Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing not taxing
Just hard enough for a little mental gymnastics without making you tear your hair out.
Younger people may not identify with clues refering to old politicians.
Published 15 months ago by malcolm

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Many feeble clues
Nearly every puzzle had several poorly composed clues. Having done Telegraph crosswords for 50 years, I found this lack of "cryptic satisfaction" a disappointment. Each puzzle covered two pages making 200 puzzles take up 464 pages. This makes the book rather bulky for slipping into a coat pocket, especially after some use. I agree with other reviewers that the use...
Published 1 month ago by R. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Testing but doable, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 1 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
This is a great book for the cryptic crossword fan with testing puzzles but answers in the back of the book when all else fails
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service., 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 1 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
Quick and easy way to get the book I wanted. I would recommend this way of purchasing to anyone. Well packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the brain, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 1 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
As an elderly person I find that the crossword book keeps my brain active and I con pick it uo at any time I wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A handy size for travellers, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 1 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
Really good book of nicely-challenging cryptic crosswords; a convenient size to carry on a bus or train in a bag though might be a little bulky in your pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cryptic crossword fanatic must have, 11 Jan 2014
By 
W. G. Young (Moray,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 1 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
I am a cryptic crossword fanatic and the level set by this book is difficult and uses up my little grey cells every day! Perfect for these long cold days when at 78 yo there is little to do outside. A great gift for the cryptic crossword fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good present, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 1 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
The person I bought this for is very pleased with it. I'm glad it isn't mine, I can't do them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 1 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
Bought as a birthday present for someone who loves cryptic crosswords. My friend loved it especially now she is not buying the Telegraph daily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 1 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
Just wish that I was better at cryptic crosswords. This might just be me but they seem to interleave an easyish one with a difficult one and so on. Good mental gymnastics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Crossword Book, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 1 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
If you love crosswords you will love this edition of the Telegraph Cryptic Crossword book. Still the same high standard, very tricky but fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 1 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books) (Paperback)
As always an interesting mix of clues, difficult enough to engage the brain but not difficult enough to make one give up - and as the book says, in the last resort the answers are in the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Telegraph: All New Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 1 (The Telegraph Puzzle Books)
6.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews