Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thorough guide to html (1st edition), 8 April 2002
By 
A. King (SE England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one book that I use every day - provided I can extract it from the fingers of my cow-orkers who keep borrowing it ! Every tag is described in depth, and it is one of the few books I've come across that describes CSS in a meaningful way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O'Reilly come up trumps again, 13 May 2004
By 
Stephen Hampshire (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The ever-excellent O'Reilly hit the spot again with this comprehensive but concise reference.
You'll need to have some html experience to get into this, but it does what O'Reilly do so well - explain something simply without assuming that you are a "Dummy". Works both as a tutorial and a reference.
Invaluable for anyone who understands a little bit about how html works (and CSS etc) but can't remember all the tags and attributes off the top of their heads. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Web Design in a Nutshell, 24 Jun 2002
By 
Roger W. Poultney (Bradford, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is an excellent book which covers many of the practical issues which are often seem to be overlooked by web designers. The chapters dealing with problems related to frames and differing screen / platform configurations are superb. This should be compulsory reading for all students of practical web design !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and Highly Readable, 6 April 2003
A balanced, informative, no-nonsense book packed full of useful advice and URLs. As a mostly back-end programmer wanting to understand more about browser compatibility and the preparation of web graphics, I found this book invaluable.
It contains a good enough overview for getting started in pretty much any web design topic you would need (from basic to advanced), and points you in the right direction for more information at every turn. The only think I felt lacking was an appendix summarising resources and URLs contained in the text since it can be a bit of a chore trying to find this information later.
All in all, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A much needed, much used book that tells you how to!, 17 Feb 2002
By A Customer
A very useful book especially the new second edition. It's ideal for anyone with a small amount of knowledge about HTML. It gives a very useful guide to all html tags and which browsers support them. Good with CSS and other new techniques
It's the one book you need on your bookshelf beside your computer if you do any web design or web building.It's a book for all, from the amateur to the professional, whether you just have a home site you want to tidy up or if you need help with emerging technology. I can't recommend it more highly. If I could I would give it 11 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great learning tool as well as a good quick reference, 19 Dec 2001
By A Customer
I bought this book a year ago, it is an excellent general introduction to the various aspects of what is involved in designing a web site. Almost every day it is opened and used as a reference and a quick tutorial for things I may have forgot. I teach, and recommend it to my students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning book with a slightly misleading title, 13 Oct 2001
By 
Tom Coates (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
First things first - this isn't a book about graphic design. This is not a book about usability. This is not a book about user-interface design. You want those, you know where to go - elsewhere.
What this is is a stunningly useless piece of first-point of call reference material. Ideal for people with basic HTML experience who want to make something wonderful.
It's slightly out of date now, but don't let that phase you - get it immediately. If you care about the web you'll end up needing to know something in it almost all the time. From the ASCII codes for strange text characters, to why those tables you've spent three hours building won't work, through to how to change permissions in Unix for running CGI scripts and how to make sites do things more efficiently with server side includes - the basics of all the image formats, details of all the basics of HTML, flash and media etc. etc. etc.
For a first point of call for the general punter you CAN'T GO WRONG with this book. You just can't. It's not so hot on CSS, and it's got a few patchy sections, but that's just a question of the book's scale and ambition rather than intelligence. For someone starting out, and for those who find themselves building big brilliant sites with little or no training, this book is as close to a necessity as you can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the best web book there is, 31 Jan 2011
By 
Neil Spurgeon (England, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
I have had three copies of this book 'borrowed' from my office, which is why I have had to, yet again, replace my main copy. It is simply the best ready reference, by-your-side book on creating, updating, refreshing and building basic web sites that has ever been written. And the 2nd edition is STILL the best. The first edition was good, the second is wonderful and frankly I am rather glad that my recent third edition was nicked, because it gave me back the chance to re-buy a second edition, which is much better - even though slightly out of date.

In Terry Prachett's Unseen University Library, all the most interesting grimoires and other major tomes are chained to their reading desks by the Librarian - an Urang Utang. Quite frankly one would need a strong monkey to punch a hole through this 620 page document, and you'ld likely lose a few bits of key info in doing it, since this book is crammed full of useful materials, but if that what it takes to save this copy going 'walkabout' then I might just have to search for the services of a big ape.

Don't be confused, I've got a copy of HTML & XHTML Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly))on my Kindle and that is brilliant for ready-reference at a Client's site or when you need to get info quickly, and is a lot cheaper than this excellent publication. But this book, Web Design in a Nutshell: A Desktop Quick Reference, is just so much more than purely an HTML primer, it contains examples, code snippets, colour grids - just everything that is required by all designers and in such a convenient format.

It is SO good I can even forgive the dreadful American 'English' spelling (color, analog etc) which is a really big deal for a properly trained English speaker, but this book, almost uniquely in stuff created by a transatlantic colonist, is forgivable in that sense, simply because it it so marvellous in every other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, 24 Oct 2001
Clear, concise and informative. This book is an excellent HTML reference. Especially useful for anyone wanting to create their first Web pages. This is one of the few computer books that I continue to find indispensable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST, 26 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This is my fav. book.
Layed out and presented very well indeed.
Book is good for all levels of users/web designers.
Having broadband connection at home i still look in this book first. It's therefore great as a quick reference too (like it says in it's title).
I must say that books from the Oreilly's are worth having. They are clear and to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Web Design in a Nutshell, 2nd Edition (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly))
Web Design in a Nutshell, 2nd Edition (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) by Jennifer Niederst (Hardcover - Sep 2001)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews