Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cascading Style Sheets - The Definitive Guide
I purchased this book because I had previous experience of O'Reilly books and found them to be to the point with very little in the way of flannel. This book is in that style.
The book is best suited to someone with some experience of programming, as it can be a hard read in places (some of the diagrams could be better). It (2nd Ed.) is comprehensive in it's...
Published on 26 Aug 2004

versus
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A neat reference, but lacks some real world examples
This book has been a very good lesson in how incapable browsers are in rendering CSS. I knew it was bad, but that it was this bad I never suspected. I will be much more careful when using stylesheets from now on.
The book is a very good reference when it comes to CSS1 selectors. I really liked the CSS support chart in appendix D, which is a consise guide to what...
Published on 6 July 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cascading Style Sheets - The Definitive Guide, 26 Aug 2004
By A Customer
I purchased this book because I had previous experience of O'Reilly books and found them to be to the point with very little in the way of flannel. This book is in that style.
The book is best suited to someone with some experience of programming, as it can be a hard read in places (some of the diagrams could be better). It (2nd Ed.) is comprehensive in it's explaination of how things work, but doesn't give many real world examples.
Overall if you want to know how CSS works and are willing to 'get your hands dirty and experiment' it does what is required. If you want quick fixes to specific problems this is not the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A neat reference, but lacks some real world examples, 6 July 2000
By A Customer
This book has been a very good lesson in how incapable browsers are in rendering CSS. I knew it was bad, but that it was this bad I never suspected. I will be much more careful when using stylesheets from now on.
The book is a very good reference when it comes to CSS1 selectors. I really liked the CSS support chart in appendix D, which is a consise guide to what CSS properties each browser supports.
But the book should have had more real life examples on how to build stylesheets that will work for both Internet Explorer as well as Netscape Navigator (Opera already supports most of the CSS1 anyhow). And I also missed a few working examples of advanced stylesheets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all..., 23 Mar 2006
By 
Antonio Oliveira "tomane23" (Aveiro, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is the reference to anyone who wants to make good use of CSS for webdesign.
I didn't have much knowledge of CSS when I started reading it but found it quite easy to understand. Every property is covered in detail and, although Eric doesn't focus on browser support, it mentions compatibility issues on the most relevant properties and behaviour of different browsers.
The Box model and the inline layout are heavilly covered. This is the part where I found the book a little harder to follow. Floating rules are very well explained.
Through the book, Eric throws in some very simple examples to illustrate the use of one or another property. Don't expecting anything like a cookbook, though.
If you prefer the recipe type of book, this book isn't for you, CSS Cookbook would be a better choice. If you like to experiment as you go and check the results, then this is definatelly your ultimate resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tells you exactly how CSS is meant to work, 12 Sep 2006
By 
PD Waite "pauldwaite" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you want to know how CSS is meant to work, according to its specification, this is the book for you. As with all the O'Reilly "Definitive Guide" books, it's intended as comprehensive documentation of CSS, and it succeeds: it includes detailed, very readable explanations of complicated features like the inline box model and floats. CSS is not a simple language, and a book like this is necessary if you want a deep, proper understanding of how it works, without having to wade through the specification itself.

As such, it's not an "introduction to web design" book: it's a book for people who want to actually understand CSS, a language that, in parts, is a lot more complicated than people give it credit for. The book is also not a guide to CSS bugs in popular browsers like Internet Explorer. That subject could easily support a whole book in itself, and is wisely excluded here (although it highlights major areas of CSS not supported by Internet Explorer).

As a reliable, complete reference to CSS, it's superb: clear and readable, comprehensive, accurate, up-to-date, and well-structured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Falls short of the mark, 12 Oct 2000
By 
Mr J A Diss (Rugeley, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Definitive? Yes, although a more definitive work would have been the relevant W3C standard which I was trawling through before obtaining this book.
I've read comments that have suggested that this is the book to get if you're concerned with stylesheets, but I have to say that if this book is the best, we may as well revive the <font> tag and have done with it.
The discussions on the different methods of providing cross-browser support are interesting in an academic sense, but leave you unsatisfied as to whether the best idea is to use real world measurement or any of the other length units included in CSS1. Even worse, it introduces an element of confusion regarding browser support.
Although I've touched upon the downsides, I have to say that the treatment of margins and padding was excellent, but on the whole this was the most disappointing O'reilly book I've ever received.
A note to O'reilly; When dealing with a subject that touches on typographical layouts, try not to stint so much on illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's an O'Reilly Book, 27 Nov 2006
By 
Aren't all their books great?

Just like every other O'Reilly book I own, this was very very usefull and great to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cascading Style Sheets: The Definitive Guide
Cascading Style Sheets: The Definitive Guide by Eric A. Meyer (Hardcover - May 2000)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews