Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Remaining Bit of The Telegraph!
I've long been a subscriber to the Telegraph, and in recent times its crossword is one of the few reasons I've remained one. Although the paper is now going the way of the tabloids with an increasing emphasis on sensationalism and celebrity worship,the cryptic crossword remains a reliable feature, and having it in book form has almost decided me on cancelling my...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. Keith G. Tricker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not at all like the normal telegraph crossword
I do the telegraph crossword every Saturday and this is nothing like it. Seems to have been cobbled together just to get a book out. Half the clues don't tie in with the answers in a significant way.
Published 12 months ago by S. Lucas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Remaining Bit of The Telegraph!, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Keith G. Tricker (Bishop's Stortford, Herts. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 2 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
I've long been a subscriber to the Telegraph, and in recent times its crossword is one of the few reasons I've remained one. Although the paper is now going the way of the tabloids with an increasing emphasis on sensationalism and celebrity worship,the cryptic crossword remains a reliable feature, and having it in book form has almost decided me on cancelling my subscription and working my way through the book itself (and others in the series), which are useful to keep in your bag to kill time when commuting, sitting in doctors waiting rooms, traffic jams etc.

If I have one gripe about Telegraph crosswords, including the ones included in this book, it's the fact that they neglect to publish the name of the compiler, unlike other quality papers. I think this is an insult to them (ie the compilers) and a (perhaps deliberate?) drawback for us solvers, who get to recognise the style of individual setters, and thus have a key as to how to approach a particular puzzle.

Still and all, this book is excellent value for money, and I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT WAY OF PASSING THE TIME AND KEEPING THE BRAIN ACTIVE, 31 Aug 2013
By 
W. G. Young (Moray,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 2 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
thoroughly ENJOYABLE WAY TO SPEND A FEW MINUTES/HOURS. would RECOMMEND TO ANYONE WHO REALLY ENJOYS CONUNDRUMS. OR GETTING INTO THE METHODS OF THE COMPILERS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cryptic crosswords, 28 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. B. Nye - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 2 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
Delivered on time and well packled. I have enjoyed sitting doing these crosswords while relaxing in the sun on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great father's day present., 7 Aug 2013
By 
Ilona Bell (York, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 2 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
I never know what to get my dad on Father's day so I always end up buying him either a box of maltesers or something DIY related, this made a nice change. He's not seen without it so I presume it must be alright - It's pretty thick so there are a lot of puzzles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the usual high standard, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 2 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
need I say more? difficult enough to keep the grey cells active, but not too toffee-nosed - ideal holiday companion, or for a long train journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not at all like the normal telegraph crossword, 13 Oct 2013
By 
S. Lucas "Masher" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 2 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
I do the telegraph crossword every Saturday and this is nothing like it. Seems to have been cobbled together just to get a book out. Half the clues don't tie in with the answers in a significant way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 2 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
mostly good - some of the clues a bit obscure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Telegraph All New Cryptic Crosswords 2, 23 April 2014
By 
ArumLily (High Wycombe (UK)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 2 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
The best cryptic crosswords. I`m working on books 1 & 2 at the moment. It`s so long since I did the Telegraph cryptics as the new ones have just come out. I`m a little bit rusty so it`s taking me longer to get my brain in gear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big book of cryptic crosswords, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 2 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
A great purchase; nice quality paper, good clear print. Well worth the money and good value. I would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service., 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 2 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
Quick and easy way to get the book I wanted. I would recommend this way of purchasing to anyone. Well packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 2 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews