Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good & enchanting
This book makes you feel like your are Elena & Stephen & Damon are both really deep charachters. Honestly this book is so worth reading!! It describes her feelings so well. Its such a L J Smith book, & you fall into her world of vampires & love. But if you havent read the 1st one you might get a little lost...
Published on 27 Jan 2001 by keziahwilliamson@hotmail.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but......
This book directly follows on from the first book which is really good as you get a sense of continuation from the story. The first book really opens up the characters and you get a sense of who you are going to be reading about, even though the characters are completely different from those in the television series.

This book for me really didn't have much of...
Published 18 months ago by Miss Jennifer L. Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good & enchanting, 27 Jan 2001
This book makes you feel like your are Elena & Stephen & Damon are both really deep charachters. Honestly this book is so worth reading!! It describes her feelings so well. Its such a L J Smith book, & you fall into her world of vampires & love. But if you havent read the 1st one you might get a little lost...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Story is so sad!!!!, 28 July 2005
By 
C. Parsons "starsal" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This Book is bout a girl called Elena who is dating a vampire called Stefan.Damon and stefan are now fighting over Elena (literally). Elena is scared because her diary has been stolen, and it has things about Stefan in that would make people think that he had killed some people if read. Who really had been killed by his brother Damon.The end is really surprising and really sad and may make you cry. It's hard to explain this book in just this one review. This one is just as good as the first with even more plots and twists but you have to read it to find out. This book is even better than the first one, but you should read awakening first or it would be hard to understand.Read it, Buy it !!!!
Warning:EXTREMELY ADDICTIVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Struggle ( Vampire Diaries ) by Lisa Smith, 7 Jan 2007
By 
I bought this book awhile ago from a second hand shop and what a fantastic book. I enjoyed reading the book I just had to come onto Amazon to buy the rest of the series. And Lisa smiths other series Night world. The story of Elena whose in love with Stefan who is a vampire and how it changes her life. If you like horror romance books then these are for you. It will keep you glued, once picked up you will find that you cannot put the book down until the very last page. It is a brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fan, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is even more amazing than the first. There are many twists in the plot, and shows all the characters personality in tones of detail. Can't wait for the fury
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great service, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book arrived within a week after I order it. the cover were like new with no marks or tears. overall the service was great and the book was amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but......, 24 Mar 2013
By 
This book directly follows on from the first book which is really good as you get a sense of continuation from the story. The first book really opens up the characters and you get a sense of who you are going to be reading about, even though the characters are completely different from those in the television series.

This book for me really didn't have much of a story line and I found it quite difficult to keep reading about the fact that her diary was missing and this was what most of the story was based upon - at least the last 100 pages.

Elena wasn't as annoying as she was in the first book BUT I feel that I may get a little tired of her becoming the damsel in distress who always has to be saved! I do like the connection between her and Damon and at least she realises that there is one.

Happy reading folks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The only time I have ever thought that the tv version is better than a book, 20 Jan 2011
I,ve watched vampire diaries avidly since the first episode and love all the characters . I,m not sure if because I,ve watched it first then read the book whether this clouds my judgements or not .
I find the characters in the book a bit odd. A bit weak with not enough background told to make a connection with.
I understand Elena s attraction to Stefan is powerful but only because she can have anyone she wants and she wants him because everyone else does!!! And she always gets what she wants. She seems big headed and selfish in this book and then before you know it ,in a matter of days he's drinking her blood and proposing marriage when they have only seen each other a handful of times or so it seems!!!!
There's no build up to this seemingly passionate love affair(yeah he tries to turn her down for half a paragraph!!!!!!! And then all of a sudden she's a vampire.
I don't hate the book I,m just disappointed as almost every book I,ve ever read has been a thousand times better than the movie (or tv series) think twilight and Harry potter!!!!
And I think that's what I expected in this book but sadly it didn't live up to my expectations .
I much prefer the depth and passion of the characters portrayed on the tv.
Sorry to everyone who loves theses books I know they have a huge following
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 28 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. A. M. Chadwick (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A new series on ITV2 called the "Vampire Diaries" started a few weeks ago, and I really enjoyed it. :-)

When I found out the series was based on novels by L.J.Smith I decided to buy the first four novels in the series as I know usually the novels that series are based on are even better, and I wasn't disappointed. :-)

The second novel "The Struggle" starts off from where "The Awakening" finished. Elena summons Damon and confronts him as she wants to know where Stefan is. Damon says he killed Stefan the previous night, but Bonnie,(Elena's friend who is a witch), has a psychic vision. Eventually they find him at the bottom of the empty well. Poor Stefan is close to death but Elena saves him by forcing him to drink her blood.

One night Elena was waiting for Stefan, she becomes jumpy and feels as if something is coming for her, Elena tries to escape in the car by crossing the bridge over a river. The car veers off the road and into the river, Stefan and the girls follow the car, Bonnie has a vision of death and gets upset. When they arrive at the river Stefan dives in to free her and drags her opupt of the water, but it's too late Elena is dead.

Well, I don't want to say anymore about the story as I really don't want to spoil it for you.

The author grips you right from the start; her characters and the story are extremely well written. It's a very enjoyable and compulsive read; I just couldn't put this book down. :-)

If you're like me and you've been watching the TV series this is a must read. It's more involved and the story goes a little deeper into what's happened in the past. :-)

Even though these books are classed as young adult books, anyone from 14 years onward will enjoy them. It's an excellent horror novel and worth every penny. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tantalizing, 24 Jan 2009
By 
This book was fantastic,i was hooked from the first page the conflict between these brothers makes everything very intense, and the ending is a shocker!
Beware once you start you can't stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another stylish, compelling read from L.J.Smith, 3 Jan 2002
By A Customer
Not the best of the four books, but this is the one the blurb on the front of the book describes. The two brothers, one who relishes being a vampire and the other who sees it as a curse, end up duelling for the beautiful Elena. Alas though, it doesn't really demonstrate the ferocity of the feud, nor does the girl seem truely torn between them. But hey, it's a good read, though it is really the book that gets you going into the next two. Anyone who enjoys L.J.Smith's other work should consider reading this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Struggle (Vampire Diaries)
The Struggle (Vampire Diaries) by L. J. Smith (Library Binding - Sep 2009)
£10.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews