to get fully and that makes them all the more funny. Even the title is a joke as computer sequences start from zero not one. It is amazing how much expression can be got in a stick man (and woman). I've seen many of these before on the web and the author does talk about being confused why people would by a book of cartoons freely available on the web, but his extra commentary makes the book well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loads of fun, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xkcd: Volume 0 (Paperback)
Purchased as a gift for my son, it is loads of fun, slightly "out there" and made me smile. Lots of content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Xkcd: Volume 0
Xkcd: Volume 0 by Randall Munroe (Paperback - 23 Sep 2010)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews